To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections.
See also Music Library Resources and Browsing Collection- Rock n Roll and its progeny
note: This list includes the following genres - early rock and roll, r&b, punk, rock movies, reggae, progressive rock, heavy metal, folk rock, hip-hop, motown.
A to Zeppelin the story of Led Zeppelin. 2004. 1 video file (60 min.). "A to Zeppelin : The story of Led Zeppelin" chronicles the colorful and controversial history of rock's heaviest band. Led Zeppelin: Jimmy Page, guitar; John Paul Jones, organ and bass guitar; Robert Plant, lead vocal and harmonica; John Bonham, percussion. Through candid interviews with long-time tour manager Richard Cole, members of the Yardbirds, Vanilla Fudge, Bad Company, The Ramones, Foreigner, record engineer Andy Johns, and ex-girlfriends Lori Mattix and Pamela Des Barres, the compelling saga of this enduring rock institution is explored. Streaming video
Almost famous. 2001. 1 videodisc (124 min.). It's the opportunity of a lifetime when teenage reporter William Miller lands an assignment from Rolling Stone magazine. Despite the objections of his protective mother, William hits the road with an up-and-coming rock band and finds there's a lot more to write home about than the music. HU DVD 377
American dreams. 2004. 7 videodiscs (ca. 1113 min.). From the thrill of dancing to the latest new songs to the unsettling times after the assassination of a beloved President, this is a story of one family's journey through the joys and pains of America in the '60s and early '70s. Meg's teenage life revolves around the popular dance show, American Bandstand. While Meg's younger brother and sister are concerned with simple pursuits, her older brother, JJ, is fighting to follow his dreams instead of his father's. Meanwhile, the world swirls around them - a vibrant combination of rock and roll, equal rights and soon, war. HU DVD 10584
American graffiti. 98. 1 videodisc (112 min.). One night in the life of a group of high school friends in the 1960s just before they go off to college, jobs, or the army. Includes rock and roll hits from that period. HU DVD 93
American hardcore the history of American punk rock 1980-1986. 2007. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Set against the conservative early 80s political landscape, this film chronicles the homegrown hardcore scene that was a swift kick in the head to corporate rock and mainstream complacency, as disaffected teens adopted the same collective credo--harder, faster, louder. Features live concert footage and interviews with people involved in the scene. HU DVD 9141
American pop. 2010. 1 videodisc (96 min.). From a shtetl in Czarist Russia, to the heyday of the Fillmore East, this film follows four generations of a family of musicians as their stories parallel the history of American popular music. A free-wheeling mix of rotoscoping, classical animation, still photos and documentary film. HU DVD 10169
Anvil! the story of Anvil! 2009. VH1 Rockdocs. 1 videodisc (82 min.). "At 14, two Toronto schoolmates -- Steve 'Lips' Kudlow and Robb Reiner -- made a pact to rock together forever... Forming the band Anvil, the duo released one of the heaviest albums of all time -- 'Metal on Metal' -- influencing some of the biggest names in rock, including Metallica, Slayer and Anthrax. But while those bands went on to sell millions of albums and achieve international fame, Anvil's career took a different path - straight to obscurity. Until now..." -- Container. HU DVD 3461
Atlantic Records the house that Ahmet built. 2007. 1 videodisc (115 min.). Follows the career of Atlantic Records co-founder, Ahmet Ertegun, and examine Atlantic Records impact on the evolution of popular music while offering an insider's look at the recording industry from its infancy to today. Features rare clips, performances, and studios sessions of Atlantic recording artists. Music Library DVD 134
Awesome, I fuckin' shot that! (an authorized bootleg). 2006. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Based on concert footage of October 2004 in Madison Square Garden shot by fans at the concert and edited into a unit. The Beastie Boys handed cameras (mostly high-8) to 50 excited fans, who were told "Do whatever you want, just keep shooting.". HU DVD 7329
The Band The Band. 2005. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (75 min.). The Band's eponymously titled album was released in 1969 and is now regarded as a rock classic, emphasizing The Band's ability to merge a variety of musical influences. Featuring interviews with the surviving members of The Band, together with fellow musicians including Eric Clapton, George Harrison, and Don Was, this film underlines The Band's enormous contribution to popular music. Music Library DVD 154
