Skip to main content

Statistical Information

This guide lists statistical sources of the United States and the world. It is a compilation of American University Library databases and print collections, and free Web sites.

START HERE - Major International Multiple-Subjects Statistical Sources

Note of caution: Data coming from international sources are usually not strictly comparable with those produced by countries since different sources apply different definitions, classifications and calculation procedures. One advantage of the following statistical sources is that they have tried to make cross-country statistical comparisons valid.

World Development Indicators from World Bank
Data: 1960 onwards. Updated: 4 times a year.
Main World Bank statistical database. Over 1200 variables and indicators compiled from official statistical sources. Covers topics of education, environment, economic policy and debt, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and the public sector.

World Factbook - CIA (currrent year)
Basic social, economic and military statistics on countries of the world. Updated throughout the year.
World Factbook -CIA (earlier editions) via Hein Online (1981 to 2009 editions) AU-only icon
AU Library also has print copies of editions from 1979, 1984-1985, 1987-1991, 1993-1995, 2000 to present. (Call number: JF 37.N3).

IMF eLibrary - Data AU-only icon
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund:

  • Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS);
  • Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS);
  • Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS);
  • Financial Access Survey (FAS);
  • Financial Soundness Indicators;
  • Government Finance Statistics (GFS);
  • International Financial Statistics (IFS);
  • International Reserves Template.

EIU Country Reports AU-only icon
Country political and economic analyses and forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit. Updated monthly.

Euromonitor Passport GMID AU-only icon
Industry, consumer and country statistics and reports for countries around the world, including emerging markets. Please note: Access limited to AU Authorized Users with a valid AU ID.

Eurostat (1946 to present)
Statistical office of the European Union.

Global Insight-IHS AU-only icon
Provides timely analysis of economic condition, the business and investment climate and risks in over 200 countries. Consists of two main components; Country Intelligence reports and Financial and Economic Data. Includes historic and forecast financial and economic data.

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research AU-only icon
Major depository of datasets. Searching is free. Downloading the data is restricted to American University members. To download data, create an account. Once approved, AU members can download the files anywhere.

OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Statistics mainly of member countries. Now includes International Energy Agency's (IEA) statistical databases. (new)

United Nations

  • UNData
    Hub of UN statistical databases.
  • InfoNation
    InfoNation is an easy-to-use database that allows you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations. Has basic statistics only.
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    List of UN statistical databases.
  • United Nations Statistics Programmes
    List of UN agencies and bodies that gather statistics.
  • National Income Statistics of Various Countries. 1938-1947. United Nations.
    (Call number: HA13 .U51). AU Library has print copy.
  • Statistical Yearbook. United Nations.
    (Call number: HA12.5 .U63, HA12.5 .U63). AU Library has print volumes from 1948-1949/1950, 1954-1973, 1975-1988/1989, 1990/91-2008.

League of Nations

  • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics. League of Nations.
    (No call number, no call number; available via Consortium Loan Service). AU Library has print volumes from v.2 (1921)-v.23 (1942), v.24 (1943)-v.26 (1945). 
  • Statistical Year-book of the League of Nations.
    (Call number: HA12.5 .L4). AU Library has print volumes from 1926-1942.

World Almanac and Book of Facts.
(Call number: AY67.N5 W7). AU Library has print volumes from 1930, 1932-1946, 1948-1953, 1955-1968, 1970-1972, 1975-1977, 1979-1981, 1983 to present.

International Statistical Sources by Subject: Agriculture to Health

International: Agriculture

  • Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: Statistics Division 
    • FAOSTAT (1961 to present)
      FAO's central data repository and the world's largest and most comprehensive statistical database on food, agriculture, and hunger, 
    • Production Yearbook. Food and Agriculture Organization. United Nations.
      (Call number: HD1421 .F585). AU Library has print volumes from v.15 (1961)-v.29 (1975).
  • International Cocoa Organization: Statistics
  • International Coffee Organization: Statistics (1980 to present)
  • OECD Agriculture Statistics from OECDiLibraryAU-only icon
    Statistics mainly of member countries.
  • One Hundred Years of Agricultural Statistics in Japan. Tokyo, Institute of Developing Economies, 1969.
    (Call number: HD312.J3 I5). AU Library has print copy.

