A collection of 15 historiographical essays by respected scholars to provide an up-to-date overview of major topics in American History. Each essay offers an assessment of a central field such as religious history, women's history, cultural history, military history, and the history of ethnicity and migration.
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes articles covering important issues, biographies, and definitions of legal terms. Topics include the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.
This introduction pivots on an expansive definition of law and the relationship of law to its historical context. "Law," in this book, includes not only basic common law subjects (such as property, torts, and contracts), but statutory and constitutional issues as well, including issues associated with gender, race, and domestic relations.
Call Number: KF4755 .B76 2007 - WCL LAW LIBRARY#8B0000>
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
Traces the history of racial discrimination in American law from colonial times to the present, analyzing the key court cases that established America's racial system and showing their impact on American society.
In the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English empires in the Americas, individuals and groups turned to courts of law to define and implement various types of status for indigenous Americans, forcibly imported Africans, and colonizing Europeans - and their progeny. Peabody and Grinberg introduce the voices of slaves, slave-holders, jurists, legislators, and others, as they struggle to critique, overturn, justify, or simply describe the social order in which they are embedded.
Captures the thematic breadth of Native American history over the last forty years. Twenty-five original essays by leading scholars in the field, both American Indian and non-American Indian, bring a modern perspective to Native American histories that were at one time related exclusively by Euro-American settlers.
What influences decisions of the US Supreme Court? For decades social scientists focused on the ideology of individual justices. This text moves beyond that focus by exploring how justices are influenced by the distinctive features of courts as institutions and their place in the political system.
Offers lively and insightful accounts of the most important cases ever argued before the Court, from Marbury v. Madison and Scott v. Sandford (the Dred Scott decision) to Brown v. Board of Education and Roe v. Wade. The Guide contains more than 450 entries on major Supreme Court cases.
The Supreme Court has indeed traveled a long and interesting journey to its current preeminent place in American life. In A History of the Supreme Court, Schwartz provides a comprehensive one-volume narrative of our highest court.
In this revised third edition of a classic in American jurisprudence, G. Edward White updates his series of portraits of the most famous appellate judges in American history from John Marshall to Oliver W. Holmes to Warren E. Burger, with a new chapter on the Rehnquist Court.
This unique study offers a comprehensive analysis of American jurisprudence from its emergence in the later stages of the nineteenth century to the present day. The author argues that it is a mistake to view American jurisprudence as a collection of movements and schools which have emerged in opposition to each other. By offering a highly original analysis of legal formalism, legal realism, policy science, process jurisprudence, law and economics, and critical legal studies, he demonstrates that American jurisprudence has evolved as a collection of themes which reflect broader American intellectual and cultural concerns.
This volume includes essays and historiographical surveys of American foreign relations since 1941. The essays in part one offer sweeping overviews of the major trends in the field of diplomatic history. Part two features essays that survey the literature on US relations with particular regions of the world or on the foreign policies of presidential administrations.
In a panoramic history of our criminal justice system from Colonial times to today, this text shows how America fashioned a system of crime and punishment in its own image.
Conceptual Change and the Constitution
by Terence Ball (Editor); J. G. A. Pocock (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998-09-15
In this volume distinguished historians and political scientists examine political discourse during that short span of years from the Revolution through ratification, a period of profound political and conceptual change. The concepts of "sovereignty," "representation," "liberty," "virtue," "republic," "democracy" even "constitution" itself were virtually recoined. Others, like "federalism," were new inventions. Out of the vehement political arguments and debates of the period came not only a new Constitution but a new political vocabulary; a political idiom that was distinctly recognizably American.
Call Number: E-book Full text access for AU community
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
The Routledge Handbook of Constitutional Law is an advanced level reference work which surveys the current state of constitutional law. Featuring new, specially commissioned papers by a range of leading scholars from around the world, it offers a comprehensive overview of the field as well as identifying promising avenues for future research. The book presents the key issues in constitutional law thematically allowing for a truly comparative approach to the subject. It also pays particular attention to constitutional design, identifying and evaluating various solutions to the challenges involved in constitutional architecture. The book is split into four parts for ease of reference: Part One: General issues "sets issues of constitutional law firmly in context including topics such as the making of constitutions, the impact of religion and culture on constitutions, and the relationship between international law and domestic constitutions. Part Two: Structures presents different approaches in regard to institutions or state organization and structural concepts such as emergency powers and electoral systems Part Three: Rights covers the key rights often enshrined in constitutions Part Four: New Challenges - explores issues of importance such as migration and refugees, sovereignty under pressure from globalization, Supranational Organizations and their role in creating post-conflict constitutions, and new technological challenges. Providing up-to-date and authoritative articles covering all the key aspects of constitutional law, this reference work is essential reading for advanced students, scholars and practitioners in the field.
This three part collection includes News Features & internal communications from 1848-2000, Washington, D.C. Bureau records from 1938-2009, and U.S. City Bureaus from 1931-2004). This resource was made possible through the Samuel & Lucy Keker Endowed Library Fund.
Contains documents published by Congress including hearings, floor debates, bill text, legislative histories, and reports from the Congressional Research Service. Dates vary by publication and range from 1789-present. This resource was made possible in part through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
Primary source material from 18th and 19th Century publications, including The Liberator 1831-1865, Godey`s Lady`s Book 1830-1889, The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, and The South Carolina Gazette.
A collection of more than 5,700 documentaries and newsreels on American history, each accompanied by a transcript. There are film clippings from as early as 1898. Includes newsreels from United News (1942 to 1946) and Universal (1929 to 1967). This database will be completed in December 2011. Transcripts of all programs provided.