Skip to main content

Filmography - New Acquisitions: May 2014 - July 2015: History

These are select lists from the DVDs purchased by Media Services in the last year.

History - New acquisitions May 2014 - July 2015

Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.

Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

May 2014 - July 2015 Additions

 

A man called Peter. 1955. 1 videodisc (117 min.). The Scottish-born minister who became Chaplain of the U.S. Senate. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11648.
 

Big Jim McLain. The John Wayne collection. 1952. 1 videodisc (90 min.). U.S. House Un-American Activities Committee investigators Jim McLain and Mal Baxter attempt to break up a ring of Communist Party troublemakers who are a worldwide terror ring headquartered in Hawaii. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11771.
 

Black fox: the true story of Adolf Hitler. 1962. 1 videodisc (ca. 89 min.). This acclaimed documentary of the Nazi leader reveals Hitler’s ambition, demonic will, perverse passions, and his many murders. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7860.
 

Brothers in war.  2014. 1 videodisc (90 min.).       ’No black, no white, just soldiers,’ declared Jack Benedick, a young, white lieutenant of the 9th Infantry’s Charlie Company. In 1967, no other person would have ever uttered these liberating words, but Charlie Company was different, functioning largely free of radical prejudice. Boys of ’67 recounts the spellbinding chronicle of one of the last combat infantry companies to be shipped off to the Vietnam War, their sacrifices, their bond, and their intertwining lives 47 years later. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 309.
 

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance kid. 2014. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Long before Paul Newman and Robert Redford immortalized them on screen, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid captivated Americans from coast to coast. In the 1890s, their exploits robbing banks and trains in the West, and then seemingly vanishing into thin air, became national news and the basis of rumors and myth. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7609.
 

Cold War roadshow. American experience. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 60 min.). The story of one of the most bizarre episodes in the annals of modern history: the unprecedented trip across America in 1959 by Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev, the world leader of communism and America’s arch nemesis. The visit was an opportunity to halt the escalating threats of the Cold War and chart a new course toward peaceful coexistence. For the American press, it was the media story of the year. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11777.
 

Cold War. The complete series. 1998. 6 videodiscs (1122 min.). A sweeping look at nearly five decades of global history, a crystallization of a massive, three-year-long effort helmed by award-winning documentarian Jeremy Isaacs (The World at War). Isaacs’s team shot more than 1,000 hours of original footage and gathered archival footage from all over the world to include historically important, and often emotionally stunning, images, many never before seen by an international audience. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11569.
 

Copper. Season one. 2012. 3 videodiscs (ca. 440 min.). Set in 1860s New York City, the drama is centered on Kevin Corcoran, an intense, rugged, Irish-American cop working in the city’s notorious Five Points neighborhood. He struggles to maintain his moral compass while embarking on a quest to learn the truth about the disappearance of his wife and the death of his daughter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11455.
 

Crossing Delancey. 1988. 1 videodisc (97 min.). A single, independent woman is caught in a romantic quandary when her grandmother hires a Jewish matchmaker to find her a husband. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12203.
 

D-Day 360. 2014. 1 DVD, (approximately 60 min.). This program strips D-Day back to its raw data to reveal how the odds of victory, in the greatest gamble of World War II, swung on what happened over a five-hour period on a five mile stretch of French coastline. Data gathered though forensic laser scanning, 3D computer modeling, and eye-witness accounts bring the battlefield to life as never before. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3352.

Death mills: Nazi concentration camps. 1945. 1 videodisc (22, 59, 8 min.). Two very graphic films that were created by soldiers on the ground towards the end of World War II as they liberated concentration camps.                Nazi concentration camps: Compilation footage of Nazi concentration camps in the immediate aftermath of World War II. The footage was gathered by the U.S. Department of Defense as part of the effort to conduct war crime trials. Death mills: A 1945 American propaganda documentary film directed by Billy Wilder and produced by the U.S. Department of War. It was created for showings to German audiences to educate them about the atrocities committed by the Nazi regime. The film states that 20 million people were killed and describes many of the more common practices committed duting the Holocaust, including the medical experiments and the gas chambers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11914.
 