International Aid

Glossary of Official Development Assistance (ODA) terms - from OECD

  • AidData (1945- ) from Development Gateway, College of William and Mary, and Brigham Young University
    Includes OECD statistics as well as donors not captured by the OECD and activities that do not fit the OECD definition of Official Development Assistance (ODA). Collects project-level data from all multilateral donors and non-DAC (Development Assistance Committee) bilateral donors to provide a more complete picture of development finance flows and activities.
  • AidFlows from OECD, World Bank, and Asian Development Bank
    Data: 1995 onwards. Update: Twice a year.
    AidFlows visualizes how much development aid is provided and received around the world. Users can select individual donors (providing the aid) and beneficiaries (receiving the aid) to track the sources and uses of aid funding.
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
    OECD member countries tend to be donor countries.

Switzerland

  • Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC): Countries
    The Swiss government's aid commitment to each country.

United Kingdom

  • Aid Statistics (2006- ) from U.K. Department for International Development
  • British Aid Statistics: Statistics of UK Economic Aid to Developing Countries.
    (Call number: HC60 .B75). AU Library has print volumes from 1963/67-1986/90,1988/89-1996/97. 
  • Statistics on International Development.
    (Call number: HC60 .B75). AU Library has print volumes from 1993/94-1997/98- ????
  • UK Giving: An Overview of Charitable Giving in the UK (2004/05- ) from Charities Aid Foundation
    An annual statistical report.

United States

  • Greenbook (1946- ) from USAID: U.S. Agency for International Development
    U.S. economic and military assistance to the world.
    U.S. Overseas Loans, and Grants, and Assistance from International Organizations.
    (Call number: HC60 .U48425). AU Library has print volumes from 1945/1976, 1945/1980-1945/1981, 1945/1987-????
  • U.S. Official Devlopment Assistance Database (ODA) (2005- ) from USAID: U.S. Agency for International Development
    The reporting of U.S. foreign assistance is different between the Greenbook and the ODA.

International: Armed Conflicts and Security  

  • CAIN: Sutton Index of Deaths
    Deaths that have resulted from the conflict in Ireland between 14 July 1969 and 31 December 2001. Updated and revised version of the material in Malcolm Sutton's book.
  • Correlates of War
    Quantitative data on the incidence and extent of wars.
  • Global Terrorism Database from National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START)
  • information on terrorist events around the world (domestic as well as international) from 1970 through 2008. 
  • Journal of Peace Research Replication Data (1984 to present)
    Access to the datasets used by authors of articles appearing in the Journal of Peace Research since 1998.
    AU Library has Journal of Peace Research from vol. 1 (1964) to present. AU-only icon
  • Minorities At Risk Project
    Monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of 283 politically-active ethnic groups from 1945 to present in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000.
  • RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents
    Defines and categorizes terrorist attacks starting from 1968 onwards. Includes a description and injury and fatal figures for each incident.
  • SIPRI's Databases(Stockholm International Peace Research Institute)
    • Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
    • SIPRI Multilateral Peace Operations Database
    • SIPRI Military Expenditure Database
    • SIPRI Arms Transfers Database
    • SIPRI Arms Embargoes Database
  • South Asia Terrorism Portal from Institute for Conflict Management, India
    "Data sheets" have statistics on terrorism violence such as the number of fatalities, violent incidents, and abductions. Covers Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. 
  • Soviet Casualties and Combat Losses in the Ttwentieth Century.  Edited by G.F. Krivosheev.
    (Call number: DK54 .G7513 1997)
  • Statistics of Deadly Quarrels. Lewis Fry Richardson. Edited by Quincy Wright and C.C. Lienau.
    (Call number: U21.7 .R5). AU Library has print copy.
  • Suicide Attack Database (1981 to present) from Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism (CPOST)
    Includes information about the number of people killed or injured, the location of attacks, the target type, the weapon used, and systematic information on the demographic and general biographical characteristics of suicide attackers.
  • Terrorism in Western Europe: Events Data (TWEED) (SPSS format)
    Events related to internal (or domestic) terrorism in 18 West European countries from 1950 through 2004.
  • United Nations Peacekeeping: Current Operations and Past Operations (1948 to present)
    Provides statistics on size of force (latest only), fatalities (U.N. personnel and civilian staff), and financial aspect (latest budget only) for each of the U.N. peacekeeping operations.
  • Uppsala Conflict Data Program
    • UCDP Database
      Contains detailed information on armed conflicts, peace agreements, and several other aspects of organised violence from 1946 to present.
    • UCDP Datasets
      Datasets and codebooks on organised violence and peacemaking from 1946 to present.
  • Warfare and armed conflicts : a statistical encyclopedia of casualty and other figures, 1494-2007. 3rd ed. By Micheal Clodfelter. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2008.
    (Call number: REF D214 .C54 2008). AU Library has print copy.
  • World's Water: Water Conflict from Pacific Institute
    List, timeline and map of events related to water and conflict. Covers conflicts starting from ancient times.
  • Worldwide Incidents Tracking System (WITS) from National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC)
    Database of terrorist incidents with data from 2004 onwards. 

