To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
See also Docuseek – Journalism and the Press
Al Jazeera voice of Arabia. 2003, 1 videodisc (52 min.). Founded in 1996, Al Jazeera was the first 24-hour news channel in the Arab world. This documentary, shot on location in Qatar, goes behind the scenes of this popular, independent satellite TV channel. Incorporating news footage, excerpts from Al Jazeera programs, and interviews with executives, anchors and journalists, this film offers a look at the challenges faced and issues raised by the most important television channel in the Arab world. Streaming video.
Albert Camus, Journalist. 2011, 1 streaming video file (52 min.). Far from embracing the existentialism he is often associated with, Albert Camus was a social activist and staunch believer in the positive potential of the human race. In this program excerpts from private film archives and a variety of interviews document Camus' career as a journalist concerned with social justice. From his early years in Algeria writing about poverty and oppression to the underground newspaper he edited for the French Resistance, the video reveals how Camus' journalism informed the themes and style of The Stranger, The Plague, and The Myth of Sisyphus. Streaming video.
All the president's men. 2006, 2 videodiscs (138 min.). The true story of how Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein uncovered the White House involvement in the Watergate break in. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1789
Around the world in 72 days: The audacious adventures of Nelly Bly. 2006, 1 videodisc (56 min.). The story of a remarkably ambitious woman who, in an era of Victorian reserve, became a household name by doing things a woman wasn't supposed to do. But none of Bly's adventures prepared for her most demanding stunt of all - an around the world trip in record time. By the time Nellie Bly embarked on this trip that would make her world famous, she had already made a name for herself as one of Joseph Pulitzer's top reporters, writing the stories that captured the imagination of the newspaper readers. DVD 5720
The Art of the interview. 2008, 1 streaming video file (49 min.). Featuring Emmy Award-winning writer, director, and documentary producer Patti Obrow White, this program explores the art and science of conducting journalistic interviews. White shares her knowledge of numerous topics, such as preparing to meet the subject, establishing a relationship quickly, understanding the pressure points of an interview, speaking with children, and dealing with difficult subjects like "the reactor," "the avoider," "the salesman," and "the bad guy." The result is an excellent resource for aspiring reporters, writers, and documentary producers, as well as police officers, private investigators, and attorneys. Employers-and job applicants seeking an employer's perspective-will also benefit from White's advice. Streaming video.
Barbershop punk: Net neutrality, media consolidation and you. 2010, 1 videodisc (77 min.). When Robb Topolski set out to share his collection of rare, turn-of-the-century barbershop quartet recordings over the internet, he found his uploads were blocked by his service provider, the nation's largest cable company, Comcast. From this seemingly innocuous beginning, the surprising events of BARBERSHOP PUNK unfold as Topolski's findings go public, casting him as a wry David against a corporate Goliath in a battle over how the First Amendment should function in the internet age. Inter-woven with the struggles of the Topolski family are FCC hearings on net neutrality, and discussions with politicians, musicians, critics and open Internet advocates-from the Christian Coalition to NARAL-who are striving to keep the Internet accessible to everyone. DVD 9245 and Streaming video.
Bartnicki v. Vopper: The illegal digital intercept case. 2010, 1 videodisc (27 min.). First amendment in the 21st century. "Freedom of the Press is one of the most venerated freedoms of the First Amendment. The press asserts that it cannot be punished for the publication of truthful information, however acquired. And the case of Bartnicki versus Vopper presented a classic case of a clash between the First Amendment Freedom of the Press and the right to privacy." --from container. DVD 10620
The battle for the Arab viewer. 2011, 1 videodisc (48 min.). Backlight. Shows how the two competing pan-Arab television networks Al Jazeera and Al Arabiya covered the Egyptian revolution in 2011, and how the content of the broadcasts was influenced by the political allegiances of the networks. The documentary features interviews with current and former journalists from both networks, and analysis from independent pundits. DVD 10657 and Streaming video.
The best of See it now. 2005, 1 videodisc (ca. 111 min.). Edward R. Murrow collection. Hosted by Mike Wallace, Walter Cronkite, and Dan Rather, explores the life and groundbreaking work of Edward R. Murrow, America's most esteemed broadcast journalist. DVD 1406
The Black press. 1998, 1 video file (87 min.). Presents a history of African-American newspapers and journalism from the mid-19th century through the 20th century. Tells of the struggles against censorship and discrimination and for freedom of the press, with commentary by historians, journalists, and photojournalists . DVD 1897 and Streaming video.