Dick Cavett’s Watergate. Secrets of the dead. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 60 min.). This offers a unique opportunity to mark the 40th anniversary of a defining moment in American history. From 1972 to 1974 the Watergate scandal unfolded on The Dick Cavett Show, as Cavett interviewed nearly every major Watergate figure, even non-political guests expressed their opinions. Dick Cavett’s Watergate documents the scandal in the words of the people who lived it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11745.
 

Drunk history. Seasons 1 &  2. 2014. 1 videodisc (133 min.). Historical reenactments from A-list talent as told by inebriated storytellers. Based on the award-winning and wildly popular web series, this follows the drunken and often incoherent narration of historical moments. Viewers explore rich culture and history on a tour of cities across America, with a twist ... of lime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11975 - 11976.
 

Edison : the father of invention. 2015. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Explores the complex alchemy that accounts for the enduring celebrity of America’s most famous inventor, offering new perspectives on the man and his milieu. And illuminating not only the true nature of invention, but its role in turn-of-the-century America’s rush into the future. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11743.
 

Europe and Western civilization in the modern age. Great courses, Modern history. 1998. 8 videodiscs (1440 min.). Three lifetimes ago, Europe was a farming society ruled by families of monarchs. Modern European history began with two seismic tremors that shattered Europe’s foundations: the Industrial Revolution in England introduced modern industrial capitalism, while the French Revolution of 1789-1799 threatened entrenched elites throughout Europe. For the next three generations, consider the following events that occurred in the span of one lifetime: (1) Napoleon’s Empire--the greatest since Rome--rises and falls; (2) Darwin, Marx, Freud, and Einstein publish works filled with world-shaking ideas; (3) after millions die in the Great War, the world plunges into economic depression, global war, genocide, during which time the Soviet Union rises and falls, and Europe--whose countries have bled each other for hundreds of years--creates a Common Market and unifies their currency. This astonishing parade of events--horrible and magnificent, comprehensible and even predictable--is narrated with an historian’s craft and a storyteller’s skill in this set of enlightening lectures. DVD 11452.
 

Europe’s secret armies: resisting Hitler. 2004. 2 videodiscs (285 min., 57 sec.). Europe’s secret armies is an exploration of the stories behind the resistance and partisan group that formed to fight a hated oppressor. These were civilian armies; made up of ordinary men and women left with no other option but to go underground to strike back. The series hears from those who were not content to bend the knee or were not prepared to be part of Adolf Hitler’s ever-growing third reich. Freedom fighters risked torture, imprisonment and death throughout Europe: France’s maquis, the mountaineers of Crete, heroes and heroines from the Low Countries, Norway, Poland rose up, not least inside the tyrant’s own land, Germany. Includes archival footage, re-creations, and interviews with actual resistance fighters. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11863.
 

F.I.S.T. 1978. 1 videodisc (ca. 145 min.). Follows the rise and fall of union leader Johnny Kovak from his beginnings as an idealistic blue collar worker to head of the Federation of Inter-State Truckers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7625.
 

Family portrait in black and white. 2012. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Presents the experiences of 17 abandoned Afro-Ukrainian children and their Ukranian foster mother. Discusses the prevalence of racism in Ukraine. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7855.
 

Father knows best. Season one - six. 1955. 4 videodiscs (ca. 660 min.). Television series about a "typical" mid-century, middle-class, Midwestern American family living in Springfield, Ohio: Jim Anderson, insurance salesman and father, his wife Margaret, and their children Betty, Bud and Kathy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14288-14293.
 

