Skip to main content

Filmography - New Acquisitions: May 2014 - July 2015: Dance and Music

These are select lists from the DVDs purchased by Media Services in the last year.

Dance/Music - New acquisitions May 2014 - July 2015

Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.

Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

May 2014 - July 2015 Additions

 

Afternoon of a Faun = Tanaquil Le Clercq. 2014. 1 videodisc (91 min.) Nancy Buirski’s documentary on famed prima ballerina Tanaquil Le Clercq, the muse of both George Balanchine (who married her), and Jerome Robbins who created his famous choreographic work, Afternoon of a Faun, for her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11606

Aida the Metropolitan Opera presents ; music by Giuseppe Verdi ; libretto by Antonio Ghislanzoni. Produced at the Metropolitan Opera House, New York, Oct. 1988. 1 videodisc (158 min.) An Egyptian soldier falls in love with his Ethiopian captive. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12014

American Ballet Theatre in San Francisco. [2005?]. 1 videodisc (105 min.) Airs / music by George Frideric Handel ; choreography by Paul Taylor ; reconstructed by Eileen Cropley -- Jardin aux lilas / music by Ernest Chausson ; choreography by Antony Tudor -- The black swan : pas de deux : (Grand pas de deux from Act III, Swan lake) / music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky ; choreography by Marius Petipa -- Romeo and Juliet : (balcony pas de deux, Act I) / music by Sergei Prokofiev ; choreography by Kenneth MacMillan -- Great galloping Gottschalk / music by Louis Moreau Gottschalk ; orchestrated by Jack Elliott ; La savane arranged by Victoria Bond ; choreography by Lynn Taylor-Corbett. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11962

Baryshnikov by Tharp / Baryshnikov Dances Sinatra.  2004. 1 videodisc (60 min.) Mikhail Baryshnikov discusses dance and performs in three works choreographed by Twyla Tharp. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5057

Brian Eno, the man who fell to earth, 1971-1977. 2010. 1 videodisc (154 min.) This documentary combines interviews with musicians, writers, colleagues, collaborators and friends of Brian Eno with archival footage, performance and studio film to chronicle the evolution of Eno’s career from rock musician with the group Roxy Music to innovative composer of ambient music. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11905

Dance on screen. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 90 min.) "In this revelatory new documentary, director Reiner E. Moritz poses the question: How has the media influenced dance in the twentieth century and vice versa? Over this period an extensive archive of beautiful choreography, performed by the finest dancers has accumulated on film and television, resulting in a major dispersion of dance through the media. In addition, new art forms such as dance movies and ballet films have emerged from this development in moving images, where dance is created specifically for the camera. ’A History Of Dance On Screen’ contains an impressive amount of archive footage featuring the greatest dancers and choreographers of the twentieth and twenty first centuries, framed by in-depth interviews with great personalities of the contemporary dance scene--featuring Alvin Ailey, Pina Bausch, Maurice Béjart, Matthew Bourne, Margot Fonteyn, Martha Graham, John Neumeier, Rudolf Nureyev, Anna Pavlova, Roland Petit, Sasha Waltz and many others"--Arthaus website. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5061

Dance Theatre of Harlem. 1989. 1 videodisc (59 min.) Dazzling performances by the Dance Theatre of Harlem, America’s first outstanding classical ballet company of black dancers. In this special studio production, members of the Theatre perform a selection of its most popular works. The pieces are introduced by choreographer Robert North and the founder of the Theatre, Arthur Mitchell. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8921

Desperate Man Blues: Discovering the Roots of American Music. 2003. 1 videodisc (180 min.) Story of Joe E. Bussard, Jr., whose lifelong mission is to rescue America’s roots music from oblivion. He is a musician, broadcaster and obsessive, long-time collector of 1920s and -30s American music on original 78 rpm records. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 144

Devo: The Complete Truth About De-evolution. 2014. 1 videodisc (70 min.) An essential tour of the pre-to-post-punk scene with groundbreaking pre-MTV clips that defined the form with twisted genius intros and outros, rare performance footage, and a sizable assortment of extras. Contains twenty music videos. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11412

Diaghilev and the Ballets Russes, 1909-1929: When art danced with music. 2013. 1 videodisc (55 min.) Profiles impresario Serge Diaghilev, the founder and creative force behind the Ballets Russes, who, under the banner of his company, brought together some of the greatest talents of the 20th century, including painters Pablo Picasso and Henri Matisse, composers Igor Stravinsky and Erik Satie, choreographers Michel Fokine and George Balanchine, and dancers Vaslav Nijinksy and Anna Pavlova. Includes footage of revivals of Ballets Russes performances by the Joffrey Ballet and the New York City Ballet. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6447