Bloody cartoons: Freedom of expression and the clash of cultures. 2009, 1 streaming video file (54 min.). In 2005, a handful of Danish cartoons sparked a worldwide debate over freedom of expression-and the freedom to express religious outrage. Was a violent Islamic backlash against caricatures of the prophet Mohammed justified? Can democracy and fundamentalism coexist in the global community? This program travels to Lebanon, Iran, Syria, Qatar, and Turkey, as well as to France and Denmark, in search of answers. Viewers will encounter a wide array of perspectives from influential figures-such as Raed Hlayhel, the Danish Imam who moved to Lebanon to spearhead protests; Sheikh Yusef al-Qaradawi, the al-Jazeera Islamic televangelist who called for a "day of anger" against the cartoons; and leading staff members of newspapers that published them. DVD 5700 and Streaming video.
Burma VJ: Reporting from a closed country . 2010, 1 videodisc (84 min.). Acclaimed filmmaker, Anders Østergaard, brings us close to the video journalists who deliver the footage. Though risking torture and life in jail, courageous young citizens of Burma live the essence of journalism as they insist on keeping up the flow of news from their closed country. Armed with small handycams the Burma VJs stop at nothing to make their reportages from the streets of Rangoon. Their material is smuggled out of the country and broadcast back into Burma via satellite and offered as free usage for international media. The whole world has witnessed single event clips made by the VJs, but for the very first time, their individual images have been carefully put together and at once, they tell a much bigger story. The film offers a unique insight into high-risk journalism and dissidence in a police state, while at the same time providing a thorough documentation of the historical and dramatic days of September 2007, when the Buddhist monks started marching. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7325
Buying the war. 2007, 1 streaming video file (87 min.). The Bush administration marketed and sold the war in Iraq to the American people. How and why did the press buy it, and what does that say about the role of journalists in helping the public sort out fact from propaganda? In this program, veteran journalist Bill Moyers, award-winning producer Kathleen Hughes, and their investigative team piece together the reporting and political spin that shaped the public mind prior to, during, and following the 2003 invasion. Exposing the disappearance of a watchdog mentality in mainstream newspaper and TV journalism, the documentary also highlights the work of intrepid Knight Ridder reporters who dug beneath the surface of administration claims-only to be drowned out by the drums of war. Further insight comes from journalists Dan Rather, former anchor of CBS Evening News; Tim Russert of NBC's Meet the Press; Bob Simon of 60 Minutes; and Walter Isaacson, former chairman of CNN. DVD 2927 and Streaming video.
A Changing industry: New news. 2006, 1 streaming video file (27 min.). The Changing Face of the News MediaTechnological advances are rapidly redefining the news industry-and raising critical ethical concerns. Is the Internet's ability to deliver instant news and to track audience behavior resulting in lower news standards? And is TV news blurring the line between hard news and infotainment? In this two-part NewsHour program, syndicated columnist Richard Reeves; former broadcaster Marvin Kalb, of the Shorenstein Center; Ann McDaniel, Washington bureau chief of Newsweek; David Talbot, of Salon.com; and Fox news anchor Bill O'Reilly discuss these and other questions, as well as the intriguing view that today's ultra-vigilant media is actually raising the ethical bar, exposing scandals that formerly went unreported. Streaming video.
Citizen Hearst. 2013, 1 videodisc (90 min.). Traces the 125-year history of the Hearst Media Empire, from William Randolph Hearst's pioneering and controversial days of headline-grabbing yellow journalism to the global impact of the company's many successful media brands. Iwerks provides a rare glimpse behind the glass walls of the Hearst Tower, interviewing top magazine editor of Harper b2 ss Bazaar, Cosmopolitan, and Esquire, among others, and gaining unprecedented access to the Hearst Castle and family members in San Simeon, California. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8551
CNBC Titans: Ted Turner. 2012, 1 streaming video file (44 min.). It makes sense that "The Mouth of the South," as he is often called, made his fortune with the first 24-hour news source. But for Ted Turner, founding CNN-which would become the crown jewel in a colossal media empire-was only one step in his quest for greatness. Turner would shrug off the effects of the most disastrous corporate merger in history to tirelessly pursue his dream of a better world. CNBC tells the story of the man who jump-started the cable revolution with a groundbreaking news channel, eventually dominating the media landscape and forever altering the world of TV journalism. But the second chapter in Turner's life is also included, depicting his work as a conservationist and environmental advocate, a leader of projects against hunger and nuclear weapons, and (last but not least) a competitive sailor. Streaming video.
