Skip to main content

Filmography - New Acquisitions: May 2014 - July 2015: Literature A-H

These are select lists from the DVDs purchased by Media Services in the last year.

Literature - New acquisitions May 2014 - July 2015

Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.

Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

May 2014 - July 2015 Additions

 

1984. 1954  1 videodisc (ca. 107 min.) Based on George Orwell’s novel of a totalitarian future society in which a man whose daily work is rewriting history tries to rebel by falling in love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4021.
 

21 Years: Richard Linklater. 2014. 1 videodisc (79 min.). A spirited look at the first 21 years of writer/director Richard Linklater’s remarkable career, featuring interviews with collaborators Matthew McConaughey, Ethan Hawke, Julie Delpy, Billy Bob Thornton, Keanu Reeves, Jack Black, and more. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11969
 

3 films by Roberto Rossellini starring Ingrid Bergman. 1950, 1952, 1954. 4 videodiscs (305 min.). Stromboli. After World War II, a Lithuanian refugee marries a simple Italian fisherman she meets in a prisoner of war camp and accompanies him back to his isolated village on an island off the coast of Sicily. Cut off from the world, she finds herself crumbling emotionally, but she is destined for a dramatic epiphany. Europe ’51. Ingrid Bergman plays a wealthy, self-absorbed Rome socialite racked by guilt over the shocking death of her young son. As a way of dealing with her grief and finding meaning in her life, she decides to devote her time and money to the city’s poor and sick. Her newfound, single-minded activism leads to conflicts with her husband and questions about her sanity. Journey to Italy. Among the most influential films of the postwar era, Robert Rossellini’s Journey to Italy charges the declining marriage of a couple from England on a trip in the countryside near Naples. More than just the anatomy of a relationship, Rossellini’s masterpiece is a heartrending work of emotion and spirituality. BLU 11972 - 11974

30 Rock: Season 5 – 7 Originally broadcast on NBC television during the 2010-2013. 8 videodiscs (1206 min.). In this behind-the-scenes romp about sketch show TGS, corporate executive Jack Donaghy, TGS neurotic stars, a hapless NBC page, and the rest of the befuddled crew work to create the ’magic of television.’ Brought to you by the folks at GE Kabletown, it’s a season of video obituaries, cross-dressing love, page showdowns, Canadian births, and other strange events. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14315 – 14317.
 

84 Charing Cross Road. 1986 1 videodisc (100 min.). Helene Hanff is a New Yorker who loves books but cannot afford expensive ones. When she sees an ad in the Saturday Review for a London bookstore, she sends them her want list and is soon delighted to receive a package of used books - good readable editions, cheap. She begins a correspondence with the bookseller, Frank Doel. Built on a basis of mutually held taste, knowledge, interests and consideration, the bond between the lonely New Yorker and the reserved Londoner lasts for years without the two people ever meeting each other. Based on a true story and the long running play. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7612.
 

99 River Street. Metro Goldwyn Mayer limited edition collection. 1953  1 videodisc (83 min.). Having lost his heavyweight championship match, boxer Ernie Driscoll now drives a taxi for a living and earns the scorn of his nagging wife, Pauline, who blames him for her lack of social status. Involved with jewel thief Victor Rawlins, Pauline is murdered by him when she impedes his ability to fence the jewels. Blamed for his wife’s murder, Ernie must track down Rawlins before he leaves the country. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4014.
 

A girl walks home alone at night. 2014. 1 videodisc (100 min.).   The first Iranian Vampire Western ever made. A joyful mash up of genre, archetype, and iconography, its prolific influences span spaghetti westerns, graphic novels, horror films and the Iranian New Wave. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12209.
 

A kiss before dying. 1956. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Troubled by the death of her twin sister, a young woman unwittingly falls in love with an ambitious man. As she investigates her sister’s death, she discovers that what she doesn’t know about her boyfriend may kill her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11800.
 

A most wanted man. 2014. 1 videodisc (121 min.). "German intelligence agent Gunther Bachmann (Philip Seymour Hoffman, in his final starring role) must race against time to solve a perilous mystery: Is the half-Chechen, half-Russian Muslim who’s surfaced in Hamburg a victim seeking refuge, or a terrorist seeking revenge?"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11586
 

Abuse of weakness. 2013. 1 videodisc (105 min.). The film is an exploration of power and sex. Maud is a strong-willed filmmaker who suffers a stroke. Bedridden but determined to pursue her latest film project, she sees Vilko, a con man who swindles celebrities, on a TV talk show. Interested in him for her new film, the two meet and Maud soon finds herself falling for Vilko’s manipulative charm as their parasitic relationship hurtles out of control. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11676.
 

