1. Type in the title of the article in the SearchBox and it will link to the full-text article if AU Library has it.
2. If you only have the journal title, the Find Journals link will tell you which AU database has the full text of the journal.
AND - use to narrow a search and get fewer and more relevant results. elections and voters
OR - use to broaden a search and get more results. Good for synonyms and words with variant spellings. Add parentheses when using OR. (latin america or argentina or colombia) (organization or organisation)
NOT - use to narrow a search to get more relevant results mexico not new mexico
Use to find words with different word endings. e.g. immigrant* yields immigrant, immigrants e.g. immigra* yields immigrant, immigrants, immigrate, immigration, immigrating, etc.
Truncation (or wildcard) symbols:
• Most databases use an asterisk (*). • LexisNexis uses an exclamation mark (!). • AU Library catalog and World News Connection use a question mark (?). • iPolls & RoperExpress use a percentage sign (%). • Ovid databases use dollar sign ($).
Use to find words that are close to each other on a page. It is one way to find more relevant results.
Each family of databases has its own command words.
EBSCO: nnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number fundamental* n3 islam*
Factiva: same=words in same paragraph sex trafficking same ngo*
nearnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number president* near3 speech
HeinOnline ~number=words near each other in any order, within a certain number "watershed planning"~10
LexisNexis: w/number=words within a specified number of words, in any order human rights w/2 violations
w/s=words within the same sentence crime w/s (dc or district of columbia)
w/p=words within the same paragraph gays w/p military
ProQuest: near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number renewable energy near/5 viable
Scopus w/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
Web of Science: Web of Knowledge: Social Science Citation Index: MEDLINE: near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number government near/3 fund*
To save time, you can search more than one database from ProQuest at the same time.
ESPECIALLY USEFUL FOR WRITING LITERATURE REVIEWS because one can sort results by times cited. Coverage: Publications from 1823 to present. Scopus covers many disciplines in the social sciences. It provides over 50 million citations and abstracts to articles in 20,000 peer-review journals, 5.5 million conference papers, as well as numerous books and trade publications.
Search engine for articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Searching is free, but links to full-text articles and books from the American University Library collections is restricted to American University users.