To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections.
See also World Cinema Collection, filter=Russian and Soviet Cinema
Absurdistan. 2009. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Welcome to Absurdistan, a small village in the high desert mountains, just on the outskirts of reality, where magical visions and bizarre events fuse together. The village is facing a water shortage, but the men are too lazy to fix a rickety pipeline and the women are getting fed up with their good-for-nothing husbands. The women make a simple vow: 'No water, no sex.'. HU DVD 6146
Alexander Nevsky. 2001. Eisenstein, the sound years: The Classic collection: The Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1 videodisc (108 min.). Biographical story of Prince Alexander Nevsky and his successful resistance against an attempt by the Teutonic Knights to invade Russia in 1242. HU DVD 385
Андрей Рублёв = Andrei Ruble. 1998. Criterion collection: The classic collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1 videodisc (205 min.). Story of the famed 15th century icon painter who survives the cruelties of medieval Russia and creates works of art. DVD 3926
Anna Karenina. 2006. 2 videodiscs (145 min.). "In pre-revolutionary Moscow, Anna (The Cranes Are Flying's Cannes award-winning Tatiana Samoilova), a beautiful young aristocrat, languishes in a loveless marriage to Karenin, a powerful politician and highly visible public figure. When her brother Stiva invites scandal in an impetuous affair with his children's governess, Anna sympathizes with Stiva's faithful wife Dolly. But when Anna's head is turned by the dashing Count Vronsky (Vasili Lanovoy), she finds herself risking her marriage, her family, and her husband's career in pursuit of a romance as self-destructive as it is passionate. The suffocating hypocritical social order that imprisoned Anna in her marriage won't permit her to leave it without paying a tragic price"--Container. HU DVD 3096
Arsenal istoriko-revoliutsionnaia epopeia = The arsenal : a revolutionary epic. 2002. 1 videodisc (73 min.). Based on an actual incident, this is a dramatic account of the Ukraine from the First World War through the February and October Revolutions, to the suppression of a workers' revolt in 1918. Dovzhenko presents harsh, realistic scenes of Czarist brutality and war's destruction, but his juxtapositions of the Russian workers and peasants are both impressionistic and symbolic. HU DVD 10212
Ballada o soldate = Ballad of a soldier. 2002. The Classic collection: The Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1 videodisc (88 min.). During World War II a young soldier refuses a medal following an heroic action and instead takes a ten day leave from the front to visit his mother. During his travels by train, truck, and on foot, he witnesses the devastation of war and meets many people -- a crippled veteran, a comic sentry, faithful & faithless wives, and a girl with whom he falls in love. They travel together in a railway car and vow to meet when the war is over. HU DVD 5828
Brat 2 = Brother 2. 2000. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Second film about a Russian "hero" Danila Bargov. He meets his army buddies with whom he fought in Chechnya. One of them, Konstantin, tells Danila about his brother, a professional hockey player in America, who is swindled into an oppressive contract by the team owner and his Russian partner. A few days after this conversation Konstantin is found dead and Danila needs to go to America to solve this crime. HU DVD 8442
Brat Brother. 2007. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Danila returns from army service and looks up his older brother, who's become a contract killer in post-Soviet St. Petersburg. Danila is drawn into the violent underworld culture but retains a kind of honor in his dealings with those he comes to know there. DVD 8441
Bronenosets Potyomkin = Battleship Potemkin . 2007. 2 videodiscs (69 min.). Dramatization of actual events in Czarist Russia (1905). Shows the fierce mutiny aboard the battleship "Prince Potemkin" and the bloody aftermath in Odessa, where the Czar's troops ruthlessly massacred hundreds of innocent civilians who had sympathized with the mutineers. The film is notable for its use of non-actors in roles. HU DVD 43