First cousin once removed : a story of life after memory ... inside the mind of poet Edwin Honig. 2014. 1 videodisc (1 hour, 19 min.). A distinguished poet, translator, critic and teacher, Edwin Honig wrote dozens of books and poems that attracted critical praise around the world. His seminal translations awakened English-speaking readers to previously overlooked literary giants, resulting in honorary knighthoods from the king of Spain and the president of Portugal. In FIRST COUSIN ONCE REMOVED, acclaimed documentary filmmaker Alan Berliner paints a deeply personal portrait of his "good friend, cousin and mentor" as Honig journeys through the ravages of Alzheimer’s disease and memory loss. A stark reminder of the profound role memory plays in everyone’s life, this is a moving essay on the fragility of being human. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3629.
 

Freedom summer. 2014. 1 videodisc (120 min.). In the hot and deadly summer of 1964, the nation could not turn away from Mississippi. Over ten memorable weeks known as Freedom Summer, more than 700 student volunteers joined with organizers and local African Americans in a historic effort to shatter the foundations of white supremacy in one of the nation’s most segregated states, even in the face of intimidation, physical violence, and death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3630.
 

Generation war. 2013.   2 videodiscs (279 min.).                 Vividly depicts the lives of five young German friends forced to navigate the unconscionable moral compromises of life under Hitler. Level-headed, highly decorated officer Wilhelm goes off to the eastern front with his sensitive younger brother Friedhelm. Deeply in love with Wilhelm is Charlotte, a young nurse who looks forward to serving in the Red Cross. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7605.
 

Gett : the trial of Viviane Amsalem. 2014. 1 videodisc (111 min.). "Desperate to free herself from a loveless marriage, an Israeli woman named Viviane Amsalem files for divorce from her cruel and manipulative husband. But Israeli law and its Rabbinical court dictates that a divorce can only be granted under the husband’s consent. Determined to obtain her dignity and freedom Viviane finds herself fighting an epic and deeply dramatic psychological battle against a profoundly absurd legal system and her cold and calculating estranged husband."--Back of container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12078.
 

Glickman. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 83 min.). Chronicles the life and career of Marty Glickman, a Jewish-American athlete turned broadcaster who pioneered many of the techniques, phrases, and programming innovations that are commonplace in sports reporting today. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11503.
 

Houseboat. 1958. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Shows Cary Grant as a government attorney, living in a houseboat, widowed and left with three unruly kids. He hires Sophia Loren as a governess and ends up falling in love with her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11650.
 

I can get it for you wholesale. 20th Century Fox cinema archives. 1951. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Money, romance, betrayal, double-dealing-- who knew making dresses could be so interesting? Harriet Boyd is a fashion model who has landed plenty of work with a Seventh Avenue dress-making concern. However, Harriet knows that she can’t be a model forever, so she is trying to turn her dreams of being a dress designer into reality. She knows that you have to be tough to succeed in the garment industry, but "tough" is practically Harriet’s middle name; the ruthless would-be garment mogul lures salesman Teddy Sherman and production whiz Mr. Cooper from the company and starts her own shop. Harriet has a genuine talent for designing dresses that look good on ordinary women, and the firm soon develops a solid customer base, but the more luxurious and lucrative department stores are looking for something more upscale. J.F. Noble, who runs one such chain, tells Harriet he’d be interested in carrying her merchandise if she was willing to create a line of designer-style gowns. Teddy is against the idea, feeling it doesn’t play on their strengths and would be bad for the company in the long run. Harriet, however, is determined to make a name for herself, and when Teddy and Cooper won’t allow her out of their deal, she begins making gowns for Noble on the sly. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11925.
 

Jews & Muslims: intimate strangers. 2014. 4 videodiscs (208 min.; 52 min. each). A historical survey of the relations between Muslims and Jews from the time of Muhammad to the present day. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6741.
 

Klansville U.S.A. American experience. 2015. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Investigate the reasons North Carolina, long seen as the most progressive state in the South, became home to the largest Klan organization in the country, with more members than all the other Southern states combined, during the 1960s. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11803.
 