Don Giovanni the Glyndebourne Festival production. Recorded live from the Glyndebourne Festival Opera, 1977. 1 videodisc (168 min.) Sir Peter Hall’s production of Mozart’s "opera of all operas" has received universal praise, a high accolade for such an original production. Benjamin Luxon perfectly embodies the unconscionable seducer Don Giovanni. The story centers around a young nobleman who is obsessed with amorous conquest. It follows his romantic exploits and continued encounters with Donna Anna, the woman who plots to destroy him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8928

Finding Fela. 2014. 1 videodisc (120 min.) Fela Anikulapo-Kuti created a new musical movement, Afrobeat, a combination of jazz, funk, and Nigerian percussion styles. It was also a political force, a propulsive delivery system of Fela’s revolutionary ideas, pitched against the dictatorial Nigerian government of the 1970s and 1980s. His influence helped bring a tilt towards democracy in Nigeria and promoted Pan-Africanist politics to the world. The power and potency of Fela’s music and message endure today. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11782

Glenn Gould on Television: The Complete CBC Broadcasts, 1954-1977. c2011. 10 videodiscs (19 hr., 12 min.) "For the first time, the dozens of film and television programs Gould made with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation from 1954 to 1977 are collected in their entirety in Glenn Gould on Television : the complete CBC broadcasts. More than 19 hours of TV specials, concert performances, interviews and discussions collected on 10 DVDs make it possible to discover what Gould always considered some of his most significant and original life’s work, most of which has not been seen since it was first telecast"--Container. Contains all the original broadcasts unedited and uncut, as they were originally conceived by Glenn Gould and the CBC. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 150 - 159

Hanya: Portrait of a Pioneer. 1984. 1 videodisc (60 min.) Using archival footage from the 30’s and 40’s, and interviews with many of her students, this film traces the career of Hanya Holm, dancer-choreographer, from the 20’s through the Broadway stage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11848

Hawaiian Rainbow. 1987. 1 videodisc (ca. 85 min.) Documentary about Hawaiian music and musicians. Ricardo D. Trimillos and George S. Kanahele narrate the history of Hawaiian music from ancient chants through the development of the falsetto style of singing, the introduction of the ukelele and steel guitar, the rise and fall in popularity of hapa haole songs, and the cultural rebirth of the 1970s. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11844

I Am Divine. 2013. 1 videodisc (86 min.) The dynamic, fun, and often poignant portrait of the legendary Divine. Learn about his humble beginnings as an overweight, teased Baltimore youth, and his rise to fame as an internationally recognized drag superstar. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11438

I dream of wires.  2013. 1 videodisc (155 min.) The film outlines the history of synthesis and electronic music and takes us on a journey from the pioneering work of Moog and Buchla to rise of digital synths and the near-death of monster modular systems. It is about the phenomenal resurgence of the modular synthesizer exploring the passions, obsessions and dreams of people who have dedicated part of their lives to this esoteric electronic music machine Then onto the movement away from laptops and software and the phenomenal global resurgence of modular systems that we have today. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11732

Il bacio di Tosca = Tosca's Kiss. 1984. 1 videodisc (87 min.) Captures the world of the "Casa di Riposa" in Milan, the world’s first nursing home for retired opera singers, founded by composer Giuseppe Verdi in 1896. Featuring Giuseppe Manacchini, Leonida Bellon, Salvatore Locapo, Giovanni Erminio Puligheddu, and Sara Scuderi, its inhabitants are singers many of whom had significant careers on the opera stage, re-living and re-enacting their triumphant roles of the glorious past. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11941

Il Ballarino: 16th century step vocabulary and dances. Originally released as a motion picture in 1990. 1 videodisc (33 min.) Teaches authentic Renaissance court dances, gestures and step vocabulary associated with them. The Renaissance dance steps are demonstrated and described by Julia Sutton from dance manuals of the 16th century Italian masters Fabritio Caroso and Cesare Negri. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11993

Il trittico : three one-act operas  by Giacomo Puccini. Originally produced for television in 1983. 1 videodisc (161 min.) Recorded in performance, Teatro alla Scala, Milan  In Il Tabarro an act of murder is the resolution for passion, infidelity and jealousy. Suor Angelica treats the banishment to a convent of a noblewoman who gives birth to a child without benefit of marriage and when she learns of the child’s death commits suicide. In Gianni Schicchi the greedy family of a dying wealthy man conspires with a lawyer to obtain the dying man’s wealth only to be doublecrossed by the lawyer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8927