World War II

  • The Deaths of Hibakusha. Tokyo, Japan: English Translation Group of "The Witness of Those Two Days,", 1991.
     (Call number: D767.25.H6 H481 1991). AU Library has print copy. 
  • Fighting Power: German and US Army Performance, 1939-1945. Martin van Creveld. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1982.
     (Call number: UA712 .V256). AU Library has print copy.

Vietnam War

  • Vietnam in Military Statistics: A History of the Indochina wars, 1772-1991. Micheal Clodfelter. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., c1995.
    (Call number: DS556.54 .C57 1995). AU Library has print copy.
  • Both print books The A to Z of the Vietnam War (2005) by Edwin E. Moise and the Dictionary of the Vietnam War (1988) by James S. Olson have casulty and fatality statistics under the entry CASUALTIES.

Iraq and Afghanistan Wars

  • Afghanistan Index (Feb. 2005, Aug. 2008 to present),
    Iraq Index (Nov. 2003 to present),
    Pakistan Index (Oct. 2009-Dec. 2011) from Brookings Institute
    Monthly report presenting detailed security, casualty, economic, quality of life, and public opinion data on Afghanistan, Iraq, and Pakistan respectively.  Is updated every two weeks.
  • iCasualties.org
    U.S. and coalition fatalities and casualties in Iraq (2003 to present) and Afghanistan (2001 to present). Includes a partial list of contractors killed in Iraq.
  • Iraq Body Count (2003 to present)
    Records the violent civilian deaths that have resulted from the 2003 military intervention in Iraq. Includes deaths caused by US-led coalition forces and paramilitary or criminal attacks by others.

International: Communications/Telecommunications

International: Criminal Justice

International: Economics

  • Bank for International Settlements (BIS)
    Provides international financial statistics, specfically:
    • the cross-border lending and borrowing of internationally active banks in key financial centres, including offshore centres (banking statistics)
    • issuing activity in international and domestic securities markets (securities statistics)
    • operations in over-the-counter and exchange-traded derivatives markets (derivatives statistics)
    • effective exchange rate (EER) indices for 58 economies (effective exchange rates)
    • operations in the global foreign exchange markets (foreign exchange statistics)
    • external debt positions of individual countries based on BIS banking and securities statistics as well as on data from other international organisations (external debt statistics)
    • payment and settlement systems in major financial centres (payment statistics)
    • residential property, commercial property and land price indices for 46 economies (property price statistics)
    • Long series on credit to private non-financial sectors for 40 economies (statistics on credit to the private sector)
  • Conference Board
    • Total Economy Database
      Annual data from 1950 onwards covering GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for about 123 countries in the world.
    • Global Economic Outlook
  • Global Financial Data
    Provides historic economic and financial data for more than 200 countries, with some data sets tracked as far back as the 13th century.
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF)
    • Provides annual aggregate and detailed time series for balance of payments and international investment position for countries.
      (Call number: HJ8083 .W67;most recent edition in Ready Reference). AU Library has print volumes from 1997 to present.
    • (Call number: Ready Ref HF91 .D57; most recent edition in Ready Reference). AU Library has print volumes from 1982-2007 ????.
    • IMF database of statistics on international and domestic finance.
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
    Statistics mainly of member countries.
  • Statistics on World Population, GDP and Per Capita GDP, 1-2008 AD, Angus Maddison, University of Groningen
    Scroll down to "Historical Statistics" of the page.
  • World Bank
    • Global Development Finance
      Data: 1970 onwards. Updated: Annually.
      Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators for most reporting countries.
    • Global Economic Monitor
      Data: 1990 onwards. Updated: Daily
      Daily updates of exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
  • World Income Inequality Database (1867, but mostly 1950s to 2006) from UNU-WIDER
    Provides the Gini coefficient and quintile and decile shares, survey means and medians along with the income shares of the richest 5% and the poorest 5% in each country.
  • World Penn Table (1950- ) from Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania (CICUP)
    Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries.
  • Commodity Year Book and CRB Commodity Year Book. Commodity Research Bureau.
    (Call number: HF1041 .C56, HF1041 .C56). AU Library has print volumes from 1941, 1955-1964, 1966-1984, 1985-1992.