LaLee’s kin: the legacy of cotton. 2001. 1 videodisc (ca. 89 min.). "[This film] follows three generations of African Americans from Mississippi as they battle extreme poverty and illiteracy. Living in a trailer without running water or lights, matriarch LaLee Wallace watches her grandchildren struggle in school, paralleling the efforts of the West Tallahatchie School System to raise standards, attract qualified teachers, and find supplies, or risk takeover by the state. These intertwined stories are a sober exploration of the painful legacy of slavery and sharecropping in America’s Mississippi Delta."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7856.
 

Last days in Vietnam. 2015. 2 videodiscs (100 min., 120 min.). In the final weeks of the Vietnam War, American servicemen and others begin the difficult mission of evacuating as many friends, family members and South Vietnamese collaborators as possible before Saigon falls to the North Vietnamese. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12205.
 

Le dernier des injustes = The last of the unjust. 2014. 2 videodiscs (235 min.). In 1975 Rome, Claude Lanzmann filmed a series of interviews with Benjamin Murmelstein, the last President of the Jewish Council in the Theresienstadt ghetto in Czechoslovakia, the only ’Elder of the Jews’ not to have been killed during the war. From Nisko in Poland to Theresienstadt, and from Vienna to Rome, the film provides an unprecedented insight into the genesis of the Final Solution. It reveals the true face of Eichmann. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11505.
 

Let the fire burn. 2014. 1 videodisc (95 minutes). Comprised of found footage and sound bites, Let the fire burn describes the conflict between the Black Power group MOVE and the people and city government of Philadelphia, culminating in the armed standoff of May 13, 1985, in which one police officer and eleven MOVE members were killed, ending when Philadelphia police dropped a bomb on the row house that served as MOVE headquarters. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11448.
 

Mandela, long walk to freedom. 2013. 2 videodiscs (approximately 141 minutes). Based on South African President Nelson Mandela’s autobiography of the same name, it chronicles his early life, coming of age, education and 27 years in prison before becoming President and working to rebuild the country’s once segregated society. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11471.
 

Mr. civil rights : Thurgood Marshall & the NAACP. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 60 min.). Civil rights attorney Thurgood Marshall’s triumph in the 1954 Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision to desegregate America’s public schools completed the final leg of a journey of over 20 years laying the groundwork to end legal segregation. He won more Supreme Court cases than any lawyer in American history, making the work of civil rights pioneers like the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Rosa Parks possible. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11780.
 

Muhammad Ali’s greatest fight. 2013. 1 videodisc (92 min.). Looks at Muhammad Ali’s historic Supreme Court battle from behind closed doors. When Ali was drafted into the Vietnam War at the height of his boxing career, his claim to conscientious objector status led to a controversial legal battle that rattled the U.S. judicial system right up to the highest court in the land. This HBO movie is a look at Muhammad Ali’s historic Supreme Court battle for Conscientious Objector status to the Vietnam War, and a portrait of the changing tides of this country during that turbulent time. Guided by his principles, Ali refused induction into the Army, enduring a protracted legal battle that saw him convicted of draft evasion, stripped of his boxing title, and banned from the sport. Meanwhile, as anti-war sentiment grows across America, Chief Justice Warren Burger (FRANK LANGELLA) ushers in the dawn of a new conservative era on the Court. At the start of the 1970-71 term, his conservative compatriot, Justice John Harlan II (CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER), interviews left-leaning, anti-war Kevin Kennedy (BENJAMIN WALKER) to serve as his clerk. But for Harlan, a rigorous and fair-minded jurist, politics and personal opinion have no place in the law, and he hires Kennedy for his substantial intellect. When the Court hears Ali’s case, the majority votes to deny Ali. Burger assigns Harlan to write the opinion, a task that Harlan passes along to Kennedy. Kennedy struggles with the decision, and in researching Ali’s beliefs, Kennedy realizes that Ali does fulfill all the conditions for Conscientious Objector status. But when he presents his findings to Harlan, the Justice rejects his opinion. Unable to support what he feels is an unjust decision, Kennedy writes it as he is told but agonizes over his resignation letter. Harlan, recently diagnosed with cancer and facing the end of his career, is convinced to read the Black Muslims’ leader Elijah Muhammad’s book Message to the Blackman in America and subsequently reconsiders his passionate young clerk’s recommendation. The usually stoic and careful Harlan flips his vote, creating a 4-4 tie. Knowing a tie vote will still result in Ali going to jail, Harlan lobbies the other Justices to find the decisive fifth vote. After Harlan’s friend, Justice Potter Stewart, helps form a narrower opinion, the Justices, Warren Burger included, change their votes in order to overturn Ali’s conviction. Ali goes on to win the World Champion title for the second time. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3625.
 