Covering the world: Reports without borders. 2006, 1 streaming video file (30 min.). The duPont-Columbia Awards: Ten Years of the Best Television Journalism. This program ventures past American shores to experience what "covering the world" really means. Although television journalists can rarely provide sustained coverage of a specific international story, we have begun to realize that we need to cover international news with more of a world view, not just from our own geopolitical perspective. Driven in part by CNN's international reportage, the networks are showing greater interest in news from abroad, and local stations, too, have witnessed a tremendous growth in their global reach. Narrated by Peter Jennings. Streaming video.
Democracy on deadline: The global struggle for an independent press. 2006, 1 videodisc (114 min.). This documentary profiles journalists in the U.S. and throughout the world as they struggle with government censorship, commercial pressures, and dangerous conditions in covering international events. DVD 2334 and Streaming video.
Disconnected politics, the press, and the public. 2005, 1 streaming video file (57 min.). Has America's electoral process been hijacked by today's overheated media marketplace? This Fred Friendly Seminar, introduced by ABC News' Peter Jennings and moderated by Harvard Law School's Arthur Miller, grapples with questions including: Are unsubstantiated Internet sources, tight deadlines, and a drive to boost profitability distorting journalism? Are candidates' personal lives fair game? And will the media's preoccupation with scandals and "horse race" coverage alienate an already disconnected public? Panelists include CBS News' Dan Rather, CNN's Jeff Greenfield, Gwen Ifill of Washington Week in Review, Congressman Barney Frank, political analyst Ed Rollins, activist and rapper Chuck D, and others. Streaming video.
The Edward R. Murrow collection. 2005, 4 videodiscs (393 min.). Hosted by Mike Wallace, Walter Cronkite, and Dan Rather, this 4-pack set explores the life and groundbreaking work of Edward R. Murrow, America's most esteemed broadcast journalist. DVD 1405 - 1408
Edward R. Murrow: The best of Person to Person. 2006, 3 videodiscs (427 min.). From 1953 to 1959, Edward R. Murrow formally welcomed television viewers into the homes of the twentieth century's most well-known stars and celebrities on 'Person to Person.' Features the Liberace interview re-enacted in 'Good Night and Good Luck.'. DVD 2516
El Espectador: The Press and the Drug Lords. 2012, 1streaming video file (53 min.). This is the extraordinary story of the Bogota newspaper whose offices were bombed and members of whose staff were killed in the pursuit of their work-which included reporting on the details of the Colombian drug trade. This documentary shows how the politics of cocaine can dominate an entire country. Streaming video.
The End of print. 2007, 1 streaming video file (24 min.). The End: Media at the Tipping Point. It's newspapers, magazines, and books versus blogs, webzines, and e-books in this program as host Jian Ghomeshi addresses issues ranging from the popularity of citizen journalism, to the growing shift in advertiser dollars from print to the Web, to the whole Google Book Search controversy. Multiple points of view are represented by blogosphere luminaries Cory Doctorow and David Pescovitz (Boing Boing), Markos Moulitsas Zuniga (Daily Kos), and Heather B. Armstrong (Dooce); representatives of The New York Times; Bob Stein, director of the Institute for the Future of the Book; intellectual property attorney Fred von Lohmann, for the Electronic Frontier Foundation; Brewster Kahle, a digital librarian with the Open Content Alliance; Internet icons Jimmy Wales and Craig Newmark; and others. Streaming video.
