Skip to main content

Microform Collection at American University Library

This guide lists selective microfilm and microfiche titles housed in the American University Library.

Click to Chat with a Librarian

 

Text: 571-766-6349

 

Location

All the microfims and microfiches in this guide are located in the Lower Level of Bender Library

Staff at the Copy Center desk (also in the Lower Level of the library) can assist patrons in locating the microform and in using the microform readers.

Related Guides

Title Index

A   B   C   D   E   F  

G   H   I   J   K   L  

M   N   O   P  Q   R  

S   T   U   V   W   X  

Y   Z

Major Microform Titles A to Z - Page Still Under Construction

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L  M   N   O   P  Q   R  S   T   U   V   W   X  Y   Z

A

 

Adyar Library, Institute for Vaisnava Studies, & the American University microfilm collection of Vaisnava literature. Charles S.J. White with S. Jaysree and S.A. Lokesh. 69 reels.

American foreign policy index (1993-1995)
American foreign policy and treaty index (1996-1999)
This work is composed of two parts: nonclassified foreign policy and foreign relations documents of the U.S. Government reproduced in microfiche; and two print indexes for finding these documents.  The documents cover agricultural exports, arms control, disaster relief, environmental cooperation, human rights, humanitarian assistance, international agreements, security, trade regulation, and starting with American Foreign Policy and Treaty Index in 1996, documents pertaining to treaty ratification. 

American Periodical Series. 43 reels.
American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900.
This is an incomplete microfilm set (43 of 2770 reels). The complete set is available in the database: American Periodicals Series Online (AU Community only).

American Public Opinion Data. 1985-1999.
Public opinion polls originally released in newspaper articles, special reports, etc.  The print index points to the actual poll data reproduced in microfiche. The online version of this work is Polling the Nations (1986 to present) (AU Community only). For polls from 1985 one must still use the print index and microfiche.
Print index: American Public Opinion Index. 1981-1999.

American University Fines Arts Department, Washington, D.C. 10 reels.

Archiv für Kunde österreichischer Geschichts-Quellen. 1.Bd. (1848)-33.Bd. (1865).

Arte musicale in Italia: Pubblicazione nazionale delle più importanti opere musicali italiane dal secolo XIV al XVIII, tratte da codici, antichi manoscritti ed edizioni primitive, scelte, trascritte in notazione moderna, messe in partitura, armonizzate ed annotate da Luigi Torchi . 7 vols. 2 reels.

B

Bibliography and reel index: a guide to the microfilm edition of United States decennial census publications, 1790-1970 . [What is this???]

Black literature, 1827-1940. 993 microfiches.
Contains over 70,000 poems, literary reviews and pieces of fiction published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Use the free online index, Black Literature Index, to search for the individual works, noting the "microfiche number."

Black newspapers, sample issues, 1846-1966. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 4 reels.

Blacks in the United States Armed Forces: basic documents. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 13 vols. 5 reels.

Brigham Young University research studies. Geology series. v.1 (1954)-v.7 (1960). 6 reels. 

Buxton, Thomas. Papers of Sir Thomas Fowell Buxton, 1786-1845. 17 reels.

C

Cahiers du Bolchévisme. 1924-1939. 12 reels.
Cahiers du Communisme. 1939-1966. 20 reels.
Journal of the Central Committee of the French Communist Party.
Cahiers du Bolchévisme is free online from Gallica digital library (1924-1939).

Card catalogues [complete] of the Toyo Bunko [Oriental Library, Tokyo, Japan]. [1969?] no.1-no.71. 75 reels.
The Toyo Bunko is the largest library and research institute dealing with Asian studies in Japan. For more up to date information of the library's collections search the Toyo Bunko's library catalog.

Census of India, 1931. v.1-v.30. 
These fiches are filed in boxes and shelved with the microfilms.
The Report on the Census of India, 1931 summarizes the data.

Das Chorwerk. Hft.1 (1929)-Hft.41 (1936). 1 reel.

Communist International. 1919-1940. 18 reels.
English language version of the official magazine of the Executive Committee of the Communist International (Comintern). An online version is available at the Library of Congress.
Some of the films are reversed on the spool.  For assistance, ask at the Copy Center or Reference desk.

Confidential Prints (U.K.)
Communications between members of the British Foreign Office. The documents are organized so as to relate to the affairs of a particular country or a group of countries, not the location of the official.

