Skip to main content

Sociology

This guide lists American University Library databases, print sources, and free Web sites of use to Sociology research.

Click to Chat with a Librarian

 

Text: 571-766-6349

Intersession Hours:  Mon.-Fri. 10am-6pm, Sat.-Sun. 1-6pm.  Closing at 4pm on December 22 and Closed December 23-January 1.

 

 

Where to Find Books?

The following are the main sources for finding books in libraries.

Current Online Books

The following databases of ebooks contain current book titles. Each of the titles in these databases can be found in the American University's ALADIN catalog above.AU-only icon

Free Older Online Books

The vast majority of books that are free online are published prior to 1923. Their U.S. copyright has expired and they are now in the public domain.

Older Online Books in WRLC Catalog

The following databases of ebooks contain older book titles. Each of the titles in these databases can be found in the American University's ALADIN catalog above. Access is limited to AU-only icon.

The advantage to searching each databae versus the ALADIN catalog is that one can search full text of every book in each database, not just the book record.

Search Tips

Boolean operators:

AND - use to narrow a search and get fewer and more relevant results.
elections and voters

OR - use to broaden a search and get more results. Good for synonyms and words with variant spellings. Add parentheses when using OR.
(latin america or argentina or colombia)
(organization or organisation)

NOT - use to narrow a search to get more relevant results
mexico not new mexico


Truncation:

Use to find words with different word endings.
e.g. immigrant* yields immigrant, immigrants
e.g. immigra* yields immigrant, immigrants, immigrate, immigration, immigrating, etc.

Truncation (or wildcard) symbols:

• Most databases use an asterisk (*).
• LexisNexis uses an exclamation mark (!).
• AU Library catalog and World News Connection use a question mark (?).
• iPolls & RoperExpress use a percentage sign (%).
• Ovid databases use dollar sign ($).


    Proximity search:

    Use to find words that are close to each other on a page.
    It is one way to find more relevant results.

    Each family of databases has its own command words.

    EBSCO:
    nnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    fundamental* n3 islam*

    Factiva:
    same=words in same paragraph
    sex trafficking same ngo*

    nearnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    president* near3 speech

    HeinOnline
    ~number
    =words near each other in any order, within a certain number
    "watershed planning"~10

    LexisNexis:
    w/number=words within a specified number of words, in any order
    human rights w/2 violations

    w/s=words within the same sentence
    crime w/s (dc or district of columbia)

    w/p=words within the same paragraph
    gays w/p military

    ProQuest:
    near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    renewable energy near/5 viable

    Scopus
    w/number
    =words near another word in any order, within a certain number

    Web of Science:
    Web of Knowledge:
    Social Science Citation Index:
    MEDLINE:
    near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    government near/3 fund*