The End of TV. 2007, 1 streaming video file (24 min.). The End: Media at the Tipping Point. With the increasing popularity of YouTube, video blogs, Internet-based newscasts, Slingbox, and made-for-mobile content, has the time finally come to turn off the TV? This exploration of whether-or when-nontraditional video will topple commercial television looks at how New Media is changing the way video is both created and consumed. In the process, host Jian Ghomeshi gathers the insights and opinions of former Rocketboom host Amanda Congdon; Boing Boing's Cory Doctorow; Current TV's Anastasia Goodstein; Craigslist founder Craig Newmark; blogger Robert "Scobleizer" Scoble; Josh Shore, cofounder of the Guerrilla News Network; TV analyst Todd Chanko, of Jupiter Research; TV critic Andrew Wallenstein; media watchdog Danny Schechter; David Moore, CEO of 24/7 Real Media; and others. Streaming video.
Exclusive to al-Jazeera: Media and democracy in the Middle East. 2006, 1 streaming video file (57 min.). The Wide Angle Collection: Human Stories, Global Issues. This Wide Angle documentary goes behind the scenes at al-Jazeera's broadcast headquarters in Qatar during its nonstop coverage of the 2003 invasion of Iraq. The program highlights the Arab-language network's differences from its Western counterparts, yet also illustrates striking similarities between al-Jazeera's media sensibilities and those familiar to most Americans. The flow of world events is dramatically conveyed through the emotional rhythms of the newsroom: tension as network executives defend the broadcast of U.S. prisoners of war; fear and apprehension as a translator juggles Rumsfeld voice-overs with calls home to Iraq; and shock and grief following the death of the network's Baghdad correspondent, killed by U.S. artillery fire. This Wide Angle episode also features a discussion of Middle East democracy between anchor Jamie Rubin and Richard Haass, president of the Council on Foreign Relations and former Director of Policy Planning for the U.S. State Department. Streaming video.
Extra! Extra! See All About It! 2012, 1streaming video file (58 min.). With its principal focus on Boston's two giant newspapers, the Boston Globe and the Boston Herald, and with lesser glances at two smaller regional suburban papers, this program looks at the faces behind the bylines and examines the exhilaration and frustrations of the newspaper industry. The program talks with columnists, general assignment reporters, and beat reporters; examines the differences between the two major papers; and describes the competition between reporters in the race for exclusives and scoops. It also examines design and formatting. How do special sections, zoned editions, and classifieds attract advertisers? What is the relationship between the two giants and the smaller suburban papers? The program offers a fast-paced yet detailed analysis of how newspapers, which play so influential a role in our society, come to be what they are. Streaming video.
Feeding the beast: Inside look at the news media. 2006, 1 streaming video file (22 min.). Keeping people informed 24/7 demands a never-ending stream of news items-each one filled with material to be edited, facts to be checked, and decisions to be made as the clock steadily ticks. This ABC News program takes an unvarnished look at the Chicago Tribune, ABC's World News Tonight, and WJLA, an ABC affiliate, providing insider insights into what goes on at America's newspapers and TV stations as they scramble to feed the beast. Streaming video.
The First Amendment. 2005, 1 streaming video file (20 min.). Amendments 1-10: The Bill of Rights: The Amendments to the Constitution: Bill of Rights and Beyond. This program from the acclaimed Cambridge Educational series The Amendments to the Constitution thoroughly analyzes the history and text of the First Amendment. Experts, including Dr. Nadine Strossen, President of the American Civil Liberties Union, discuss their interpretation of the Amendment and the freedoms it guarantees. Numerous court cases are cited, including those that led to the "clear and present danger" test and the "Brandenburg Standard" in determining free speech. The history of the freedom of the press is detailed, citing the "Pentagon Papers Case" (New York Times Company v. the U.S., 1971) as well as cases involving "prior restraint" and the Minnesota Gag Law. Streaming video.
Fixer: The taking of Ajmal Naqshbandi. 2008, 1 videodisc (84 min.). Examines the life and death of Naqshbandi, a translator, driver, and cultural guide for foreign journalists in Afghanistan, who was taken by the Taliban with a group of Italians, but while the journalists were released, Naqshbandi was killed. Explores the botched hostage negotiation, government corruption, and how news stories are gathered and shaped. DVD 6927
Free speech for sale Bill Moyers special . 2005, 1 streaming video file (57 min.). When it comes to today's important public policy issues, the opportunity to be heard depends on whether you can afford it. In this program, Bill Moyers and key legal and public interest advocates examine how industries with deep pockets use their access to the media to overwhelm the public debate, from North Carolina's hog industry to the defeat of the McCain Tobacco Bill to the passage of the Telecom Act of 1996. This Act, all but ignored by the newspapers and TV outlets owned by megamedia, amounted to a massive giveaway of the public's airwaves. What consequences does this control over the flow of information have for our democracy, and how can individuals and public interest organizations counter the growing dominance of big media? Streaming video.