New York in the 50’s. 2001. 1 videodisc (72 min.). New York in the Fifties is the story of a unique time and place, when New York was the hotbed of new artistic expressions, free love, drinking, hot jazz, and radical politics. The film combines archival footage of New York with interviews and footage of icons of the day: Kerouac, Ginsberg, Baldwin, Mailer, Basie, etc. Offering modern day perspective and reminiscences are writers, actors, and artists such as Joan Didion, Robert Redford, Nat Hentoff, Gay and Nan Talese, John Gregory Dunne, William F. Buckley, and Calvin Trillin, all part of the rich cultural and artistic scene of the time. Based on the book by Dan Wakefield, the film also traces Wakefield’s restless rebellion in Indianapolis, and his escape to New York with dreams of writing a novel, falling in love, meeting like-minded souls and questioning the meaning of life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11640.
 

Nicky’s family. 2013. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Nicky’s Family tells the nearly forgotten story of Nicholas Winton, an Englishman who organized the rescue of 669 Czech and Slovak children just before the outbreak of World War II. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4034.
 

Nightmare in red; Report from Russia. 1955. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Nightmare in red: "The shocking true story of the bloody rise of Communism is graphically presented through archival newsreels, stills, propaganda and clips from classic Russian historical cinema in this sobering but riveting documentary. The brutal slaughter of the Czar and his family, the rise of Marx, Lenin and Stalin, the horrific civil wars, the total struggle for survival against the Nazi hordes and the political oppression that claimed over ten million lives, are all featured"--Container. Report from Russia: "The Nazi armies were undefeated when they poured into Russia, killing and capturing hundreds of thousands of Soviet troops and civilians. But the vast Russian nation dug deep and struck back hard, inflicting the first major defeats on Hitler’s legions. This report by the U.S. Office of War Information was made at the height of that struggle as our Russian allies fought for the very survival of their motherland"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11628.
 

No place on Earth. 2012. 1 videodisc (81 min.). In October 1942, Esther Stermer, the matriarch of a Jewish family in the Ukraine, leads her family underground to hide from the pursuing Nazis and stays nearly a year and a half. Their harrowing story of survival living in near total darkness in two cold, damp caves is one like no other ever told. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7118.
 

Phèdre = Phädra. 2004. 2 videodiscs (139 min.).  Based on the Greek legend of Theseus, who returned from war with the Minoans to become king of Athens, and took Phèdre, daughter of the vanquished King Minos, to be his wife. Phèdre falls in love with Theseus’ son Hippolyte, who does not return her love. In anger she prays to Neptune to destroy him, but when Hippolyte is in fact killed after fighting a sea monster, Phèdre kills herself in remorse. DVD 11697.
 

Red metal : the Copper Country Strike of 1913. 2013. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). An epic labor strike that devastated Michigan’s Copper Country in 1913 haunts the American labor movement to this day. Among the notable elements of that strike was the death of 73 children at a union Christmas party, a tragedy immortalized by Woody Guthrie in his ballad "1913 Massacre", performed in the film by Steve Earle. The event remains the deadliest unsolved manslaughter in U.S. history. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11422.
 

