American National Biography
by John A. Garraty (Editor); Mark C. Carnes (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E 174 .A53 1999
Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Conceived as a successor to the Dictionary of American Biography, this is a comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
National Faculty Directory
Call Number: Ref. L 901 .N34 (Also AU Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2009-10-09
Provides names, departmental affiliations and institutional addresses of professionals at thousands of American colleges and universities, as well as at approximately 200 Canadian institutions that use instructional materials primarily in English.
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
by Kenneth T. Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E 176 .S37
Publication Date: 1998-08-15
Each volume in this series presents original scholarly biographies of notable Americans. Articles range from 1,000 to 6,000 words, contain a photo of the individual, and provide a concise summary of achievements. Also detailed wherever possible are: family members; educational background; names of spouses and marriage and divorce dates; addresses of residences; and cause of death and place of burial. The new Volume 6 includes biographies of approximately 350 prominent Americans who died between 2000-2002, including Ted Williams, Walter Matthau, Gwendolyn Brooks, Tito Puente and Katharine Graham. Each volume contains cumulative occupation and birthplace indexes.
Who's Who in America
Call Number: E663.W56
This biennial publication includes some 93,000 profiles of prominent individuals representing all fields of endeavor. Current edition is is the Ready Reference Collection. Older edition may be found in the library book stacks.
Who's Who in the East
Call Number: E747.W59
A biographical dictionary of noteworthy men and women of the Middle Atlantic and Northeastern States and Eastern Canada.
Who's Who 2012
Call Number: DA 28. W6
Publication Date: 2012-01-19
First published in 1849 this internationally respected annual provides more than 33,000 biographies on people of influence and interest in every area of public life. As a British publication, it also includes information on the royal family. Latest editions are in Ready Reference; previous editions are in the library book stacks and older editions are at WRLC.
Who Was Who in America
Call Number: E663.W56
One vol. each year is cummulative index and historical volume spanning 1607- current year.