Beat Street. 2003. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Beat Street delves into the hip-hop culture of New York's streets to uncover the despairs, dreams, and triumphs of an emerging generation. Before the backdrop of wild rhythms and whirling bodies lies a tableau of young, aspiring young artists, striving to turn their fever into fame. HU DVD 662
The Beatles the mini documentaries. 2009. Beatles stereo box set. 1 videodisc (ca. 51 min.). Contains 13 short documentaries about the making of the Beatles' record albums. Music Library CD 5296
Beats, rhymes & life the travels of a Tribe Called Quest. 2011. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Michael Rapaport goes on tour with A Tribe Called Quest in 2008, when they reunite to perform sold-out concerts across the country, almost ten years after the release of their last album, The Love Movement. Rapaport captures the story of their tenuous relationship as personal differences and unresolved conflicts continue to threaten their creative cohesion. Get a behind-the-scenes look at their journey and contributions as a band, and what currently is at stake for these long-time friends. Music Library DVD 200
Before the music dies. 2006. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Never has the grass-roots American music scene been more diverse, or the broadcast and sale of music controlled by so few corporations. Filmmakers Andrew Shapter and Joel Rasmussen traveled the country to find out why, in the midst of so rich a tradition, mainstream music seems so packaged and repetitive, and what the future of American music may be. Music Library DVD 158
Berkeley in the sixties. 90. 1 videodisc (117 min.). Captures the events of the 1960's - the birth of the Free Speech Movement, civil rights marches, anti-Vietnam War protests, the counter-culture, the women's movement, and the rise of the Black Panthers - in all their immediacy and passion. Archival footage is inter-woven with present-day (1991) interviews and 18 songs from the Grateful Dead, Jimi Hendrix, the Band, and many others to present a history of Berkeley, California, in the 1960s. DVD 5238
Beyond the valley of the dolls. 2006. Cinema classics collection. 2 videodiscs (109 min.). Three naive female rockers head to Hollywood to claim an inheritance and wind up with a kinky music promoter. HU DVD 6507
Black Sabbath/Paranoid. 2010. 1 videodisc (97 min.). "The second album by Black Sabbath, released in 1970, has long attained classic status. "Paranoid" not only changed the face of rock music forever, but also defined the sound and style of heavy metal more than any other record in rock history ... This program tells the story behind the writing, recording, and success of this groundbreaking album. Using exclusive interviews, musical demonstration, archive footage and returning to the multi-tracks with engineer Tom Allom, the film reveals how Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Bill Ward created their frighteningly dark, heavy, and ear-shatteringly loud sound."--Container. Music Library DVD 182
Blackboard jungle. 2005. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Film about life in an inner city high school in the 50s that was the first to utilize a rock 'n' roll soundtrack. A dedicated young teacher soon loses his idealism when he has to deal with the tensions that threaten to destroy his classroom. HU DVD 1232
Blacking up hip-hop's remix of race and identity. 2010. 1 video file (57 min.). "Hip-Hop was created by urban youth of color more than 30 years ago amid racial oppression and economic marginalization. It has moved beyond that specific community and been embraced by young people worldwide, elevating it to a global youth culture. The ambitious and hard-hitting documentary Blacking Up: hip-hop's remix of race and identity looks at the popularity of hip-hop among America's white youth. It asks whether white identification is rooted in admiration and a desire to transcend race or if it is merely a new chapter in the long continuum of stereotyping, mimicry and cultural appropriation? Does it reflect a new face of racial understanding in white America or does it reinforce an ugly history? Against the unique backdrop of american popular music, Blacking up explores racial identity in U.S. society. The film artfully draws parallels between the white hip-hop fan and previous incarnations of white appropriation from blackface performer Al Jolson to mainstream artists like Elvis Presley, the Rolling Stones and Eminem. It interweaves portraits of white hip-hop artists and fans with insightful commentary by African American cultural critics such as Amiri Baraka, Nelson George, Greg Tate, comedian Paul Mooney and hip-hop figures Chuck D., Russell Simmons, M1 of Dead Prez, and DJ Kool Herc"--Container.