Il trovatore by Giuseppe Verdi. 2002. 1 videodisc (142 min.) Recorded live at the Sydney Opera House. Performed by Joan Sutherland, Lauris Elms, Kenneth Collins, Jonathan Summers, Donald Shanks, Cynthia Johnston, Robin Donald ; the Australian Opera and Chorus ; the Elizabethan Sydney Orchestra ; Richard Bonynge, conductor. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12059

La Bohème / music by Giacomo Puccini ; libretto by Giuseppe Giacosa and Luigi Illica. Originally produced in 1967. 1 videodisc (103 min.) Mirella Freni (Mimi) ; Adriana Martino (Musetta) ; Gianni Raimondi (Rodolfo) ; Rolando Panerai (Marcello) ; Gianni Maffeo (Schaunard) ; Ivo Vinco (Colline) ; Orchestra e Coro del Teatro alla Scala ; Herbert von Karajan, conductor. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7103

La bohème. production by Franco Zeffirelli ; directed by Gary Halvorson ; a Metropolitan Opera production. Recorded live at the Metropolitan Opera, New York, 5 Apr. 2008. 1 videodisc (136 min., 7 sec.) The story of an ill-fated love affair between an idealistic poet and a comsumptive flower-maker. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11951

La traviata. the Glyndebourne Festival production. Originally produced for television broadcast in 1987. Alfredo falls in love with the beautiful courtesan, Violetta Valery, who is dying from consumption. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12073

Lenny Bruce Without Tears. 1972. 1 videodisc (70 min.) Documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce, who died in 1966. In his personal life he was a tortured soul, and his humor was ahead of the times, but his influence was enormous. He attacked hypocracy, racism, war and organized religion, and was rewarded by being hounded by the police. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7867

Looking For Johnny: The Legend Of Johnny Thunders. 2014. 1 videodisc (98 min.) A documentary on the dangerous life of the New York Dolls and Heartbreakers guitarist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7868

Mozart’s The magic flute. Glyndbourne Festival Opera. Recorded live at the Glyndebourne Festival Opera, 1978. 1 videodisc (163 min.) The young prince Tamino is being pursued by a horrible snake and finds himself in the lands belonging to the Queen of the Night. After the Queen’s Ladies help kill the snake, Tamino meets Papageno, the Queen’s bird catcher. It is revealed to Tamino that a distant king, Sarastro, has abducted the Queen’s beautiful daughter, Pamina. After seeing her portrait, Tamino quickly falls in love. With the help of a magic flute, given to him by the Queen, Tamino and Papageno go on a quest to save Pamina. Meanwhile, in Sarastro’s palace, Pamina is being tormented by the slavekeeper, Monostatos. Tamino and Papageno arrive and are surprised to find that Sarastro is not the cruel tyrant they thought. It turns out that Sarastro abducted Pamina because the gods had intended that she was to marry Tamino. After passing a series of tests by the Priests, Tamino is granted Pamina’s hand. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12025

Muscle Shoals. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 111 min.) "Located alongside the Tennessee River, Muscle Shoals, Alabama has helped create some of the most important and resonant songs of all time. Overcoming crushing poverty and staggering tragedies, Rick Hall brought black and white together to create music for the generations. He is responsible for creating the ’Muscle Shoals sound’ and the Swampers, the house band at FAME Studios that eventually left to start its own successful studio known as Muscle Shoals Sound"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11831

Natalia Makarova’s Swan Lake a London Festival Ballet production. 1998. 1 videodisc (116 min.) Recorded at DR-Studios, Århus, Denmark. Prince Siegfried sees a swan on the lake who turns into the enchanted princess Odette. She can only be saved by the true love of another. This the Prince promises her, but he is tricked by a wicked magician who disguises his daughter as the swan-maiden. Siegfried and his love leap to their deaths thus destroying the evil power of the magician. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8926

No Maps On My Taps: The art of jazz tap dancing.  org. 1978.  1 videodisc (58 min.) Offers unique insight into jazz tap dancing as an indigenous art form. Veteran jazz tap dancing stars, including Bunny Briggs, Chuck Green and Sandman Sims, reminisce about their art and careers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8930

