To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
A will for the woods. 2014. 1 videodisc (94 min.). While battling lymphoma, Clark has discovered a burgeoning movement that uses burial to conserve and restore natural areas, forgoing typical funeral practices that stress the ecosystem. Boldly facing his mortality, Clark and his partner Jane have become passionate about green burial, compelled by both the environmental benefits and the idea that one can remain within the cycle of life, rather than being cut off from it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11810.
American meat. 2011. 1 videodisc (85 min.). A solutions-oriented documentary chronicling the current state of the U.S. meat industry. First explaining how America arrived at our current industrial system, the story shifts to the present day, showing the feedlots and confinement houses, not through hidden cameras but through the eyes of the farmers who live and work there. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6562.
Earth : a new wild. 2015. 2 videodiscs (300 min.). Take a stunning new look at our wild planet by turning the cameras around to show the world as it really is, with humans in the picture. Dr. M. Sanjayan journeys to the frontiers of where man and animal meet to discover how our relationship with the greatest natural history events on the planet can provide a key to preserving our present and enriching our future. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11807.
Earthlings. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 95 min.). "Earthlings is a feature length documentary about humankind’s absolute economic dependence on animals raised as pets, food, clothing, entertainment, and scientific research. Using hidden cameras and never-before-seen footage, Earthlings chronicles the day-to-day practices of some of the largest industries in the world, all of which rely entirely on animals for profit. Earthlings is the most comprehensive documentary ever produced on the correlation between nature, animals, and human economic interests"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11675.
Fantastic voyage. Cinema classics collection. 2007. 1 videodisc (101 min.). An elite team of medical and scientific specialists race to save a top government scientist who is suffering from blood clot on the brain. Their mission is to be reduced along with their submarine-like craft to microscope size, enter the bloodstream of the ailing scientist, and journey to the brain to perform an emergency procedure. With only sixty minutes to complete their mission, the scientists find themselves fighting off an attack by white corpuscles, caught in a tornado-like storm in the lungs, and struggling to surviv sabotage from one of their own. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6621.
Giant squid. 2012. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). Most wildlife documentaries focus on animal behavior, but Inside Nature’s Giants goes inside the largest animals on the planet to explore their anatomy, reveal their intricate inner workings and uncover their evolutionary secrets. In this episode, veterinary scientist Mark Evans and comparative anatomist Joy Reidenberg fly to New Zealand to join a team of experts dissecting a rare specimen of giant squid and a bizarre octopus that inhabits the ocean’s ’midnight zone’ over half a mile deep. From the moment they set eyes on these cephalopod cousins and their alien anatomy, the team is fascinated. Once thought to be the stuff of legend, it was only in the late 19th century that the Giant Squid₇the largest invertebrate in the world₇was first officially recorded by scientists. Now, thanks to the dissection, the team can piece together the puzzle of how Giant Squid hunt, how they jet through the water, how their quick-fire beak pulverizes food, why it has such enormous eyes, and the brutal truth about Giant Squid reproduction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11557.
GMO OMG. 2014. 1 videodisc (85 min.). "Director and concerned father Jeremy Seifert is in search of answers. How do GMOs affect our children, the health of our planet, and our freedom of choice? And perhaps the ultimate question, which Seifert tests himself: is it even possible to reject the food system currently in place, or have we lost something we can’t gain back? These and other questions take Seifert on a journey from his family’s table to Haiti, Paris, Norway, and the lobby of agra-giant Monsanto, from which he is unceremoniously ejected. Along the way we gain insight into a question that is of growing concern to citizens the world over: what’s on your plate?--Film’s website. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11566.
Into the deep : America, whaling & the world. 2010. 1 videodisc (114 min.). The history of the American whaling industry, from its 17th-century origins in drift and shore whaling off the coast of New England and Cape Cod, through the golden age of deep ocean whaling, and on to its demise in the decades following the American Civil War. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3372.
Lonely are the brave. Universal backlot series. 2009. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 48 min.). After landing himself in jail trying to break out his friend, Jack Burns finds himself alone and on the run from the law. Leading the manhunt is Sheriff Morey Johnson, who must bring Burns to justice despite his own sympathy for the fugitive. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12168.
Open sesame : the story of seeds. 2015. 1 videodisc (81 min.). One of the world’s most precious resources is at risk. This timely and emotionally moving film illuminates what is at stake and what can be done to protect the source of nearly all of our food: seeds. Seeds provide the basis for everything from fabric, to food to fuels. Seeds are as essential to life as the air we breathe or water we drink, but given far less attention. It’s not too late, yet. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11797.
Pandora’s promise. 2014. 1 videodisc (87 min.). A feature length documentary about the history and future of nuclear power. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6421.
Sex in the wild : the biology of mating. 2014. 2 videodiscs (approximately 240 min.). A four part series that explores the reproductive behaviors of the animal kingdom. Focusing on four species, elephant, dolphin, kangaroo and orangutan, the series takes an in-depth look at how these animals find, fight for, and woo the opposite sex. It also explores how they mate, give birth, and raise their young in extreme environments. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11774.
Sharkwater. 2008. 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). Driven by a passion fed from a life-long fascination with sharks, filmmaker Rob Stewart debunks historical stereotypes and media depictions of sharks as bloodthirsty monsters and reveals the reality of sharks as pillars in the evolution of the seas. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11492.
The Hellstrom chronicle. 2011. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A tongue-in-cheek look at the insect world, ultimately portraying the insect as an indomitable menace and potential threat to nature and the human race. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11641.
Unacceptable levels. 2013. 1 videodisc (80 min.). "Examines the results of the chemical revolution of the 1940s through the eyes of ... filmmaker Ed Brown. Join him as he interviews top minds in the fields of science, advocacy, and law. Weaving their testimonies into a compelling narrative, Brown presents us with the story of how the chemical revolution brought us to where we are, and where--if we’re not vigilant--it may take us"-- Container. Unacceptable Levels examines chemical exposure in daily life from the perspective of filmmaker Ed Brown, a father seeking to understand the world in which he and his wife are raising their children. From the chemical revolution of the 1940s through today’s prevalence of chemicals in industrial and consumer products, the documentary seeks to impart greater understanding of the proliferation -- and compounding effects -- of commonly used chemicals. The ultimate mission of the film is to educate, engage questioning around the potential human risk and to propose ideas on what can be done about it. The film is anchored in Brown’s own poignant experiences and follows his personal journey purposed in uncovering the impact of chemicals on his family. To create this debut documentary, Brown traveled extensively to interview top minds in the fields of science, industry, government, environmental advocacy and law. Weaving their commentary and perspectives into a compelling narrative, Brown chronicles the history of industrial chemicals in the U.S. -- and their lack of regulation -- and provides us with an in-depth look at its presence in everyday life...from agriculture to drinking water, cosmetics to toys. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7622.
Unseen enemies: man & disease. 2013. 2 videodiscs ( ca. 136min.). "Unseen Enemies examines the top eleven infectious disease killers in human history, as well as the men and women whose dedication and sacrifice helped to expose answers and cures for each of these runaway conditions. By looking back upon history, today’s students of science and medicine might better understand how their own careers may one day profoundly impact the course of human history and scientific achievement" -- Container. DVD 6425.