Blacking up hip-hop's remix of race and identity. 2010. 1 videodisc (57 min.). ""Blacking Up" explores racial identity through the lens of hip-hop music and culture. The film focuses in particular on the tensions that surround white identification with hip-hop. Popularly referred to by derogatory terms such as "wannabe" or "wigger," the white person who identifies with hip-hop often invokes heated responses. For some, it is an example of cultural progress - a movement toward a color-blind America. For others, it is just another case of cultural theft and mockery - a repetition of a racist past." -- film's website. DVD 7758
The Blues Brothers. 2005. 1 videodisc (148 min. ; 133 min.). After Jake Blues is released from prison, he and brother Elwood go to visit the old home where they were raised by nuns. They learn the church is no longer supporting the institution and will sell the place to the education authority. The only way to keep the place open is if the $5000 tax on the property is paid within the next 11 days. The brothers want to help and decide to put their blues band back together and raise the money by staging a big show. As they set off on their "mission from god" they seem to make more enemies than friends along the way. HU DVD 10000
Bob Dylan. 2007. 1 videodisc (56 min.). A documentary culled together from over 20 hours of never-before-seen footage form Bob Dylan 1965 tour. DVD 2282
Bye bye Birdie. 99. 1 videodisc (112 min.). When rock star Conrad Birdie gets drafted, his manager organizes a nationwide contest in which one lucky girl wins a farewell kiss on The Ed Sullivan show. HU DVD 1531. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 239
Cadillac Records. 2009. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Chess Records was located on the south side of Chicago. In 1947, it began recording blues music with Muddy Waters and Little Walter. This eventually gave birth to rock and roll in 1955 with Chuck Berry. Record producer Leonard Chess has an ear for this different type of music and believes he can cash in by signing up new talent such as songwriter Willie Dixon, Howlin' Wolf, and Etta James. Chess makes all of his artists part of his family and takes care of them. This is not easy since they spend a small fortune on booze, drugs, and the high life. When Chuck Berry goes to jail, Leonard is able to find another talented performer, Etta James, to take his place. In the late sixties, as their music goes out of favor, Leonard Chess gets out of the record business. HU DVD 8337
Can't stop the music. 2002. 1 videodisc (123 min.). "New York City DJ/songwriter Jack Morell needs just one big break to get his music heard and land a record deal. But with the help of his retired supermodel roommate and an uptight tax attorney, they bring together six singing macho men from the Greenwich Village scene for an outrageously 80s adventure of fun, fantasy and disco fever." -- from container. DVD 671
The commitments. 2003. 2 videodiscs (117 min.). Fueled by raw talent and driven by dreams of glory, a dozen dead-enders from Dublin's gritty North Side share a passion for soul music that takes their band on a wild rollercoaster ride from the streets to superstardom! Includes 4 hours of extras. HU DVD 6902
The complete Monterey Pop festival. 2002. Classic collection: Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 3 videodiscs (320 min.). "On a beautiful June weekend in 1967, at the height of the Summer of Love, the first and only Monterey International Pop Festival roared forward - capturing a decade's spirit and ushering in a new era of rock and roll. Monterey would launch the careers of Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, and Otis Redding, but they were just a few among a wildly diverse cast including Simon and Garfunkel, The Mamas and the Papas, The Who, Hugh Masekela, and the extraordinary Ravi Shankar." --from container. Music Library DVD 141-3
Control. 2008. The Miriam collection. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Ian Curtis has aspirations beyond the trappings of small town life in 1970s England. Wanting to emulate his musical heroes, he joins a band, and his musical ambition begins to thrive. Soon though, the everyday fears and emotions, fueled by his music, slowly begin to eat away at him. Married young, with a daughter, he is distracted from his family commitments by a new love and the growing expectations of his band, Joy Division. The strain manifests itself in his health. With epilepsy adding to his guilt and desperation, depression takes hold. Surrendering to the weight on his shoulder, Ian's tortured soul consumes him and leads him to commit suicide at the age of 23. HU DVD 5493