Csillagosok Katonák = The red and the white. 2002. 1 videodisc (90 min.). This film about the absurdity and arbitrariness of war is set in Central Russia during the Civil War of 1918. It details the battles between the Red soldiers of Russia, aided by Hungarian Communists, and the counter-revolutionary Whites in the hills along the Volga River. HU DVD 8139
Dnevnoy dozor = Day watch. 2007. 1 videodisc (146 min.). Anton fights the forces of Darkness while trying to find and save his son, but when vampires from the Dark side mysteriously get killed, he is framed for their murders and must now try to escape the Day Watch who is looking for his blood. HU DVD 4212
Est-Ouest = East/West. 2000. 1 videodisc (125 min.). Follows the story of an expatriate Russian and his French wife as they return to the Soviet Union in 1946 and learn to live in the post-war Soviet Union. The story eventually revolves around the struggle of Marie to decide if she should stay or leave Russia. HU DVD 477
The films of Sergei Paradjanov. 2008. 4 videodiscs (399 min.). Ivan falls for the daughter of the man who murdered his father; a wandering troubadour must travel for one thousand and one nights; a fortune-teller declares that a boy must be walled up alive in a fort to keep it from crumbling; follows the life of eighteenth century poet and musician Sayat-Nova. HU DVD 6191-6194
Gamlet = Hamlet. 2000. Russian Cinema Council collection. Kollekëtìsiëiìa: "çEkranizaëtìsiëiìa". 2 videodiscs (140 min.). "A screen adaptation of William Shakespeare's tragedy. The somber Elsinore Castle that keeps secrets of many a crime is looming over the rocky coastline. Prince Hamlet once again puts the question: 'To be, or not to be?' He is the first thinker in the line of warriors, a poet and a philosopher, a character so close to future generations. In the utterly corrupted kingdom, a lone hero is bound to take up arms to avenge his father's death"--http://www.ruscico.com. DVD 1765
Idi i smotri = Come and see. 2001. 1 videodisc (142 min.). An innocent young farm lad goes off to join the partisans fighting the Nazis and comes to experience if not understand the horrors of war. HU DVD 8737
Iskateli schast ia = Seekers of happiness. 2007. 1 videodisc (84 min.). During the late 1920s, many impoverished Jews searching for a better life made their way to Birobidzhan, the Soviet Jewish Autonomous Region on the Chinese border. The story of a Jewish family's immigration to Birobidzhan and their experiences as settlers on a collective farm in the area. While the family encounters hardships in adjusting to this new way of life, their search for assimilation is ultimately shown as positive. While the film is essentially a Soviet propaganda piece emphasizing the utopian dream of Birobidzhan, the reality of the area was harsh and inhospitable. DVD 4812
Ivan Groznyy I = Ivan the Terrible. 2001. Eisenstein, the sound years: The Classic collection: The Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs) . 2 videodiscs (184 min.). Part I starts with the coronation of Ivan the Terrible and concludes with his return to power after the death of his wife. Part II covers the attempt to assassinate him in 1564. The third part of the saga was never made due to the death of Eisenstein. HU DVD 386
Ivanovo detstvo = Ivan's childhood. 2007. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1 videodisc (95 min.). An evocative, poetic journey through the shadows and shards of a boy's war-torn youth. 12-year old Ivan works as a spy at the World War II eastern front. The small Ivan can cross the German lines unnoticed to collect information. Three Soviet officers try to take care of this boy-child. HU DVD 5373
Karaul = The guard. 2001. 1 videodisc (102 min.). DVD 9953
Katok i Skripka = The steamroller and the violin. 2002. 1 videodisc (43 min.). At the center of the film is the unlikely friendship between Sasha, a young boy who loves to play the violin, and Sergey, the macho driver of a steamroller. The film sidesteps sentimentality to give us a warm yet ironic look at two individuals who bridge differences in generations to form a powerful bond. HU DVD 581
Kavkazskii plennik = Prisoner of the mountains. 2003. Orion classics: World films: World films (MGM Home Entertainment Inc.). 1 videodisc (99 min.). A Russian army patrol is ambushed by Caucasian rebels and two survivors are taken prisoner, by a local patriarch who is hoping to barter them for the release of his captured son. A bond of understanding develops between the soldiers and their captors, but it is broken when plans for their release go awry and a chain of violence and retaliation is precipitated. HU DVD 5920