Ripley : believe it or not. American experience. 2015. 1 videodisc (60 min.). LeRoy Robert Ripley rose to fame during the Great Depression, transforming himself into an entertainer who mesmerized the nation with his razzle-dazzle blend of homespun Americana and freakish oddities. Over three decades, his franchise grew into an entertainment empire. This is the story of the man who popularized the iconic phrase, and proof of why we still can’t resist his challenge to ’Believe it, or not!’ HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11916.
 


Semnadt︠s︡atʹ mgnoveniĭ vesny = Seventeen moments of spring. 2004.   6 videodiscs (ca. 70 min each). "The series is based on a true story of a Russian spy Colonel Isaev (Stirlitz) in Fascist Germany during 17 days at the very end of World War II." --IMDb. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12206.
 

Sputnik mania. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 87 min.). On Oct. 4, 1957, the USSR announced to an unsuspecting world that it had launched the first man-made object ever to successfully orbit earth. Americans were stunned and then terrified. Americans asked themselves what had happened to our academic and technological superiority; could the Soviets overtake us; could their satellites be used as weapons of mass destruction? Recalls the impact the satellite had on the American psyche, and how the shock catapulted the nation from complacency into action. DVD 3642.
 

Tell them Willie Boy is here. 1969. 1 videodisc (98 min.). A modern western classic based on the true story of a Pauite Indian named Willie Boy and his bride who become the objects of the last great Western manhunt after he kills her father in a "marriage by capture." As the pressure builds, the events explode in the tragic deaths of Lola and Willie and a turning point for Sheriff Cooper. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11729.
 

The Baltic tragedy. 1985. 1 videodisc (148 min.). "Hitler’s war on Russia is graphically portrayed in 11 original German wartime newsreels. The northern sector of the Germans’ eastern front, where ferocious battles were fought in Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia and Finland, is featured. Four additional international documentaries--including one produced by the Soviets in 1944--present a well-rounded picture of the tragic plight of the Baltic peoples during World War II. Here is the story of the captive nations--whose lands became a killing ground for one of history’s most brutal wars"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12041.
 

The betrayal = Nerakhoon. 2008. 1 videodisc (92 min.). The epic story of a family forced to emigrate from war-torn Laos after the chaos of the secret air war waged by the U.S. during the Vietnam War, to the mean streets of New York City. Kuras has spent the last 23 years chronicling the family’s extraordinary journey in this deeply personal, poetic, and emotional film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11624.
 

The boy with green hair. 1948. 1 videodisc (82 min.). A young child sits quietly at the police station, unwilling to answer questions about himself or how he lost his hair. But when he finds out that his parents are killed in an air raid, his hair turns green. While the townspeople label him as an outcast, fellow war orphans stand behind him, encouraging Peter to turn his green hair into a symbol of the futility of war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11727.
 

The double. 2013. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Simon is a timid man, scratching out an isolated existence in an indifferent world. He is overlooked at work, scorned by his mother, and ignored by the woman of his dreams. He feels powerless to change any of these things. The arrival of a new co-worker, James, serves to upset the balance. James is both Simon’s exact physical double and his opposite: confident, charismatic and good with women. To Simon’s horror, James slowly starts taking over his life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11467.
 

The forgotten kingdom. 2014.    1 videodisc (97 min.).     A heavy burden compels Atang to leave the bustle of Johannesburg, he must return to his ancestral land of Lesotho to bury his estranged father in the remote, mountainous village where he was born. Once there, complications delay his ultimate departure, including reunion with a childhood friend who’s blossomed into a beautiful schoolteacher. A playful meditation on the value of hardship and the mystical beauty of a land and its people. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11546.
 