Cream/Disraeli gears. 2006. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (82 min.). Tells the story behind the conception and recording of the 1967 album Disraeli gears. Features brand new interviews with band members, acoustic performances, original studio tracks and archival live footage. Music Library DVD 181
Crossover dreams. 2005. 1 videodisc (86 min.). "Rudy Veloz, a Barrio singing star determined to jump the salsa circuit and aim for big-time success in the mainstream. The rise-and-fall-and-rise storyline takes Rudy on a bumpy ride through life in the fast lane: drugs, compromises, easy credit, easy women, broken promises, and shattered dreams"--Container. DVD 9043
Crossroads Blues in technicolor. 95. Rock & roll. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Blues in technicolor: takes viewers on a trip into the psychedelic rock world of the late 60's and early 70's. Using interviews with the Byrds, Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane and Pink Floyd, this film shows how a bohemian folk culture based in San Francisco set off an international explosion of musical experimentation and eclecticism--much of it drug-inspired. Crossroads: traces the blues which changed the sound of rock and roll, from the Mississippi Delta to Chicago to the UK, where this earthy rich sound inspired a host of young British musicians bored with the pop music of the day. Eric Clapton, John Mayall, Keith Richards and Bill Wyman of the Rolling Stones and Jeff Beck tell how their hits introduced American rock fans to their own indigenous blues masters, like Howlin' Wolf and John Lee Hooker. DVD 9453
Def Leppard/Hysteria. 2002. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (100 min.). A track-by-track review of the making of the Def Leppard's album Hysteria. Music Library DVD 166
Dig! 2005. 2 videodiscs (107 min.). Dig! plunges into the underbelly of rock 'n' roll, unearthing an amazing true tale of success, self destruction, friendship, and the ultimate rivalry between two up-and-coming bands: Brian Jonestown Massacre and The Dandy Warhols. HU DVD 1862
Don't look back. 1999. 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). This film is about the sixties and Bob Dylan who is shown to be more than just a folk singer and a song writer. D.A. Pennebaker filmed Dylan during his 1965 English tour, catching him in private moments as well as public performances. HU DVD 1689
The Doors. 2000. Oliver Stone collection. 2 videodiscs (138 min.). Biographical film about one of the most exciting and controversial figures of the '60s, Jim Morrison. With his rock and roll band, The Doors, he influenced the rock music scene as no other group had. HU DVD 1681
The Doors [videorecording]. 2008. 1 videodisc (88 min.). The three surviving members of the The Doors: Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger and Johns Densmore are all featured in new interviews along with original engineer Billy James plus more. Bonus features include additional & extended interview material. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 152
The Ed Sullivan show featuring the Beatles and various other artists. 2003. 2 videodiscs (240 min.). Presents the four complete one-hour Ed Sullivan Shows that launched the "British Invasion" of the music industry and introduced the Beatles to America. Includes the original commercials. HU DVD 7339
Elton John Goodbye yellow brick road. 2002? Classic albums. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Tells the inside story of the making of this classic album. Features new and archive performances and interviews with Elton John, his songwriting partner Bernie Taupin, band members Davey Johnstone and Nigel Olsson, producer Gus Dudgeon, engineer David Hentschel, and arranger Del Newman. Music Library DVD 156
Elvis Presley. 2001. Classic albums . 1 videodisc (100 min.). This film tells the story that lies behind the making of Elvis Presley's first album for RCA Records in 1956, and his rise to superstardom. Includes performances from '55 and '56, interviews with Elvis, and home movie footage. Featured songs include Blue suede shoes, Shake rattle and roll, Tutti frutti, Money honey, Heartbreak hotel, Mystery train, Baby let's play house, That's all right. Music Library DVD 168
End of the century story of the Ramones. 2005. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Chronicles "one of the most influential groups in the history of rock--"Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 140
The filth and the fury. 2000. 1 videodisc (103 min.). The musical group Sex Pistols was in existence for only 26 months and recorded only one album, yet they changed the face of music forever. This shocking portrait of arguably the most influential and certainly the most notorious rock group of all time documents their rise from the back streets of London, through their crucifixion by the British tabloids and ultimate implosion on tour in America. Culled primarily from the band's own 20-hour-plus archive it includes candid interviews, performances, rehearsals and recording sessions. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 136