Kolya. 96. 1 videodisc (105 min.). A confirmed bachelor is in for the surprise of his life when a get-rich-quick scheme backfires, setting off a wild set of circumstances and leaving him with a pint-sized new roommate. Set in Czechoslovakia just prior to the 1989 revolution. Frantisek Louka (Sverak) is a cellist, a confirmed bachelor and playboy. When he enters into a marriage for money with a Russian woman, his get-rich-scheme backfires, setting off a wild set of circumstances that leaves him with a new roommate - mischievous five-year-old Kolya. HU DVD 374
Komissar = The Commissar. 2007. 2 videodiscs (105 min.). Set against the Russian Civil War. Vavilova has to make a decision between motherhood for revolutionary martyrdom. HU DVD 2728
Korolb Lir = King Lear. 2004. Russian Cinema Council collection. 2 videodiscs (140 min.). King Lear had three daughters: Goneril, Regan and Cordelia. One day he banished and repudiated his youngest and most loved daughter. But the evil elder sisters betrayed their father and blinded him. Having lost not only his kingdom the old Lear, accompanied by his loyal jester, finally saw the light of truth and was reunited with Cordelia who was not afraid to share her father's fate. HU DVD 1764
Krylya = Wings. 2008. Eclipse. Series 11, Larisa Shepitko: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)): Eclipse series. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Suffocated by modern-day living, a buttoned-down headmistress reminisces about her glory days as a World War II pilot. HU DVD 9839
Larisa Shepitko. 2008. Criterion collection: Eclipse: Criterion collection: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)): Eclipse series. 2 videodiscs (DVD) (194 min.). The Ascent: The Ascent tracks two Byelorussian peasant soldiers - one on the path to redemption, the other to hell - as they try to evade Nazi forces during World War II. Wings: Suffocated by modern-day living, a buttoned-down headmistress reminisces about her glory days as a World War II pilot. HU DVD 9839-9840
Letyat zhuravli = The cranes are flying. 2002. The Criterion collection: The Classic collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs): Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.). 1 videodisc (94 min.). When Veronica's lover, Boris, goes to war, she moves in with Boris' family. His cousin seduces her and out of guilt she marrys him. Unhappy in her marriage and still in love with Boris she leaves her husband to wait for Boris to return. Later she learns Boris has been killed in the war. HU DVD 6850
Lilja 4-ever. 2003. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Abandoned by her mother, sixteen year-old Lilya lives in desperate conditions in a derelict suburb of the former Soviet Union. Her sole friend is eleven year-old Volodya, himself an outcast. Set against a realistic backdrop of the world they live in, they fantasize of a life elsewhere. DVD 6325
Malenkaya Vera = Little Vera. 2000. 1 videodisc (110 min.). The story of a sullen, sultry teenager with few goals in life who is trying to deal with a brooding boyfriend, an abusive alcoholic father, an ineffectual mother and the futility of a life trapped in her small industrial town. HU DVD 7133
Man of marble = Cz±owiek z Marmuru. 2003. 1 videodisc (156 min.). In 1976, a young woman in Krakow is making her diploma film, looking behind the scenes at the life of a 1950s bricklayer, Birkut. She studies his stint as a proletariat hero, how that heroism was created, and what became of him. DVD 2014
Moskva slezam ne verit = Moscow does not believe in tears. 2004. 1 videodisc. (150 min.). A romantic comedy about three young, working-class, country girls, who go to Moscow in 1958 to seek work, men, and success. Looks at the results of their expedition in 1978. HU DVD 5750
My perestroika. 2010. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Follows five ordinary Russians living in extraordinary times, from their sheltered Soviet childhood, to the collapse of the Soviet Union during their teenage years, to the constantly shifting political landscape of post-Soviet Russia. Together, these childhood classmates paint a complex picture of the dreams and disillusionments of those raised behind the Iron Curtain. DVD 8604