Free speech Jim Lehrer with Ben Bradlee. 2006, 1 streaming video file (57 min.). With a career spanning more than five decades, Ben Bradlee commands the respect and attention of today's news community. This in-depth conversation between NewsHour's Jim Lehrer and the former managing editor of the Washington Post provides a wealth of journalistic acumen vital to communications and media studies. Bradlee sheds light on his early friendship with John F. Kennedy, the Watergate story, the eventual release of Deep Throat's identity, the Janet Cooke debacle, and other experiences. He also fields pointed questions from Lehrer on the subject of journalistic ethics, exploring scenarios in which professional integrity can be compromised. Streaming video.
Frontline journalists: Death and danger in Afghanistan. 2008, 1 videodisc (50 min.). This documentary showcases the chaos and extreme dangers that journalists face in the most war-torn areas of the world. DVD 4209
Global media. 2005, 1 streaming video file (28 min.). Media Power: Media power. Sixties' media philosopher Marshall McLuhan predicted the coming of a Global Village in which telecommunications technology would figuratively shrink the world. Satellites, the Internet, multinational communications giants, and the ubiquity of televisions and computers have more than helped realize his prophecy. Who are the big players and what kind of village have they wrought? As American music, TV, film, sports, fashion, and food spread worldwide and push aside the local fare, are we guilty of cultural imperialism? This insightful program looks at a variety of issues surrounding the growth of media in the era of the international audience. Streaming video.
Gonzo: The life and work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson. 2008, 1 videodisc (120 min.). Traces Dr. Thompson's life from his travels with the Hell's Angels, through his various Wild Turkey & drug ingested episodes in politics and righting the wrongs of society. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 990
Good night, and good luck. 2006, 1 videodisc (93 min.). Takes place in the 1950's America, during the early days of broadcast journalism. It chronicles the real-life conflict between television newsman Edward R. Murrow and Senator Joseph McCarthy and the House Un-American Activities Committee. With a desire to report the facts and enlighten the public, Murrow, and his dedicated staff - headed by his producer Fred Friendly and Joe Wershba in the CBS newsroom - defy corporate and sponsorship pressures to examine the lies and scaremongering tactics perpetrated by McCarthy during his communist 'witch-hunts'. A very public feud develops when the Senator responds by accusing the anchor of being a communist. In this climate of fear and reprisal, the CBS crew carries on and their tenacity will prove historic and monumental. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1870
Harvest of shame. 2005, 1 videodisc (55 min.). Edward R. Murrow collection. Hosted by Mike Wallace, Walter Cronkite, and Dan Rather, explores the life and groundbreaking work of Edward R. Murrow, America's most esteemed broadcast journalist. DVD 1408
Hold the Front Page! 2012, 1 streaming video file (57 min.). This is the story of Fleet Street, once the physical and still the metaphorical home of Britain's newspaper industry. The program charts the 20th-century history of one of the most ferociously competitive industries in the world, focusing on the proprietors, editors, journalists, and printers who collectively perform the miracle of delivering a new product every day. Streaming video.
Hot off the press: Inside a daily newspaper. 2006, 1 streaming video file (26 min.). Believe it or not, print journalism is alive and kicking in the digital age. This video takes viewers behind the scenes at a large daily newspaper, exploring in detail how staff members fulfill their writing, illustration, and assembly duties, and how the paper-based periodical has adapted to high-tech documentation, communication, and delivery methods. News and feature reporters, sub-editors, photographers, and the paper's news editor and print manager all discuss their challenges and responsibilities in detail-shedding light on how newsworthy events are tracked, stories are assigned, fieldwork is accomplished, pages are digitally laid out, and other aspects of journalism. Streaming video.