The forgotten plague. 2015. 1 videodisc (60 min.). By the dawn of the nineteenth century, tuberculosis had killed one in seven of all the people who had ever lived. The disease struck America with a vengeance, ravaging communities and touching the lives of almost every family. The battle against the deadly bacteria had a profound and lasting impact on the country, It shaped medical and scientific pursuits, social habits, economic development, western expansion, and government policy. The story is told through the remembrances of those who lived - and were cured - at tuberculosis sanatoriums, along with historians and scientists. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12023.
 

The general line. Historic film classics. 1929. 1 videodisc (90 min.). The peasant woman, Marfa Lapkina, not possessing a horse to work the land and wanting to change the situation, organizes a work group of milk maids with the aid of the regional agronomist and some poor peasants. Despite the opposition of the koulaks, the well-being of the collective grows. The work-directors help the group obtain its first tractor. The end of the film shows ten tractors working the land, and sitting on one of them: Marfa. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11431.
 

The ghost army. 2013. 1 videodisc (68 min.). The Ghost Army was officially known as the 23rd Headquarters Special Troops. From June 1944 to March 1945 it staged 20 battlefield deceptions, beginning in Normandy and ending at the Rhine River. These deceptions included an array of inflatables (tanks, trucks, jeeps, and airplanes), sound trucks, phony radio transmissions and even playacting to fool the enemy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7616.
 

The golden age of 2nd Avenue. 1968. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Host Herschel Bernardi takes a look at the birth of the Jewish-American culture, and the Yiddish theater in America. Includes an introduction by Theodore Bikel. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4013.
 

The Holcroft covenant. 1985. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Noel Holcroft has inherited an awesome legacy. His father, Hitler’s financial wizard, and two other prominent Nazis had re-routed staggering sums of money into a Swiss bank. Supposedly the money was to relieve the suffering of Holocaust victims a generation later. The three Nazis’ own children would administer the fund. Now after 40 years, Holcroft must find the other two offspring as the signatures of all three are needed to release the funds. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11560.
 

The Indomitable Teddy Roosevelt. 1983. 2 videodiscs (94 min.). A look at the public and private life of Theodore Roosevelt, America’s 26th President. Interweaves rare archival footage of Roosevelt in a reenactment of his life and the political and historical events of the period. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11655.
 

The Ipcress file. 1965. 1 videodisc (107 min.). When an undercover gang kidnaps and brainwashes key scientists, the master spy of London’s secret service leaps into action. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11668.
 

The Italian Americans. 2015. 2 videodiscs (240 min.). Through extensive archival materials and interviews with scholars and notable Italian-Americans, viewers will learn the story of those who played vital roles in helping to shape a unique Italian-American identity. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11902.
 

The Johnstown flood. 1991. 1 videodisc (26 min.). Using archival film and photographs and new cinematography; this film recreates the history of the Johnstown flood which killed 2,200 people in 1889. From the development of the South Fork Hunting & Fishing Club on Lake Conemaugh to the assessment of the dam by members of the club and a concerned citizen of Johnstown to the disaster itself, this expanded version of the film includes the only extant photographs of life at the South Fork Hunting & Fishing Club on Lake Conemaugh during this time. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12228.
 

The man nobody knew: In search of my father, CIA spymaster William Colby. 2012. 1 videodisc (104 min.). As powerful and riveting as a John Le Carre thriller, The Man Nobody Knew uncovers the hidden life of legendary CIA spymaster William Colby. The consummate American soldier-spy, Colby took on the government’s dirtiest assignments without question, until the day he defied presidential orders and revealed to Congress the CIA’s ’family jewels’ - their darkest, deepest secrets. Told by his son Carl Colby, William Colby’s story unmasks the lies, truths, sacrifices, and casualties of a covert spy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10137.

The restless conscience: resistance to Hitler in Nazi Germany, 1933-1945. 1991. 1 videodisc (ca. 113 min.).           Explores the motivating principles and activities of the anti-Nazi resistance inside Germany from 1933 to 1945. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11638.
 