Alexander Dumas’ The three musketeers.1921. 1 videodisc (119 min.). D’Artagnan, an aspiring musketeer, joins the three musketeers as they embark on a race across France to save the queen’s honor. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11798.
 

Altiplano. 2010. 1 videodisc (106 min.). "High in the breathtaking, majestic Andes of Peru, silent but deadly traces of mercury -- remnants of long-ago silver mining -- bring illness and death to a local village. Seeking retribution, the villagers mistakenly attribute the outbreak to Western doctors who work in the mountains. Two women -- the fiance of a villager killed in the accident and the wife of a doctor murdered in the riot -- are brought together in this haunting yet ravishingly beautiful film about our divided yet inextricably intertwined world."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5221.
 

American beauty. 2000. 1 videodisc (122 min.). An emotionally & spiritually comatose suburban man decides "to hell with it all" and reverts to living as he did when he was happiest--as a carefree teenager. His desperately uptight wife and sullen daughter can only look on as he quits his corporate job to become a burger flipper, starts getting high with a strange new neighbor (whose parents are even stranger) and lusts after a pouty blonde teenager--his daughter’s best friend. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1674.
 

Arabesque. 1966. 1 videodisc (106 min.). A romantic thriller about an Oxford professor who is hired by a mysterious Arab oil magnate to decipher a secret message and befriends his exotic companion. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11846.
 

Bastards. 2014. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Following his brother-in-law’s suicide, sea captain Marco goes AWOL to rescue his estranged sister and teenaged niece from a powerful, wealthy businessman, who just so happens to be his lover’s husband. But Marco’s attempt at heroism is soon thwarted as he delves further into the hellish world his sister has involved herself in, and the deception from those he trusted most. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4023.
 

Bells are ringing. 1960. 1 videodisc (126 min.).    A switchboard operator gets caught up in the personal lives of the clients of an answering service, including that of a playboy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11927.
 

Beloved infidel = Un Matin comme les autre. 1959. 1 videodisc (117 minutes, 58 seconds). PAL Region 2. Dramatization of the last years of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s life and his love affair with Hollywood gossip columnist Sheilah Graham. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7858
 

Betrayed. 2010. 1 videodisc (67 min.). A new bride’s former beau provides a strong shoulder to lean on when his ex suspects the mysterious man she married may be a killer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8459.
 

Better off Ted. Season two. 2014. 2 videodiscs (285 min.). Ted Crisp, head of research and development, navigates through the professionals and personnel politics of life within the large, soul-less Veridian Dynamics. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11590
 

Betty Boop : the essential collection. Vol. 4. 2014. 1 videodisc (81 min.). Regarded as one of the first and most famous sex symbols on the animated screen; she was a symbol of the Depression era and a reminder of the more carefree days of the Roaring Twenties. The queen of the animated screen returns to allure and entice audiences all over again in this volume-four compilation featuring many of her greatest adventures. Including thirteen animated short films produced by Max Fleischer and directed by Dave Fleischer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8065.

Snowpiercer. 2014. 2 videodiscs (126 min.). The film is set in the future (AD 2031) where, after a failed experiment to stop global warming, an ice age kills off all life on the planet except for the inhabitants of the Snowpiercer, a train that travels around the globe and is powered by a sacred perpetual-motion engine. Its inhabitants are divided by class; the lower-class passengers in one of the last cars stage an uprising, moving car by car up to the front of the train, where the oppressive rich and powerful ride. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11486.
 

Betty Boop. The essential collection volume 3. 2014. 1 videodisc (81 min.). Regarded as one of the first and most famous sex symbols on the animated screen, Betty Boop was a symbol of the Depression era and a reminder of the more carefree days of the Roaring Twenties. Her popularity was drawn larger from adult audiences and the cartoons, while seemingly surreal, contained many sexual and psychological elements. Features twelve re-mastered episodes from over four thousand scans of the original negatives and finegrains. Minnie the Moocher / music, Cab Calloway and his Orchestra (7:53 ; 1932) -- I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead You Rascal You / music, Louis Armstrong and his Orchestra (7:10 ; 1932) -- Mother Goose Land (6:48 ; 1933) -- The Old Man of the Mountain / music, Cab Calloway and his Orchestra (6:55 ; 1933) -- I Heard / music, Don Redman and his Orchestra (7:17 ; 1933) -- Ha! Ha! Ha! (6:24 ; 1934) -- Stop That Noise (6:10 ; 1935) -- Service With a Smile (7:16 ; 1937) -- The New Deal Show (6:52 ; 1937) -- Be Up To Date (6:05 ; 1938) -- Out Of The Inkwell (5:49 ; 1938) -- Thrills and Chills (5:39 ; 1933). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8064.
 