Fleetwood Mac/Rumours. pc2005. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (ca. 75 min.). Those who believe great art comes out of conflict can point to an unlikely example in Fleetwood Mac's album Rumours, widely considered their best album and certainly their most popular. While the album was recorded at a time when the band was poised on the verge of their greatest success, the group was in frequent conflict while it was recorded, and two marriages among band members broke up in the wake of its success. This edition of Classic Albums examines how Fleetwood Mac created a musical masterpiece in the midst of personal turmoil. Music Library DVD 177
Frank Zappa/Apostrophe (') Over-nite sensation. 2007. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (97 min.). "This Classic Albums release uses interviews, musical demostrations, rare archive and home movie footage plus live performances to tell the story behind the conception and recording of these groundbreaking albums"--Container. Music Library DVD 176
The girl can't help it. 2006. Cinema classics collection. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Jayne Mansfield plays a blonde who is being coached to become a nightclub singer by her racketeer boyfriend. To help her along, he hires a hungry talent agent to boost her career into the big time. Features music by Fats Domino, Little Richard, The Platters, Ray Anthony, Julie London, The Treniers, Abbey Lincoln and other rock 'n' roll stars. HU DVD 6771
The Grateful Dead/Anthem to beauty. 2005. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Charts how the Grateful Dead evolved from the albums "Anthem of the sun" to "American beauty" and examines how these records were made. Includes rare footage of the Dead from TV appearances and recording sessions to home videos and interviews with the band. Music Library DVD 183
Grease. 2006. 1 videodisc (110 min.). It's love when a greaser falls for a good girl in this classic musical depicting young life in the fifties. HU DVD 7086. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 235
The great rock 'n' roll swindle. 92. 1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.). A pseudodocumentary, with animation, featuring Sex Pistols manager's Malcolm McLaren's recollections on creating and selling a punk rock band. HU DVD 1297
Hair. 99. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Fresh from the farm, Claude Bukowski arrives in New York City for a date with the Army Induction Board, only to walk into a hippie "happening" in Central Park and fall in love with the beautiful Sheila. Befriended by the hippies' pacifist leader, Berger, and urged to crash a formal party in order to declare his love for Sheila, Claude begins an adventure that lands him in jail, Central Park Lake and finally, in the army. But Berger's final effort to save Claude from Vietnam sets in motion a bizarre twist of fate ... with shocking consequences. HU DVD 3327. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 212
Hairspray. 2007. 2 videodiscs (117 min.). In 1962 Baltimore, all the kids watch the Corny Collins Show. Every day after school Tracy Turnblad, an overweight teenager with all the right moves, and her best friend Penny run home to watch and drool over teenage heartthrob Link Larkin. When one of the "Council Kids" goes on a leave of absence, Tracy auditions to be the replacement, is sent to detention for skipping school, and thereby meets Seaweed--who shows her how to really shake 'em down. Helped by Seaweed, Link, Penny, Motormouth Maybelle, and her parents, Tracy sets out to integrate the show ... without denting her 'do! HU DVD 2955
Hairspray. 2009. 1 videodisc (117 min.). In 1962 Baltimore, all the kids watch the Corny Collins Show. Every day after school Tracy Turnblad, an overweight teenager with all the right moves, and her best friend Penny run home to watch and drool over teenage heartthrob Link Larkin. When one of the "Council Kids" goes on a leave of absence, Tracy auditions to be the replacement, is sent to detention for skipping school, and thereby meets Seaweed--who shows her how to really shake 'em down. Helped by Seaweed, Link, Penny, Motormouth Maybelle, and her parents, Tracy sets out to integrate the show ... without denting her 'do! MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 270
Hard core logo. 2001. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A Vancouver-based punk rock band gets back together to do a benefit concert for a friend. After the benefit, the band decides to go out on the road for a reunion tour. Lies, deceit and cheating are all just part of the lifestyle. HU DVD 7660