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files
Formerly confidential correspondence, typescript and holograph of the U.S. State Department. Includes newspaper clippings, dispatches, and telegrams. It is an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments. The original documents are housed in the U.S. National Archives.

Congressional Globe. 1833-1873.
Available online in many sources. See Government Documents- U.S. guide.

Cornwall Chronicle (Jamaica) 1776-1794. 3 reels.
Newspaper from the Cornwall County in Jamaica.

La Croix. Aug. 1914-March 1919. 10 reels.
Catholic newspaper from France. This title is free online from Gallica digital library (1880-1944).

Crummell, Alexander. Scholarly Resources microfilm edition of the Alexander Crummell collection . Manuscript collections from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 10 reels.
Online guides: Title Page; Publisher's Notes; Table of Contents; Introduction; Scope and Content; Roll Contents (PDF)

Cuba Socialista. v.1 (1961)-v.7 (1967). 6 reels.
Magazine founded by Fidel Castro in 1961.

Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962. 586 microfiches.
This collection of documents is available in database: Digital National Security Archive (AU Community only)
Print Index: Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962.

D

Daily stock price record. American Stock Exchange. Jan-March 1980-July-Sept.,2002.

Daily stock price record. New York Stock Exchange. 1980-2002.

Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Bayern. 36 vols. Jahrg.1-Jahrg.29/30 (1900-1931). 7 reels.

Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich. 83 vols. (Jahrgang I-XLV). 10 reels.

Denkmaler deutscher Tonkunst. 65 vols. 9 reels.

Douglass, Frederick. Papers of Frederick Douglass. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 34 reels.
This collection is free online from the Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress.

Dunbar, Paul. Paul L. Dunbar papers: at the Ohio Historical Society. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 9 reels.

E

[Ephemeral Socialist and Communist publications of Brazil]. 1 reel.

ERIC reports. 1966-2004.  
Unpublished material (reports, speeches, proceedings, etc.) related to education. Many of these reports are available free online from ERIC (Education Resources Information Center). While ERIC has electronically archived the complete microfiche collection, 1966 – 2004, only about  65% of these documents are available online due to the lack of copyright owner permission.

Eugene Maximilien Haitian collection. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 240 vols. 40 reels.
Online guide (PDF)

F

Farington[, Joseph] diary, 1788-1821. 7 reels. 
The diary is from 1793 to 1821. Portions of this work is free from a number of web sites.

FBI file on Albert Einstein. 1 reel.

FBI file on Paul Robeson. 2 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina. 2 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

FBI file on the Committee for Public Justice microform. 1 reel.

FBI file on the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP): a microform publication of Scholarly Resources Inc.  The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 4 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

FBI file on the National Negro Congress. 2 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

FBI file on the Organization of African-American Unity (OAAU). The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 1 reel.
These documents are available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).
Online guide: Roll Notes (PDF); Introduction (PDF).

FBI file on the Osage Indian murders. 3 reels.

FBI file, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee microform. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection.2 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

FBI files on the fire bomb and shooting at Kent State. 7 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s (AU Community only).

FBI manuals, 1927-1978. 2 reels.
This set includes the 1927, 1936, 1941, and 1978 editions of the FBI Manual of Instruction, Investigative Procedures, and Guidelines. These procedures guided the actions of the FBI and document changes in criminal law and the evolving role of the FBI.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996
FBIS Reports are English translations of non-U.S. news broadcasts and print stories (radio, TV and print) by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. They are an important source of intelligence and information about events and policies in foreign countries as reported by those countries' news sources.

There are three main collections of FBIS reports produced and covering different time periods:

  1. Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports 1941-1974 (AU Community only)
  2. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974-1996.  American Univeristy Library has these reports on microfiche (more details below).
    George Washington University's Gelman Library has them in an online database.
  3. World News Connection (Dec. 1994 to present) (AU Community only)

The FBIS Daily Reports 1974-1996 microfiches are housed in three separate file cabinets. To find news articles, one can use the print index, Index to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (call number: Ref D410.314 .I5).  However the index only covers the years 1991-1996. Since the reports are organized by region/country and then chronologically, it is often easier to go straight to the fiches and retrieve the reports using the date of the event.  

Le Figaro. 1914:Aug.-1919:June. 16 reels.
This title is free online from Gallica digital library (1826-1942).

American foreign policy, foreign affairs, press briefings and treaties. Supplement. 1987, 1989.