Nochnoy dozor = Night watch 1998. The Criterion collection: The classic collection: Criterion Nochnoy dozor Night watch. 2006. 1 videodisc (114 min.). Living among humans are those who possess various supernatural powers. They are divided into the forces of light and the forces of the dark. Centuries ago both sides signed a treaty to end a war. Now the battle is about to happen again. HU DVD 4211
Nostalghia. 1998. 1 videodisc (120 min.). A homesick Russian poet, Gorchakov, researching in Italy with the aid of a beautiful interpreter, Eugenia, arrives at a Tuscan spa, while there he encounters the local mystic, who sets him on a challenging task. HU DVD 138
Oberst Redl = Colonel Redl. 2001. 1 videodisc (142 min.). "In the early part of the 20th Century, Alfred Redl ruthlessly rises from his peasant background to become a high-ranking member of the Imperial Austrian military. But when Redl is sent to spy on the Russian Empire, his espionage is compromised by his secret double life as a homosexual. As the world perches on the brink of was, Redl finds himself trapped in a web of deception where honor, grandeur and greed can only be betrayed by one final shocking act of fate" -- Container. German with optional English subtitles. DVD 908
Offret=The sacrifice. 2000. 1 videodisc (145 min.). A dark and complex drama about redemption and the nuclear holocaust. When a middle aged intellectual in retirement on an island in the Baltic Seas witnesses signs of what he believes to be a nuclear holocaust, he offers to make the ultimate sacrifice in return for the salvation of mankind. HU DVD 5596
Oktyabr=October: Ten days that shook the world. 1989. 1 videodisc (104 min.). Extraordinary silent film by the Russian master, Sergei M. Eisenstein, detailing the events leading up to the Russian Revolution. The original version was heavily censored by Stalin, but in 1967 a full restoration was made, and a music score by Shostakovich and sound effects track were added. HU DVD 1653
Ostrov=The island. 2007. Film Movement series. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Somewhere in Northern Russia in a small Russian Orthodox monastery lives an unusual man whose bizarre conduct confuses his fellow monks, while others who visit the island believe that the man has the power to heal, exorcise demons and foretell the future. HU DVD 3056
Padenie Berlina=The fall of Berlin. 2006. 1 videodisc (151 min.). Heroic Joseph Stalin inspires the troops to defeat a cowering Hitler in this no-expense-spared dramatization of the fall of Berlin in 1945. Presented to Stalin as a 70th-birthday gift but pulled from circulation in 1953, the film was made on Agfacolor stock removed from Germany by the Red Army. HU DVD 9271
Peter the First. 1986. 2 videodiscs (190 min.). Feature film from Russia. The story of the rise to power of Peter the Great, from the first major battle in the war between Russia and Sweden for control of the Baltic during the last years of the 17th and early years of the 18th centuries, to the final naval battle that saw Russia win the war. DVD 7509
Pikovaya Dama = The queen of spades. 2006. 1 videodisc (63 min.). While hosting a game of cards one night, Narumov tells his friends a story about his grandmother, a Countess. As a young woman, she had once incurred an enormous gambling debt, which she was able to erase by learning a secret that guaranteed that she could win by playing her cards in a certain order. One of Narumov's friends, German, has never gambled, but he is intrigued by the story about the Countess and her secret. He soon becomes obsessed with learning this secret from her, and he starts by courting her young ward Lizaveta, hoping to use her to gain access to the Countess. DVD 4106
Les poupées russes = Russian dolls. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 129 min.). We find Xavier back after L'Auberge Espagnole and he is 30 years old now. Xavier's life is one disappointment after another. A chance meeting could be the answer for both his career and love life, but will it end up in heartbreak? HU DVD 9985
Prestuplenie i nakazanie = Crime and punishment. 2005. Russian Cinema Council collection. Original story by--: Russian Cinema Council collection. 3 videodiscs (221 min.). A stunning and emotionally charged adaptation of the classic novel by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, chronicling the travails of a young man in turn-of-the-century Russia. DVD 8619