Howard Zinn: You can't be neutral on a moving train : a documentary. 2004, 1 videodisc (78 min.). Documents the life and times of the historian, activist and author of the best selling classic "A People's History of the United States." Features archival materials, interviews with Zinn as well as colleagues and friends including Noam Chomsky, Marian Wright Edelman, Daniel Ellsberg, Tom Hayden and Alice Walker. Documentary on historian and activist Howard Zinn. DVD 7158 and Streaming video.
Hype and Glory: The World of Local TV News. 2000, 1 streaming video file (45min.). This program from Investigative Reports explores the world of local TV news. For 20 days, cameras accompany Los Angeles' KCAL-9's news director, producers, reporters, and anchors as they balance legitimate news journalism with sensational stories designed to lure viewers and win sweeps ratings. We go behind the scenes to explore this independent news station and the keen competition to bring local news, sports, and weather into homes. Distributed by A&E Television Networks. (45 minutes). Streaming video.
Ida B. Wells: A passion for justice. 2004, 1 video file (53 min.). Chronicles the life of Ida B. Wells, an early Afro-American journalist and activitist who protested lynchings, the treatment of Afro-American soldiers, and other forms of racism and injustice toward black Americans around the turn of the century. Her involvement in the women's suffrage movement is also described. DVD 8630 and Streaming video.
If You can't beat 'em, blog 'em. 2006, 1 streaming video file (22 min.). The rise of the blog as a form of serious news reporting means that conventional journalists must become familiar with the blog format and rethink typical journalistic approaches. This ABC News program examines the blogger "community," reviews major news stories that were broken by bloggers, and demonstrates ways in which blogging differs from traditional reporting methods. Featuring an interview with a Virginia schoolteacher who created a groundswell of political action with her blog, the video shows how the immediacy and the personal style of blog-writing can have powerful results-so powerful that journalistic accountability is now a contentious blog issue. Streaming video.
Illusions of news. 2007, (orig. 1994) 1 streaming video file (60 min.). The Public Mind. This program looks at the impact of the visual image on news and politics in the electing of Presidents and the governing of America. While projecting a self-serving image has long been an understandable part of American politics, the 1980s produced a marriage of sophisticated news manipulation by political candidates and a willingness of the news media to dance to the candidate's tune. To what extent has this manipulation contributed to political apathy on the part of the American public? The program looks at the changing values in journalism, including the increasing monopolization of the media and the use of pictures over ideas by television news. Says Michael Deaver, a former advisor in the Reagan White House, "The media, while they won't admit it, are not in the news business. They're in the entertainment business. DVD 5893 and Streaming video.
The image of the broadcast journalist in popular culture 1937-2006. 2006, 1 videodisc [166 min.]. Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture video. A video compilation containing movie and television clips tracing the image of broadcast journalists in films and television from 1937 to 2006. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2313
Independent intervention. 2006?, 1 videodisc (76 min.). Norwegian filmmaker Tonje Hessen Schei questions the American press' coverage of the war in Iraq, focusing especially on the negative influence of corporate media conglomerates and embedded war correspondents. Also explores the outsider-led media democracy movement. DVD 4179
Indymedia war and peace trilogy. 2003?, 1 videodisc (80 min.). In Independent media in a time of war, journalist and host of Democracy now!, Amy Goodman, criticizes the pro-military bias of the mainstream news media, whose reportage of the U.S. invasion of Iraq downplays or ignores the impact on civilians while overstating the success of U.S. military operations. The speech was recorded at Christ Church, Troy, New York on Apr. 21, 2003. Footage of the speech is interwoven with footage of news reports and graphic scenes from the war. Voices against war chronicles the experiences of people on the streets of Manhattan who participate in a Feb. 2003 protest against the war in Iraq. Womens' fast for peace examines the case of 125 women in upstate New York who, on the eve of the Iraq War, fasted to create a culture of peace rather than of war. DVD 937
Investigative reporting: The righteous lens. 2006, 1 streaming video file (30 min.). Ten Years of the Best Television Journalism: Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University survey. Investigative reporting is expensive, time-consuming, labor-intensive; it can be dangerous-and you can get sued. The resultant slack in network news investigative reporting has been taken up by some local stations. And, as this program illustrates, there are some important trends: the growth of environmental stories and the emergence of women as a powerful force in investigative journalism. There are also new techniques that bring viewers to the "scene of the crime," so to speak. The program shows some provocative and controversial examples. Narrated by Peter Jennings. Streaming video.