International: Education

  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Data Centre
    Statistics on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication.
    • World Survey of Education.
      (Call number: L900 .W57). AU Library has print volumes from v.1 (1955)-v.5 (1971).
  • Global Education Database from USAID
    A subset of UNESCO and Demographic and Health Surveys data.
  • International Data Explorer and Table Library from U.S. National Center for Education Statistics' International Activities Program
    Database and ready-made tables of student performance in reading, mathematics, and science. Includes student demographics, instructional experiences, and school characteristics.
  • OECD Education Statistics from OECDiLibrary
    Statistics mainly of member countries.
  • World Bank
    • EdStats
      World Bank web site for education statistics and analysis tools.
    • Education Statistics
      Data: Updated: 4 times a year.
      Over 1,000 internationally comparable indicators for access, progression, completion, learning outcomes, literacy, teachers, expenditure, and background indicators. The indicators cover the educational cycle from pre-primary to tertiary education.
       

International: Elections see Data Archives page for more detailed results

International: Energy and Environment

  • APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation): APEC Energy Statistics (pdf) (editions 2004-2006, 2008)
    Do a search in APEC website for "apec energy statistics."
  • BP: Statistical Review of World Energy
    Statistics on the production, consumption, and more of oil, natural gas, coal, nuclear energy, hydroelectricity, renewable energies, and electricity generation.  Includes downloadable spreadsheet (1965 to present) and PDF report (most recent ediiton).
  • Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), Earth Institute Columbia University: Data and Information
    Data related to human interactions in the environment.
  • EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database (1900- ) from WHO Collaborating Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)
    Data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world.
  • Energy Information Administration, U.S. Department of Energy: International Energy Data and Analysis
    Includes data on carbon dioxide emissions.
  • European Commission: Energy Statistics
    The publication EU Energy and Transport in Figures (pdf) has EU--and some world--energy, transportation, and emissions statistics.
  • European Energy Agency: Data and Maps
  • European Topic Centre on Sustainable Consumption and Production (ETCSCP): Facts and figures
    Statistics on waste and consumption in European countries.
  • Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data (1990- ) from United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)
  • Hint: To access the data, click on links on the left hand side of the web page.
  • International Atomic Energy Agency: NUCLEUS Catalogue
    Access to about 130 IAEA scientific, technical and regulatory resources. Includes:
    • World Distribution of Uranium Deposits (UDEPO)
    • Contains information on the classification, geological characteristics, geographical distribution and technical characteristics of the uranium deposits worldwide. Requires a free registration.
  • International Energy Agency (IEA):
    • IEA Statistics NEW AU-only icon
      Mostly statistics of IEA member countries. Hosted by OECDiLibrary.
    • Statistics from IEA website
    • CO2 Emissions from Fuel Combustion (2000-2009, 2010 editions) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual report showing the evolution of the emissions of CO2 from 1971 onwards for more than 140 countries and regions by sector and by fuel.
    • Coal Information (editions 2000 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual report of detailed coal statistics.
    • Electricity Information (editions 2001 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual report of overall energy consumption, economic indicators, electricity and heat production by energy form and plant type, electricity imports and exports, sectoral energy and electricity consumption as well as prices for electricity and electricity input fuels for each country and regional aggregate.
    • Energy Balances of non-OECD Countries (editions 2001 to present) from OECDiLibraryAU-only icon
      Annual statistical report on the supply and consumption of coal, oil, gas, electricity, heat, renewables and waste presented as comprehensive energy balances expressed in million tonnes of oil equivalent, to enable analysis across different types of energy. Detailed tables cover the most recent two years for over 100 non-OECD countries and related regions.