The Roosevelts : an intimate history. 2014. 7 videodiscs (approximately 840 minutes). Profiles Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt, three members of the most prominent and influential family in American politics. It is the first time in a major documentary television series that their individual stories have been interwoven into a single narrative. This seven-part, 14 hour film follows the Roosevelts for more than a century, from Theodore’s birth in 1858 to Eleanor’s death in 1962. Over the course of these years, Theodore would become the 26th President of the United States and his beloved niece, Eleanor, would marry his fifth cousin, Franklin, who became the 32nd President of the United States. Together, these three individuals not only redefined the relationship Americans had with their government and with each other, but also redefined the role of the United States within the wider world. The series encompasses the history the Roosevelts helped to shape: the creation of the National Parks, the digging of the Panama Canal, the passage of innovative New Deal programs, the defeat of Hitler, and the postwar struggles for civil rights at home and human rights abroad. It is also an intimate human story about love, betrayal, family loyalty, personal courage, and the conquest of fear. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11583.
 

The unknown known. 2014. 1 videodisc (103 min.). Former United States Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld discusses his career in Washington, D.C. from his days as a congressman in the early 1960s to planning the invasion of Iraq in 2003. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11464.
 

The Venetian affair. Warner Bros. archive collection. 1966. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A U.S. diplomat turns suicide bomber at a nuclear disarmament summit. Why would a respected official go rogue? It’s up to ex-CIA operative Bill Fenner to uncover the mystery. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11580.
 

The Whistle blower.1987. 1 videodisc (104 min.). When an ordinary man’s linquist son is killed, the man’s questions plunge him into a world of espionage, spies and counterspies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11561.
 

The witches of Salem: the horror and the hope. The shaping of the American nation. 1972. 1 videodisc (34 min.). A portrayal of the witchcraft trials of Salem, Massachusetts in 1692. Attempts to give an understanding of the political, psychological, and religious background of the trials and of the consequences of this episode on American history. DVD 8391.

Attila 1974: a testimony on film. World class cinema collection.1974. 1 videodisc (101 min.). This documentary captures a timeless instance of the fate of the tiny country disregarded in the maneuverings of a major power preoccupied with different and richer stakes. It captures the Turkish invasion of Cyprus in July 1974. Includes an epilogue entitled "25 years later ..." HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11963.
 

Turn: Washington’s spies. The complete first season. 2014. 3 videodiscs (452 min.). A historical thriller set during the Revolutionary War. Abe Woodhull is a farmer living in British-occupied Long Island who bands together with his friends to from the Culper Ring, an unlikely team of secret agents who not only went on to help George Washington turn the tide of the war, but also gave birth to modern spycraft. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12039.
 

Verdun: looking at history. 2006. 1 videodisc (151 min). The German troops are entering the Meuse. The alert has been given. The French soldier calmly awaits the shock. All the villages have been evacuated; wives have been torn apart from their husbands, who stay to defend the land the old farmer won’t abandon. The German offensive takes place on February 21st, 1916. Following intense bombing from 7:15 am to 5 pm, flocks of German soldiers dash through the bois des Caures. In order to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the end of World War I, Léon Poirier recreated the battle of Verdun and inscribed in history the lives of symbolic characters from both sides of the front. Verdun, looking at history was edited in three distinct parts and is an epic film of great emotional strength dedicated to all the martyrs of the ugliest human passion that is war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11772.
 

When I saw you. 2012. 1 videodisc (98 min.). In Jordan, in 1967, tens of thousands of refugees pour across the border from Palestine. Separated from his father in the chaos of war, Tarek, eleven, and his mother Ghaydaa are placed in a temporary refugee camp, where they wait, like the generation before them in 1948. Seeking to escape the difficulties of camp life, Tarek₂s free spirit and curious nature lead him to a group of people on a journey that will change their lives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11654.