A hard day's night. 2002. Miramax collector's series. 2 videodiscs (ca. 92 min.). A rock musical which recreates the excitement of the Beatles' early days with a fictional account of an average day in the life of the Beatles. Richard Lester meets John, Paul, George, and Ringo in this exuberant film as they take Paul's grandfather under their wing while preparing for a television special in London. Along the way there are 15 now classic songs and a barrage of verbal and visual gags. HU DVD 5740
The harder they come. 2006. 1 videodisc (105 min.). A country boy who travels to Kingston to make it big as a reggae singer is ruthlessly exploited, first by his employer, then by the producer of his hit record. At last he becomes a pot-pushing desperado in an effort to live up to the code of his favorite movie heroes. HU DVD 5809
Head. 94. 1 videodisc (86 min.). An exciting kaleidoscope of surreal vignettes set to music. This fast-paced film takes a psychedelic look at the pop phenomenon called the Monkees as they shatter their pre-fab image. A technically innovative rock musical. Music Library DVD 274
Heavy metal parking lot. 2005. 1 videodisc. Interviews with heavy metal music fans tailgating in the parking lot outside the Capital Center in Landover, Maryland, on May 31, 1986, before a Judas Priest concert. HU DVD 3407
Hedwig and the angry inch. 2001. New Line platinum series. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Based on the smash hit New York show, this is a high-energy rock musical in the tradition of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. This is the story of Hedwig, an ambitious glam-rocker who comes to America determined to find fame, fortune, and his "other half.". HU DVD 301
Help! 2007. 2 videodiscs (153 min.). Ringo possesses a sacrificial ring, which he cannot remove from his finger. As a result, the Beatles are chased from London to the Austrian Alps to the Bahamas by religious cult members, a mad scientists and the London police. HU DVD 8594
Hip-hop beyond beats and rhymes. 2006. 1 videodisc (61 min.). A look at the conceptualization of masculinity in hip-hop culture. Includes interviews with prominent rappers, music industry executives, and social critics. DVD 2314
Indigo Girls live at the Fillmore, Denver, November 20, 1999. 2000. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Indigo Girls perform live at the Fillmore Auditorium in Denver, Colorado. Includes interview segments.
Iron Maiden The number of the beast. 2001. Classic albums: Classic albums (Eagle Eye Media (Firm)). 1 videodisc (80 min.). Tells the full story behind the making of the Number of the Beast album, includes interviews with the entire band. An insight into how this album propelled Iron Maiden into international superstar status and how it came to be a classic album. Music Library DVD 165
Jailhouse rock. 2007. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Vince Everett is serving a one-year jail sentence for manslaughter. While in the big house, his cellmate, a former country singer, introduces him to the record business. Vince takes to it so well that he decides to become a singer when he gets out. However, he is quickly disillusioned by the record business. But with the help of a new friend, he decides to form his own label, and soon he becomes an overnight sensation. As he becomes a superstar, his desire for fame and money may cause him to forget the people who got him there. Music Library DVD 284
The Jimi Hendrix Experience/Electric ladyland. 2005. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (60 min.). A critical examination of the Jimi Hendrix Experience's album Electric ladyland. Features excerpts of performances and interviews with rock music critics. Music Library DVD 167
Jimi plays Monterey Shake! Otis at Monterey. 2002. Complete Monterey Pop Festival: Criterion collection. 1 videodisc (114 min.). Jimi plays Monterey is one of Jimi Hendrix's earliest American performances. Otis Redding's performance at Monterey Pop Festival is one of his last performances. Both of these performances were taped live. Music Library DVD 142
Joe Strummer The future is unwritten. 2008. 1 videodisc (222 min.). A look at the life of Joe Strummer, before, during, and after the Clash. Features interviews with musicians, celebrities, and those whose lives were changed forever by one man's music. Music Library DVD 273
John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. 2008. Classic albums: Classic albums (Eagle Vision (Firm)). 1 videodisc (90 min.). A look at the creation of this groundbreaking album, the first after the break-up of The Beatles, through interviews, archive footage, and detailed analysis of the original multi-track masters. Includes material not seen in the original broadcast. Music Library DVD 273