Bicentennial man. 1999. 1 videodisc (ca. 131 min.). A comedy about an android "household appliance" robot who just wants to be a regular guy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6407.
 

Black angel. Universal noir collection 1946  1 videodisc (80 min.). A woman tries to clear the name of her husband, accused of murdering his lover. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4024.
 

Blue, white, red: three colors. 1994. 4 videodiscs (288 min.). "A bold trio of stories about love and loss ... [that] was a defining event of the art-house boom of the 90s. The films are named for the colors of the French flag and stand for the tenets of the French Revolution: liberty, equality, and fraternity--but that hardly explains their enigmatic beauty and rich humanity. Set in Paris, Warsaw, and Geneva, and ranging from tragedy to comedy, Blue, White, and Red ... examine a group of ambiguously interconnected people experiencing profound personal disruptions"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2137-2139.
 

Boardwalk Empire: Season 5. 2016. 3 videodiscs (approximately 480 minutes). Concluding a powerful and groundbreaking five-season run, "Boardwalk Empire" is an Emmy-winning HBO drama series from Academy Award nominee/Emmy Award winner Terence Winter and Academy Award-winning director Martin Scorsese. Season 5 begins in 1931, a full six years after the end of Season 4. In stark contrast with the Roaring ’20s, the country is in the throes of the Great Depression, and with the end of Prohibition in sight, Nucky is looking to legitimize himself by forging alliances with liquor producers. Season 5 also includes flashback scenes of Nucky, Eli, the Commodore, Gillian and others from 1884-1900 - childhood experiences that would shape their relationships and their futures. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9425
 

Brighton rock. 1948. 1 videodisc (92 minutes). A teenage gangster commits a murder and marries a waitress to cover his tracks. He later decides to get rid of her, but fate takes a hand in his murder plot. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11801.
 

Buck Rogers: 70th anniversary. 1939  2 videodiscs (241 min.). In this 12-chapter science fiction serial, scientists bring Buck Rogers and young Buddy Wade back to life following 500 years in suspended animation. They awaken in the year 2500 A.D. to find Earth ruled by Killer Kane and his super gangsters. Buck and Buddy solicit the help of the planet Saturn to rid the universe of Kane, and the intergalactic battles begin. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11324.
 

Casino Royale. 1967. 1 videodisc (137 min.). Sir James Bond is persuaded to rejoin Her Majesty’s secret service and head an operation to smash SMERSH. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7869.
 

Caught. 1949  1 videodisc (88 min.). A tale of Leonora, an aspiring carhop who meets and marries a mysterious millionaire, Smith Ohlrig. Soon after the wedding, Laura realizes she’s trapped in a loveless marriage with a ruthless workaholic husband who torments her with twisted mind games. Unable to obtain a divorce from Smith, she moves out of the mansion and goes to work for a dedicated doctor, Larry Quinada. The two quickly fall in love but the romance comes to an abrupt halt when Leonora learns that she is pregnant. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8456.
 

Cléo de 5 à 7 = Cléo from 5 to 7. The Criterion collection ; 73. 1961 1 videodisc (89 min.). "Agnáes Varda eloquently captures Paris in the sixties with this real-time portrait of a singer (Corinne Marchand) set adrift in the city as she awaits test results of a biopsy. A chronicle of the minutes of one woman’s life, Clâeo from 5 to 7 is a spirited mix of vivid vâeritâe and melodrama, featuring a score by Michel Legrand (The Umbrellas of Cherbourg) and cameos by Jean-Luc Godard and Anna Karina."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4151.
 