Foreign relations of the United States. 1955-1957. Volume III, China--microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States, 1958-1960 [microform] . Volume XIX, China : microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States, 1958-1960 [microform] Volume III, National security policy ; Arms control and disarmament : microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States, 1958-1960. [microform] Volumes XVII/XVIII, Indonesia; Japan ; Korea ; microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States, 1961-1963 [microform] Volumes VII, VIII, IX Arms control ; National security policy ; Foreign economic policy : microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States, 1961-1963 [microform] Volumes X/XI/XII, American republics ; Cuba 1961-1962 ; Cuban Missile Crisis and aftermath : microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States, 1961-1963 [microform] Volumes XXII/XXIV. Northeast Asia ; Laos : microfiche supplement.

Foreign relations of the United States. 1961-1963. Volumes XIII/XIV/XV. Western Europe; Berlin, microfiche supplement.

Memoranda of conversation of the Secretary of State, 1947-1952.

Memoranda of the Secretary of State, 1949-1951 [microform] : and meetings and visits of foreign dignitaries, 1949-1952. 39 fiches.

Secretary of State’s memoranda of conversation, November 1952-December 1954 microform : microfiche supplement. 29 fiches.

 

Free South. [African American newspaper.] 1 reel. [cannot find]

G

Goldman, Emma. Emma Goldman papers: a microfilm edition. 69 reels.
Online guide

Granma Weekly Review. 1970-1982.
English language version of the "Official Organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Cuba."
 

H

Hughes, Langston. Langston Hughes: material from the vertical files of the Schomburg Collection, 1926-1967. 4 reels.
A little more information on this microfilm set from the New York Public Library.

I

Imprensa popular. v.4 (1950)-v.11 (1958). 15 reels.
On some reels, the first page of the publication is at the end of film, not the beginning. For assistance, ask at the Copy Center or Reference desk.

Inkundla ya Bantu / Bantu forum. 1944-1949, 1951. 6 reels.

International. Sept.10, 1915-Sept. 5, 1924. 2 reels.
South African newspaper.

J

Jazz, blues, soul, and rock: contemporary music journals. 1946-1986. 36 reels.
Includes the two music journals:

  • New Musical Express and Predecessors 1946-1971. 20 reels.  
  • Blues and Soul, 1966-1986: Home of the Blues (June-Dec. 1966, March-July 1967), Blues and Soul (Oct. 1967-Dec. 1968, Feb.-Nov. 1969, 2 January-19 April 1970), Blues and Soul Music Review (10 April 1970-20 Jan. 1972), Blues and Soul International Music Review (21 Jan. 1972-16 March 1976), Blues and Soul Weekly Music Review (23 March 1976-24 Aug. 1976), Blues and Soul and Disco Music Review (7 Sept. 1976-19 Jan. 1987).  16 reels.  

Journal officiel du Gouvernement Égyptien. 1922-1938.
This title is located at WRLC Center. To request, please submit a Consortium Loan Request form.

K

Kennedy, John F. John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 35th President of the United States; John F. Kennedy in public press, a collection of newspaper articles, 1892-1964, researched and compiled by James J. Fahey. 16 reels.

Kommunist. 1975-1978. 8 reels.
"Theoretical and Political Journal of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union."
Some of the films are reversed on the spool.  For assistance, ask at the Copy Center.
Print copies of the Kommunist 1959-1961, 1973-1974 located at WRLC Center. To request, please submit a Consortium Loan Request form.

Kraus curriculum development library: KCDL. 1986-2000.
Educational curricula, lessons, learning activities, objectives, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.
Print index: Kraus curriculum development library. Shelf list : KCDL.

L

Lasso, Orlando di. Sammtliche werke. 20 vols. 4 reels.

M

Maclure collection of French revolutionary materials. 1460 vols. 372 reels.

MAGIC documents: summaries and transcripts of the top secret diplomatic communications of Japan, 1938-1945. 14 reels.

Maîtres musiciens de la renaissance française. Par M. Henry Expert. 23 vols. 2 reels. 

Malcolm X FBI surveillance file microform. 2 reels.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

Manuscrit musical M. 222 C. 22 de la Bibliothèque de Strasbourg (XVe siècle) brulé en 1870, et reconstitué d'après une copie partielle d'Edmond de Coussemaker par Ch. van den Borren.

Marcus Garvey FBI investigation file microform: a microfilm project. 1 reel.
This is available from the database: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (AU Community only).

