Skip to main content

History

This guide recommends resources for the study of history.

Secondary Sources

SearchBox—coming soon!

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
This database is the most essential index for articles about the United States and Canada.

History Cooperative            
Full text of more than twenty scholarly history journals.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
This database has full-text/image for many of the most important history journals.

The American Historical Association’s Guide to Historical Literature
E-book. 
---See sections 40-44 in volume 2 of this important bibliography.  The print edition is also available in the Reference Stacks at D20.3.A55 1995.

Harvard Guide to American History
Reference Stacks
E173.3.H27 1974
---A classic work that provides chronological/subject lists of the most essential works published before 1974.

Civil War History

  • Civil War Home Page
    Sponsored by the University of Tennessee, this site has links to many Civil War resources.
  • Civil War Women
    The Special Collections Library at Duke University hosts this site which has primary sources such as diaries, letters and photographs in electronic format.
  • Crisis at Fort Sumter
    Hosted by Tulane University, this site provides an interactive historical simulation of the crisis that started the Civil War.
  • Documenting the American South
    The University of North Carolina hosts this site. This page provides a collection of resources on Southern history and culture from the colonial era to the beginning of the 20th century.
  • Images of the Civil War
    This site has a large collection of Civil War photographs arranged by subject and location.
  • Penn State University George and Ann Richards Civil War Era Center
    This site has scholarly Civil War resources and links to other important Civil War web pages.
  • Uncle Tom's Cabin & American Culture
    This site offers texts that describe and portray Harriet Beecher Stowe's story as an American cultural phenomenon.
  • The Valley of the Shadow
    Sponsored by the University of Virginia, this digital library offers resources about the Civil War.