    • Energy Balances of OECD Countries (editions 2000 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual statistical report on the supply and consumption of coal, oil, gas, electricity, heat, renewables and waste presented as comprehensive energy balances expressed in million tonnes of oil equivalent, to enable analysis across different types of energy. Detailed tables cover the most recent two years for all OECD countries and related regions.
    • Energy Statistics of Non-OECD Countries (editions 2001 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual statistical report on energy supply and consumption in original units for coal, oil, gas, electricity, heat, renewables and waste for over 100 non-OECD countries. Historical tables summarise data on production, trade and final consumption.
    • Energy Statistics of OECD Countries (editions 2000 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual statistical report on energy supply and consumption in original units for coal, oil, gas, electricity, heat, renewables and waste for OECD countries. Historical tables summarise data on production, trade and final consumption.
    • Key World Energy Statistics (editions 2009 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Publication with quick stats and charts.
    • Natural Gas Information (editions 2000 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual book containing information on LNG and pipeline trade, gas reserves, storage capacity, prices and consumption. 
    • Oil Information (editions 2000 to present) from OECDiLibraryAU-only icon
      Annual book containing information on oil supply, consumption, prices, trade of crude and various petroleum products, CO2 emissions, use of biofuels, refinery output, oil ports, the tanker fleet, and tanker freight rates.
    • Renewables Information (editions 2002 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
    • Annual book containing information on generating capacity, electricity and heat production from renewable and waste sources, as well as production and consumption of renewable and waste products.
    • World Energy Outlook (WEO) (1999 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Report of IEA's annual energy projections. Based on scenarios, these projections compare what will happen if policies remain the same and what might happen if policies were improved. Each edition tends to have a particular geographical or policy focus.
  • International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO): Annual Review Statistics Database (1994- )
  • Latin American Energy Organization: Energy Statistics Report (2003- )
    Data from 1998 to future forecasts. The most recent report must be purchased; earlier editions are free.
  • OECD Nuclear Energy Agency
    • Nuclear Energy Data a.k.a. "Brown Book" (editions from 1999 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Annual compilation of official statistics and country reports on nuclear energy. Includes statistics on nuclear electricity generation and information on plans for new nuclear plant construction, nuclear fuel cycle developments as well as current and projected nuclear generating capacity in OECD member countries.
    • Uranium: Resources, Production and Demand a.k.a. "Red Book" (editions 1998 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
      Statistical report of the world uranium industry in the areas of exploration, resource estimates, production and reactor-related requirements. Provides long-term projections of nuclear generating capacity and reactor-related uranium requirements and includes a discussion of long-term uranium supply and demand issues. Prepared every 2 years by the OECD and the International Atomic Energy Agency.
  • Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC): Data/Graphs
    • Oil Statistics. OPEC.
      (Call number: HD95604 .O7). AU Library has print volumes from 1961, 1963-1964, 1966-1969.
  • United Nations: Energy and Environment Statistics
    • Energy Statistics Yearbook
      (Call number: HD9502.A1 E55). AU Library has print editions from 1982-2006.
    • Yearbook of World Energy Statistics
      (Call number: HA13 .U5 ser.J). AU Library has print volumes from v.1 (1929/1950)-v.25 (1981).
  • United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC): Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data (1990- )
    Hint: To access the data, click on links on the left hand side of the web page. 
  • World Nuclear Association
    Includes statistics on nuclear reactors in operations and planned, nuclear share of generation, and uranium production.
    Hint: Click on "Public Information Service" on the left hand side of website.
  • World Resources Institute: Data Sets
    Earth Trends, and Climate Analysis Indicators Tool (CAIT).
  • World's Water: Water Data from Pacific Institute