Memoranda of the Secretary of State, 1949-1951: and meetings and visits of foreign dignitaries, 1949-1952. 39 microfiches.

Minutes and memoranda of the Unemployment Assistance Board (AST 12), [1934-1948] [Great Britain]. 11 reels.

Mother Bethel AME Church, 1760-1972 . The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 8 reels.

Museum art education library. 59 microfiches.

Musica divina: sive Thesaurus conecntuum selectissimorum omni culturi divino totius anni juxta ritum sanctae ecclesiae catholicae inservientium, ab excellentissimis superiosis aevi musicis numeris harmonicis compositorum. Quos e codicibus orig. v.1-v.4 (1853-1857). 2 reels.

N

National Security Council.

Documents of the National Security Council. Supplement microform. Edited by Paul Kesaris.

Minutes of meetings of the National Security Council, with Special advisory reports microform.

NUC. Books / Library of Congress.  Library of Congress catalogs.
The Library of Congress Online Catalog has records of their complete holdings.

O

Frederick Law Olmstead Microfilm Collection
These microfilms are housed in their own cabinet.

Papers of Frederick Law Olmstead.  62 reels.  Missing reel no. 19 of 51 (year 1882). Duplicate copy of reel no. 59.

Olmstead Associates Letterbooks, 1884-1899.  42 reels.

Records of the Olmstead Associates.  57 of 110 reels.

Oppenheimer, Robert. J. Robert Oppenheimer FBI security file microform : a microfilm project / by Scholarly Resources, Inc. 4 reels.

Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries. Annual statistical bulletin. 1966- . 1 reel.
Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries. Resolutions adopted at the conferences. v.1 (1960)-v.39 (1974). 1 reel.
Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries. Review and record. 1967; Annual review and record. 1968-1973. 1 reel.
Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries. Selected documents of the international petroleum industry, 1966-1971. 1966-1971. 6 vols. 1 reel.

P

Palmetto Leader. [African American newspaper.] no. 1-6. ???? reel. [cannot find]

Papers of the American slave trade. Series B, Selections from the Newport Historical Society [Part 1, Selected Collections] . 46 reels. Part 2 not available.

Papers of the NAACP. Part 20, White resistance and reprisals, 1956-1965.  Black studies research sources. 15 reels.

Print index: Guide to the microfilm edition of Papers of the NAACP. Part 20, White resistance and reprisals, 1956-1965 / edited by John H. Bracey, Jr. and August Meier; project coordinator, Randolph Boehm; guide compiled by Blair Hydrick.  Black studies research sources.

Papers of the NAACP. Part 21, Relations with the modern civil rights movement, 1956-1965.  Black studies research sources. 22 reels.

Papers of the NAACP. Part 26, Selected Branch files, 1940-1955, Series B: The Northeast. Black studies research sources. 11 reels.

Papers of the NAACP. Supplement to part 13, The NAACP and labor, 1956-1965. Black studies research sources. 16 reels.

Papers of the Pennsylvania Abolitionist Society, 1775-1916. 5 reels.

Papers on China. v.1(1947)-v.17 (1952). 3 reels.

Peace studies curriculum. 67 microfiches.

Peel, Robert. Correspondence of Sir Robert Peel, 1841-1846. 6 vols. 6 reels.
These microfilms are filed in a box and shelved with other microfilms in boxes; they are not filed in the cabinets.

Palestrina. Pierluigi da Palestrina's Werke. 33 vols. 6 reels.

Proceedings / American Political Science Association. 1969-2000. 246 reels.

Protest movements, civil disorder and the police in inter-war Britain: selected from MEPO 2. 6 reels.

Q

Q-File. 1982-1990.
Includes reports of corporate annual meetings, annual reports to shareholders, proxy statements, and annual reports to the S.E.C. on Form 10K.

R

Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Series F, Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, pt.4: North Carolina and Virginia plantations. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 25 reels.

Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Series K. Selections from the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Library, the Shirley Plantation Collection, 1650-1888. General editor, Kenneth M. Stampp. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 26 reels.

Records of the central division (New York), 1918-1959. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 6 reels.

Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Series A, Subject correspondence files. Editorial advisor, Alan Kraut. Research collections in American immigration. 82 reels.

Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Series A, Subject correspondence files. Supplement to Part 1: Asian immigration and exclusion, 1898-1941. Editorial advisor, Alan Kraut. Research collections in American immigration. 16 reels. 