The last waltz. 2002. 1 videodisc (117 min.). The Band, one of rock's superstar groups, decided to call it quits after sixteen years on the road. The group held this farewell concert on Thanksgiving Day, 1976, at San Francisco's Winterland, the site of their first performance. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 146
Latin music USA. 2009. 2 videodiscs (240 min.). Latin music USA highlights the great American music created by Latinos, and celebrates the Latin rhythms at the heart of jazz, rock, country, and rhythm and blues. It's a fresh take on American musical history, reaching across five decades to portray the rich mix of sounds created by Latinos and embraced by all. DVD 7998
LennoNYC. 2010. 1 videodisc (115 min.). As the world remembered John Lennon on what would have been his 70th birthday, and the 30th anniversary of his death, a new film takes an intimate look at the time Lennon, Yoko Ono, and their son, Sean, spent living in New York City during the 1970s. Featuring never-before-heard studio recordings and never-before-seen outtakes from Lennon in concert and home movies. DVD 8349
Live Aid. 2004. 4 videodiscs (610 min.). There had never been a concert event of such magnitude - the biggest names in music performing a concert broadcast live to provide hunger relief in Africa. DVD 8830
Lou Reed rock and roll heart. 98. American masters. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Chronicles the life of rock musician Lou Reed, incorporating clips from concerts and interviews. HU DVD 875
Lou Reed Transformer. 2001. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (80 min.). This documentary takes a track by track look at the making of the record with both Lou Reed and his engineer Ken Scott poring over the original multi-tracks for the album. Additionally, there is archival footage of the Velvet Underground, an interview with the Eurythmics' Dave Stewart and a discussion with bassist Herbie Flowers about the origins of the famous bassline for "Walk on the Wild Side. Music Library DVD 164
Madonna truth or dare. 99. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Documentary which presents an intimate view of the rock music star, Madonna and a backstage look at her "Blond Ambition" tour. DVD 5866
Magical mystery tour. 2012. 1 videodisc (53 min.). The Beatles charter a special bus and embark on a magic journey through the English countryside. Features popular Beatles songs including 'The Fool on the Hill,' 'Blue Jay Way,' 'Your Mother Should Know,' 'I Am the Walrus,' and 'Magical Mystery Tour.'.
Marley. 2012. 1 videodisc (ca. 145 min.). Bob Marley's universal appeal, impact on music history and role as a social and political prophet is both unique and unparalleled. MARLEY is the definitive life story of the musician, revolutionary, and legend, from his early days to his rise to international superstardom. Made with the support of the Marley family, the film features rare footage, incredible performances and revelatory interviews with the people that knew him best. HU DVD 10331. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 279
Money for nothing behind the bu$ine$$ of pop mu$ic. 2002. 1 videodisc (78 min.). Interviews with Chuck D, Ani DiFranco, Michael Franti, Kathleen Hanna, Reebee Garofalo, Dave Marsh, Robert W. McChesney. Explains how popular music is produced and marketed and offers an accessible critique of the current state of popular music. Examines the shrinking number of record companies, the centralization of radio station ownership, and the increasing integration of popular music into the advertising and commercial aspects of the consumer market. Also discusses independent bands and record labels. DVD 2309
Monterey pop. 2002. Complete Monterey Pop Festival: Criterion collection. 1 videodisc (79 min.). Monterey Pop is the first filmed document of a rock festival. The Monterey Pop Festival, held on California's Monterey Peninsula in 1968, inspired Jann Wenner to launch his enormously successful "Rolling Stone Magazine." It also did much to boost the careers of many of the pop and rock stars who performed in it. Music Library DVD 141-3
Motörhead/Ace of spades. 2005. 1 videodisc (106 min.). In 1980, Motorhead released their fourth album, Ace Of Spades. The trio talks about writing and recording the album and the goings on inside the Motorhead camp at the time. Music Library DVD 172
The music district. 95. 1 videodisc (57 min.). The video swings to the beat of four vibrant but little known African-American musical groups flourishing in Southeast Washington, D.C., within blocks of the centers of the national power. Members and fans of four bands (Legendary Orioles, The four echos, Junk Yard Band, Kings of Harmony) discuss their origins and support within their community. DVD 9605