The price of sex. 2011. 1 videodisc (73 min.). This inquiry into a dark side of immigration reveals the experiences of Eastern European women forced into prostitution abroad. Mimi Chakarova traveled from post-communist Eastern Europe to Turkey, Greece, and Dubai to uncover the harrowing personal accounts of women trafficked into modern-day sexual slavery. DVD 8937
Russkiy kovcheg = Russian ark. 2003. 1 videodisc (96 min.). A modern filmmaker magically finds himself transported to the 18th century where he embarks on a time-traveling journey through 300 years of Russian history. The first feature film ever created in a single take. HU DVD 689
Schizo. 2005. 1 videodisc (86 min.). This beautiful and moving feature, set in modern-day Kazakhstan, depicts the hard choices a young man makes when he's caught between poverty, crime and love, guided only by his wits and his better nature. HU DVD 1586
Sibiriada=Siberiade. 2007. 2 videodiscs (260 min.). An epic romantic drama about three generations of two feuding families, the rich Solomins and the poor Ustyuzhanins, of a rural Siberian village, from the time of the Russian Revolution to the exploration during the 1980's of hidden Siberian resources. HU DVD 8115
Solyaris=Solaris. 2011. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2 videodiscs (169 min.). Adapted from a Stanislaw Lem novel. Ground control has been receiving strange transmissions from the three remaining residents of the Solaris space station. When cosmonaut and psychologist Kris Kelvin is sent to investigate, he experiences the strange phenomena that afflict the Solaris crew, sending him on a voyage into the darkest recesses of his own consciousness. HU DVD 4830
Soy Cuba=I am Cuba. 2007. 3 videodiscs (141 min.). Four vignettes in Batista's Cuba dramatize the need for revolution; long mobile shots tell almost wordless stories. HU DVD 331
Stachka=Strike. 2000. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Set in pre-World War I Tsarist Russia, the story depicts a strike by factory workers and its brutal suppression by the authorities. HU DVD 170
Stalker. 2000. 2 videodiscs (163 min.). "At the center of an outlawed region called The Zone lies a mystical room altered by unnatural forces. Armed guards are the first in a series of lethal obstructions that prevent outsiders from reaching the place where fantastic powers can fulfill man's greatest desires. Only the Stalker can lead a scientist and writer through The Zone where an obstacle course of mental and physical barriers tests the limits of their endurance....". "The film is based on the science-fiction novel 'A Picnic on the Roadside' by Russian sci-fi writers, the brothers Arkady and Boris Strugatsky. Stalker is the man who knows a lot about the system of obstacles and traps in the Zone. He knows the way to the coveted room where any wish may come true. To find this room is the goal of Writer and Professor. The writer hopes to find inspiration there, the professor dreams of making a discovery." --from container. HU DVD 437
Taksi-blyuz=Taxi blues. 2009. 1 videodisc (110 min.). A hard-working, anti-Semitic taxi driver and a Jewish musician who stiffed him on a fare, form a love-hate relationship. At first, class and race division make friendship nearly impossible, until they both learn that they aren't so different after all. Ivan is a thick, dour, hard-working brute. He misses Communism. He drives a taxi and one night meets Alexi. Alexi is a musician, an alcoholic, not to mention, irresponsible. Alexi stiffs Ivan for the fare and Ivan decides to track him down and a love-hate relationship ensues. When Alexi lets the bath water run over in Ivan's flat and Ivan must pay 500 rubles for repairs, he tries to force Alexi into day labor to repay him. Suddenly, Alexi is discovered and he goes on a jazz tour of America. He becomes a celebrity and return to Russia a triumph. Ivan longs to renew the friendship, and it looks as if he may get what he wants. HU DVD 5157
Tini zabutykh predkiv=Shadows of forgotten ancestors. 2007. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A deeply heartfelt story set during the early part of the 20th century in the Ukrainian Carpathians, centering on Ivan whose life is marked with sadness. First his brother is killed while saving him from a falling tree. Then his father is murdered, forcing Ivan and his mother to live in poverty. He falls in love with Marichka, the daughter of the man responsible for his father's death. Marichka drowns rescuing a lamb from a river, but Ivan remains devoted to her. He marries another, but he finds no solace in their childless marriage. HU DVD 6191