Register of debates in Congress, comprising the leading debates and incidents of the second session of the Eighteenth Congress: [Dec. 6, 1824, to the first session of the Twenty-fifth Congress, Oct. 16, 1837] together with an appendix, containing the most important state papers and public documents to which the session has given birth: to which are added, the laws enacted during the session, with a copious index to the whole ... 1824-1837.

[Robeson, Paul] Paul Robeson collection. Manuscript collections from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. 9 reels.

Royal Institute of British Architects Rare Book Collection. 35 reels.

Russkii︠a︡ vi︠e︡domosti. 1890, 1892-1918: March. 57 reels.
 

S

Sbornik. 1867-1916. 30 reels. [what is it?]

SEC File. 1991-1999.
Includes reports of corporate annual meetings, annual reports to shareholders, proxy statements, and annual reports to the S.E.C. on Form 10K.

Slave trade, 1858-1892: British Foreign Office collection 541, confidential print series . The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 10 reels.

Slavery source materials. The Bermice Johnson Reagon Collection. 954 microfiches.
A collection of 441 "Books and pamphlets written before the Civil War by and about the Negro and about slavery and anti-slavery."

Slavery and abolition of the slave trade, 1700-1890: (manuscript collection). 1 reel. [cannot find]

Socialist and Labour thought in Britain since 1884: pamphlets and leaflets of socialist and reform movements. 1,012 microfiches.

Southern women and their families in the 19th century, papers and diaries. Series H, Holdings of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University / consulting editor, Anne Firor Scott.  Research collections in women's studies. 42 reels.

SRI [Statistical Reference Index]. 1980-2002. 

  • Statistical Reference Index. Abstracts. Abstracts to the microfiche.
    (Call number: Ref Index/Abstract HA205.31). AU Library has print volumes from 1980-?????.

Standard corporation descriptions. 1980-2001.

Stock guide. 1981-2001.

Stuart papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle, 1579-1823. 541 vols. on 243 reels, Suppl. 100 vols. on 29 reels.

Selections from China Manland Magazines. 1955-1997: Sept. 26. 29 reels.

Survey of China mainland press. Oct. 1950-Sept. 1977. 176 reels.
English translation of news items from the New China News Agency, the official Chinese Communist news agency in Beijing. Produced by the American Consulate General, Hong Kong.

T

Terrell, Mary Church. Papers of Mary Church Terrell. Library of Congress Manuscript Division. The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 34 reels.

Terrell Robert. Papers of Robert H. Terrell . The Bernice Johnson Reagon Collection. 4 reels.

Tests in microfiche. 1975-2004.

Tibetan Buddhist Canon, commentarial section: microfilmed from the volumes deposited at the Library of Congress. 209 vols. on 2,226 microfiches.
Standard title: Cone Tanjur.

Trabajo Cuba. May 1960-Dec. 1964. 8 reels.
 

Transcripts and files of the Paris peace talks on Vietnam, 1968-1973. 12 reels.

Transportation masterfile, 1921-1971: and the Urban transportation information system. United States Historical Documents Institute. 140 reels.

Transportation masterfile, 1921-1971: cumulative updating, 1971-1974. United States Historical Documents Institute. 7 reels.

Trésor musical: collection authentique de musique sacrée & profane des anciens maÎtres belges / recueillie et transcrite in notation moderne par R.-J. van Maldeghem.; op. 170-[175]. 29 vols. 2 reels.

Tubman, Harriet. Conrad/Tubman collection. Schomburg Center collections. 2 reels.

U

United Nations documents. 1946-1966.

V

Voices from Ellis Island H: an oral history of American immigration: a project of the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation. 185 fiches.

W

Watergate FBI investigation file. 9 reels.

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Werke. Vollständige kritisch durchgesehene überall berechtigte Ausg. ser.1-ser.25 (no.1-no.311). 9 reels.

Werken. Uitg. door A. Smijers. 1 reel.

Werken van Jacob Obrecht. 30 vols. 1 reel.

West Indian (Haiti) collection. 1 reel.

World news and views. v.1 (1921)-v.33 (1953). 19 reels.
Earlier title: International Press Correspondence.
The International Press Correspondence and World News and Views is a publication of the Communist International (Comintern).

Women's movement in Cuba, 1898-1958: the Stoner collection on Cuban feminism. Edited by K. Lynn Stoner. 13 reels.
Available online in ---- (AU Community only)