Skip to main content

International Studies

This guide lists American University Library databases and print resources, and free Web sites that are of use to the study and research of International Studies.

Political Science Handbooks

Handbooks are compendia of information on a subject.  They are excellent introductions to a subject.

The Oxford Handbook of American Bureaucracy, (2011) Robert F. Durant (ed.)

The Oxford Handbook of American Elections and Political Behavior, (2010) Jan E. Leighley (ed.)

The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups, (2010) L. Sandy Maisel and Jeffrey M. Berry (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of American Public Opinion and the Media, (2011) Robert Y. Shapiro and Lawrence R. Jacobs (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of British Politics, (2009) Matthew Flinders, Andrew Gamble, Colin Hay, and Michael Kenny (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of Canadian Politics, (2010) John C. Courtney and David E. Smith (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JL15 .094 2010).

The Oxford Handbook of Church and State In The United States, (2010) Derek H. Davis (ed.)

The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society, (2011) John S. Dryzek, Richard B. Norgaard, and David Schlosberg (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: QC903 .O94 2011)

The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics, (2009) Carles Boix and Susan C. Stokes (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JF51 .O94 2007).

The Oxford Handbook of Contextual Political Analysis, (2006)  Robert E. Goodin and Charles Tilly (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JA71 .O94 2006)

The Oxford Handbook of International Relations, (2008) Christian Reus-Smit and Duncan Snidal (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JZ1242 .O94 2008)

The Oxford Handbook of Law and Politics, (2008) Keith E. Whittington, R. Daniel Kelemen, and Gregory A. Caldeira (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of Local and Regional Democracy in Europe, (2011) John Loughlin, Frank Hendriks, and Anders Lidström (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of National Security Intelligence, (2010) Loch K. Johnson (ed.)

The Oxford Handbook of Political Behavior, (2007) Russell J. Dalton and Hans-Dieter Klingemann (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JA74.5 .O93 2007)

The Oxford Handbook of Political Economy, (2006) Barry R. Weingast and Donald A. Wittman (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: HB171 .O94 2006)

The Oxford Handbook of Political Institutions, (2008) R. A. W. Rhodes, Sarah A. Binder, and Bert A. Rockman (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JF51 .O95 2006)

The Oxford Handbook of Political Methodology, (2008) Janet M. Box-Steffensmeier, Henry E. Brady, and David Collier (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JA71 .O948 2008

The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory, (2008) John S. Dryzek, Bonnie Honig, and Anne Phillips (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JA71 .O95 2006)

The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy, (2008) Michael Moran, Martin Rein, and Robert E. Goodin (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of the American Congress, (2011) Eric Schickler and Frances E. Lee (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of the American Presidency, (2009) George C. Edwards III and William G. Howell (eds)

The Oxford Handbook of the European Union, (2012) Erik Jones, Anand Menon, and Stephen Weatherill (eds)
The AU Library has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JN30 .O93 2012)

The Oxford Handbook of The Welfare State, (2010) Francis G. Castles, Stephan Leibfried, Jane Lewis, Herbert Obinger, and Christopher Pierson (eds)
The AU Library also has a print copy of this book. (Call number: JC479 .O94 2010)

The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations, (2008) Thomas G. Weiss and Sam Daws (eds)