New York Dolls Looking fine on television. 2011. 1 videodisc (70 min.). Selected live performances, archival footage, and interviews with the band shape their early days as a group. Music Library DVD 271
Nirvana Nevermind. 2004. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (74 min.). Nirvana: Nevermind is a documentary from the Classic Albums series that offers an in-depth look at the making of this highly influential record. Featuring exclusive interviews with surviving bandmembers Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic, the film also includes contributions from album producers, biographers and friends who discuss the creation of the album, and the life and career of frontman Kurt Cobain. Music Library DVD 155
Oddsac a visual album. 2010. 1 videodisc (53 min.). An experimental film described by the publisher as a visual album, which was developed through collaboration between the musical group and the director. HU DVD 7896
Off the charts the song-poem story. 2003. 1 videodisc (132 min.). Explores the lives and dreams of the songwriters and musicians who operate within the strange world of song-poems and the song-poem industry. HU DVD 747
Oh! What a lovely war. 2006. 1 videodisc (144 min.). Follows the Smith family as they go off to fight World War I, and revolves around the songs and words of the soldiers. HU DVD 4149
The outtake performances. 2002. Complete Monterey Pop Festival: Criterion collection. 1 videodisc (123 min.). Outtakes from the Monterey Pop Festival in June 1967, including some well known groups and some that are less well known. Music Library DVD 143
Performance. 2007. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Follow a gangster with a talent for violence and intimidation, on the run and looking for a place to hide. He ends up hiding out with a reclusive rock superstar. It all leads up to a shocking final performance for the rock star. DVD 3000
Phil Collins/Face value. 2006? Classic albums: Classic albums. 1 videodisc (60 min.). "Phil Collins first enjoyed international success as the drummer with Genesis, and then subsequently as lead singer when Peter Gabriel left the band. In 1981 however, Face value launched him as a solo artist and remains in many ways his most exciting and unusual music offering. This documentary includes several previously unseen performances, as well as rare home movies, archive of the studio sessions where Phil Collins worked closely with engineer Hugh Padgham and the Earth Wind & Fire horn section; unique photographs and documents from Phil's own private archive, and insights into the music from an eclectic range of musicians on the album."--Container. Music Library DVD 173
Pink Floyd the making of The dark side of the moon. p2003. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (84 min.). A track-by-track look at the making of the 1973 album; includes rehearsal and demo versions of some selections, interviews with band mambers, and commentary by album engineer Alan Parsons. Music Library DVD 150
Pink Floyd the wall. 99. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A burned out rock performer sits in his motel room watching war movies, and slowly losing touch with reality. HU DVD 6553
Punk The perfect beat. 95. Rock & roll. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Punk: explores two late 70's musical innovations: punk and reggae. In New York, members of Blondie, Talking Heads, Television and the Ramones tell how they inadvertently created the cynical, urban sound that became punk rock. In London, punk takes off with the Sex Pistols, and members of the Wailers and the Clash recall how Jamaican reggae crossed international boundaries, deeply influencing punk and pop rock. The Perfect beat: begins at a time when megastars like Bruce Springsteen, and Metallica filled arenas around the world and moves on to chronicle the rise of a new musical form: rap. From Grandmaster Flash to Run-DMC, from De La Soul to British innovators New Order to the Beastie Boys, the program traces the evolution of this new sound in the 80's and early 90's. Film shows how superstars like Madonna and Prince folded rap, techno and house, into their music, and how MTV ultimately embraced it. DVD 9455
Quadrophenia. 2012. Criterion collection. 2 videodiscs (117 min.). Songs by The Who set the background for this story of the passions of British street kids. Young Jimmy Cooper rebels against his English working class surroundings while he and his Mod clique face their enemies the Rockers in seaside clashes, circa 1964. HU DVD 10556
Queen/The making of a night at the opera . 2005. Classic albums. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Music Library DVD 171