Ornette: Made in America. 1986. 1 videodisc (78 min.) The documentary captures Ornette Coleman’s evolution over three decades, chronicling his boyhood in segregated Texas and his subsequent emergence as an American cultural pioneer and world-class icon. The film explores the rhythms, images and myths of America seen through the eyes of an artist’s ever-expanding imagination and experience. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 126

Porgy and Bess / music by George Gershwin ; directed for the screen by Frank Zamacona (Featuring the San Francisco Opera). 2014. Recorded live at San Francisco Opera, June 2009. George Gershwin melded classical idioms, jazz, blues and spirituals in this quintessentially American masterpiece about a crippled beggar, the headstrong woman he loves, and the community that sustains them both. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6449

Positive Force: More Than A Witness; 30 Years Of Punk Politics In Action. 2014. 1 videodisc (69 minutes) "Punk activist collective Positive Force DC emerged in 1985, rising from the creative, politically charged ferment of DC punk’s Revolution Summer. Born in a dynamic local scene sparked by Bad Brains, Minor Threat, and Rites of Spring, a handful of young activists also drew inspiration from UK anarcho-punks Crass and the original "Positive Force" band Seven Seconds to become one of the most long-lasting and influential exponents of punk politics"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12028

Prince Igor. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1969. 1 videodisc (110 min.) Motion picture adaptation of the opera; libretto by the composer. The story of the 12th century Russian prince who courageously fought the invading hoardes from the east.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1489

Sonic Highways : Every city has a sound, every sound has a story. 2014. 4 videodiscs (654 min.) Documentary featuring interviews with different artists at their respective studios. The critically acclaimed 8 episode series plus, 10 extended interviews & more than 150 minutes of never before seen footage, inside the recording of Sonic Highways. Disc 1: Chicago ; Washington, DC ; Nashville. Disc 2: Austin ; Los Angeles; New Orleans. Disc 3: Seattle ; New York. Disc 4: Special features. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12029

Sun Ra: A Joyful Noise. 1998. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.) A documentary that examines the unusual performance techniques and beliefs of the enigmatic Sun Ra. Features performances by and interviews with Sun Ra and his Arkestra. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11738

Swan lake choreographed, written and staged by Yuri Grigorovich. Originally filmed in 1984. 1 videodisc (117 min.) Natalia Bessmertnova, Alexander Bogatyrev, Boris Akimov and the company of the Bolshoi Ballet; music performed by the Moscow Symphonic Orchestra. Natalia Bessmertnova is soft and lyrical in the dual role of Odette and Odile. Her eminently feminine quality makes her the ideal interpreter of this classic. The elegance and magnetism of Siegfried is masterfully portrayed by Alexander Bogatyrev. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11856

Syncopation. Originally released in 1942. 1 videodisc (89 min.) The story of a romance between singer Kit Latimer, from New Orleans, and Johnny Schumacher, in which they share and argue over musical ideas. The story serves as a backdrop for a quarter-century of American ’syncopated’ music (Ragtime, Jazz, Swing, Blues, Boogie Woogie) from prior to WWI through prohibition, the stock-market crash, the depression and the outbreak of WWII. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 138

The children of Theatre Street: Fascinating story of the Kirov Ballet School. 2004. 1 videodisc (92 min.) The late Princess Grace of Monaco narrates this Oscar-nominated look at one of the world’s greatest schools of dance, The Kirov School, whose elite graduates have become some of the greatest dancers in the history of ballet. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11994

The Lenny Bruce Performance Film. 1966. 1 videodisc (60 min.) Nightclub performance footage of Lenny Bruce. Filmed at Basin Street West, San Francisco, 1965. Special features: Thank you, Mask Man (1968 animated short). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6747

The Punk Singer: A documentary film about Kathleen Hanna. 2013. 1 videodisc (82 min.) A look at the life of activist, musician, and cultural icon Kathleen Hanna, who formed the punk band Bikini Kill and pioneered the "riot grrrl" movement of the 1990s. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11936

When the fire dances between the two poles: Mary Wigman, 1886-1973. 1991. 1 videodisc (41 min.) Mary Wigman was a German dancer, choreographer, and dance instructor. A pioneer of expressionist dance, her work was hailed for bringing the deepest of existential experiences to the stage. As one of the most iconic figures of Weimar German culture, she is considered one of the most important figures in European dance history. Wigman’s choreography often employed non-Western instrumentation, percussion as primary accompaniment, silence, masks, ecstatic spinning, and choral movement. She founded a school in Dresden, which existed from 1920 until 1942, at which she was a pioneer of modern stage dance (without pointe shoes), dance- and moving-pedagogy, and dance therapy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3368