International: Gender

International: Geography, Geology and Resources

  • Kimberley Process Rough Diamond Statistics
    The Kimberley Process Certification Scheme imposes extensive requirements on its members to enable them to certify shipments of rough diamonds as ‘conflict-free’.
  • Peace Research Institute Oslo, Center of the Study of Civil War (CSCW), Geographical and Resource Datasets:
    • Diamond Resources
      The diamonds dataset offers a comprehensive list of all known diamond deposits throughout the world. Each deposit is coded with precise geographic coordinates, geological form of the diamond, and dates of discovery and first production.
    • Length of International Boundaries
      The Boundary Dataset contains measurements of all international boundary lengths between members of the international system and their changes since 1815. 
    • Minimum Distance Data
      The database records the shortest distance in statute kilometers between points on the outer boundaries for two polities, regardless of whether the states are separated by land or sea, given the borders in place in a particular time period. 
    • Petroleum Dataset
      The petroleum datasets contain information on all known oil and gas deposits throughout the world. Two datasets are available: one for on-shore deposits and anonther for off-shore deposits. 
    • Shared River Basin Database
      These data thus allow investigating the importance of e.g. relative location (upstream vs. downstream), non-contiguous river-sharing dyads, and relative magnitude of the water resource. 
    • Shared Rivers
      The shared rivers dataset contains yearly observations of all contiguous pairs of states, 1816–1992, as defined by the Correlates of War contiguity dataset.
  • U.S. Geological Survey:
  • World Diamond Production from Info Diamond

International: Government and Political Science 

International: Health and Vital Statistics

HIV/AIDS

  • UNAIDS, Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
    • AIDSinfo (1990- )
      Statistical database.
    • HIV Data
      The "UNAIDS Report on the Global AIDS Epidemic 2010" has "AIDS Scorecards."

Substance Abuse

International: Investments

  • U.S. Direct Investment Abroad (1982 to most recent) from Bureau of Economic Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • UNCTAD
  • World investment directory.
    (Call number: Ref HG4538 .W67; most recent edition in Ready Reference). AU Library has print volumes from v.3 1992-v.9 pt.2 2004.

International Statistical Sources by Subject: Labor to Transportation

International: Labor

International: Media

  • Committee to Protect Journals: Number of journalists killed (1992- ), imprisoned (2000- ), and missing (1982- ).
  • Comparative Nordic Media Statistics from Nordicom (Nordic Information Centre for Media and Communication Research)
    Statistics on nine media and the major media companies that operate in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.
  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Data Centre
    Statistics on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. Includes statistics on book production, radio and television broadcast, cinema, newspapers, journalists, and libraries.
  • World Press Trends (on order)
    Statistics and analyses on the newspaper industry worldwide and on individual markets.

International: Military and Arms 

International: Population, Demographics and Migration

International: Religion

International: Science and Technology

International: Social

International: Tourism

  • World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)
    • Yearbook of Tourism Statistics.
      (Call number: Ref G149 .I73; G149 .I73). AU Library has print volumes from 1986-2004, 2005-2006, 2010.
  • OECD Tourism Trends and Policies (2008 to present) from OECDiLibrary AU-only icon
    Biennial report providing key trends and tourism policy developments for 30 OECD countries and selected economies.

International: Transportation

  • ASN Aviation Safety Database (1943- ) from Aviation Safety Network
    Statistics and descriptions of over 12,200 airliner, military transport category aircraft and corporate jet aircraft safety occurrences (accidents, fatalities and hijackings).
  • European Road Statistics Handbooks (2007- ) (PDF) from European Union Road Federation
    Statistics on European road network, infrastructure financing, road maintenance and investment, goods transport, passenger transport, safety, taxation, and environment.
  • Piracy News and Figures from International Maritime Bureau (IMB)
  • 2011 attacks and hijackings, and current number of vessals and hostages held by Somali pirates.
  • Statistical Summary of Commercial Jet Airplane Accidents: Worldwide Operations 1959-2009 (PDF) from Boeing
  • U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS): International, U.S. Dept. of Transportation
    • North American Transborder Freight Database (1994- )
      Freight flow data by commodity type and by mode of transportation (rail, truck, pipeline, air, vessel, and other) for U.S. exports to and imports from Canada and Mexico.
    • Border Crossing/Entry Data (1995- )
      Monthly incoming border crossing/entry data for vehicles, containers, passengers, and pedestrians at the port level on the U.S.-Canadian and U.S.-Mexican borders.
    • North American Transportation Statistics Interchange (1990- )
      Data on transportation and the economy, transportation safety, transportation’s impact on energy and the environment, passenger and freight activity, and transportation and trade among Canada, the United States and Mexico, both within individual countries and between the countries.