Tretya meshchanskaya=Bed and Sofa & Shakhmatnaya goryachka=Chess fever. 2004. Blackhawk Films collection. 2 videodiscs (115 min). Bed and sofa (87 min.) is the story of a love triangle between a woman and two men living together in a one-room basement apartment in 1927 Moscow. -- Chess fever (28 min.) is about an international chess tournament, in which a young man becomes completely obsessed with the game. His fiancée has no interest in it, and becomes frustrated and depressed by his neglect of her, but wherever she goes she finds that she cannot escape chess. On the brink of giving up, she meets the world champion, Capablanca himself, with interesting results. HU DVD 3754
Tulpan. 2009. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Following his Russian naval service, young dreamer Asa returns to his sister's nomadic brood on the desolate Hunger Steppe to begin a hardscrabble career as a shepherd. But before he can tend a flock of his own, Asa must win the hand of the only eligible bachelorette for miles, his alluringly mysterious neighbor Tulpan. Accompanied by his girlie magazine-reading sidekick (and a menagerie of adorable lambs, stampeding camels, mewling kittens and mischievous children), Asa will stop at nothing to prove he is a worthy husband and herder. DVD 7179
Tycoon a new Russian. 2004. 1 videodisc (128 min.). A stylish, slick crime drama based on the life of notorious billionaire Boris Berezovsky, this film follows the life of Plato Makovski, a renegade Russian entrepeneur whose seductive and brutal climb to the top in the post-Soviet era flourishes as the line between business, crime and politics breaks down. HU DVD 3010
Utomlennye solntsem=Burnt by the sun. 2003. 1 videodisc (135 min.). Nikita Mikhalkov directs and stars as Colonel S. Kotov, a hero of the Revolution, who is spending the summer in the country with his young daughter (Mikhalkov's real-life daughter), his wife and her eccentric family. But when his wife's childhood love suddenly appears, the idyllic summer day takes a surprising turn. A lyrical film filled with beauty and warmth, it is also an indelible account of a man dedicated to family and fatherland, cruelly destroyed by political paranoia. HU DVD 2144
Voskhozhdeniye=The ascent. 2008. Eclipse. Series 11, Larisa Shepitko: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)): Eclipse series. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Tracks two Byelorussian peasant soldiers - one on the path to redemption, the other to hell - as they try to evade Nazi forces during World War II. HU DVD 9840
Wszystko na Sprzedaçz. 2003. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Inspired by the death of Polish actor Zbigniew Cybulski, this film focuses on the behind-the-scenes lives of a director and his actors when they are disrupted by the mysterious murder of their leading man. HU DVD 2626
Zemlya Shakhmatnaya goryachka ; Konets Sankt-Peterburga. 2003. Red silents: visions of a workers' state: Signature series. 1 videodisc (186 min.). In Earth, workers on the Ukrainian farms struggle to use the land for what they think are the best purposes. Reflects the agricultural collectivization that was going on in the Soviet Union at the time this film was made. The end of St. Petersburg offers a view of changing conditions in Russia as interpreted by a young peasant who lived through the upheaval in St. Petersburg which culminated in revolution in 1917. Surveys the events of the war years, the overthrow of the Czarist regime, and the final establishment of the people's government and the transition from St. Petersburg to Leningrad. In Chess fever, a young man's passion for the game threatens to wreck his marriage. HU DVD 3757
Zerkalo=The mirror. 2000. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Tarkovsky's looking glass is not merely cracked but shattered and we see the jagged, jumbled reflections of its shards, images of Tarkovsky's childhood mixed with fragments of his adult life--a child's wartime exile, a mother's experience with political terror, the breakup of a marriage, life in a country home--all intermingled with slow-motion dream sequences and poetic chunks of stark newsreels. HU DVD 137
Ziemia obiecana=Promised land. 2002. 1 videodisc (138 min.). Three industrialists representing different ethnic groups in Poland, build a textile factory in Lodz at the turn of the century, but encounter problems with overworked, underpaid workers. HU DVD 2655