Colorado territory. 1949. 1 videodisc (94 min.). A western remake of the 1941 film noir High Sierra. Joel McCrea plays veteran outlaw Wes McQueen (Humphrey Bogart in the original) who escapes from jail and hopes to pull off one last big train robbery. McQueen doesn’t care for his new partners -- except perhaps Colorado Carson (Virginia Mayo), a dance-hall girl who may be the only person who genuinely cares about his well-being. McQueen, meanwhile, also has eyes for Julie Ann (Dorothy Malone), who is newly arrived from the east and setting up a new farm with her father. With a $10,000 reward on his head, McQueen makes a futile bid for escape to the mountains, with tragic consequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11783.
 

Come back, Africa. The Milestone Cinematheque. The Films of Lionel Rogosin ; volume II. 2014. 2 videodiscs (341 min.). In 1957, Rogosin travelled to South Africa and created a powerfully, moving drama exposing the harsh reality of life under the system apartheid. Filmed secretly under the noses of the feared South African police, Rogosin, his crew, and cast risked arrest and deportation. Miriam Makeba was banned from her country after travelling to Venice for the movie’s premiere. The scenes shot in the vibrant black ghetto of Sophiatown are precious images of a lost world. Rogosin took the fight for equality to his homeland with Black roots, his documentary on African American life. The extraordinary cast, including Reverend Frederick Douglass Kirkpatrick, attorney and feminist activist Florynce "Flo" Kennedy, musicians Jim Collier, Wende [i.e. Wendy] Smith, Larry Johnson and Reverend Gary Davis, tell stories of heartbreak and despair while their songs blow the roof off the rafters. The film combines tales of oppression with hauntingly beautiful images of the faces of black men, women and children. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11966.
 

Commitment. 2013. 1 videodisc (113 min.). The highly educated son of an ex-North Korean agent is tasked to kill North Korean spies hiding in Seoul to save his kidnapped younger sister. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11978.
 

Complete Jacques Tati. (2014). 12 videodiscs (approximately 599 min.). Jour de fête: In this enchanting debut feature, Jacques Tati stars as a fussbudget of a postman who is thrown for a loop when a traveling fair comes to his village. Monsieur Hulot’s holiday: Monsieur Hulot takes a holiday, at a seaside resort, where his presence provokes one catastrophe after another. Mon oncle: A supremely amusing satire of mechanized living and consumer society. Playtime: A nearly wordless comedy about confusion in an age of high technology. Trafic: The bumbling Monsieur Hulot, outfitted with tan raincoat, beaten brown hat, and umbrella, takes to Paris’s highways and byways. Parade: The director himself serves as master of ceremonies at a circus. Focusing on the spectators, this stripped down work is a testament to the communion betwen audience and entertainment. Tati shorts: The charming short films directed by Jacques Tati. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11813 – 11819
 

Confession of murder. 2012. 1 videodisc (120 min.). In a city where murder has a statute of limitations, obsessed detective Choi learns the brutal killer who eluded him years ago has come forward taking credit for the crimes. Can justice be served? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11977.
 

Cotton comes to Harlem; Hell up in Harlem. MGM DVD. 2009. 2 videodiscs (190 min.). Contains two feature films including "Cotton Comes to Harlem," about a couple of detectives who investigate a minister’s charity campaign; and "Hell Up in Harlem," about a man who is hunted by the mob after he discovers a ledger with the names of every crooked police officer and public official on the mob’s payroll. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11770.
 

Creature from the Black Lagoon. Classic monster collection. 1954. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 20 min.). In the upper reaches of the Amazon River, a scientific team discovers an amphibious creature, a living missing link. The creature is captured and falls in love with the female assistant of the leader of the research team. The lonely creature kidnaps her, and the scientist mounts an effort to reclaim his sweetheart and return the creature to his watery home. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11706.
 

Crimes and misdemeanors. Contemporary classics. 1989  1 videodisc (104 min.). Weaving together several different stories about people’s lives, loves, perceptions, and ideals, this examines some of the toughest questions surrounding human nature. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1648.
 

Cry danger. 1951  1 videodisc (79 min.). Rocky is an innocent man released from prison. He’s on the hunt for the people who framed him. Delong is a disabled veteran who produced the evidence that led to Rocky’s release. He now wants part of the $100,000 in exchange for his help. However, after serving five years of a life-sentence for a crime he didn’t commit, Rocky has a different plan. He wants to bring the real crooks to justice and clear the name of his friend Danny Morgan, who’s unjustly serving time for the same crime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7610.
 

Cry of the city. Cinema archives. 1948  1 videodisc (95 min.). A police detective doggedly pursues a cop-killing gangster, whose devotion to his girlfriend could prove his downfall. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6567.

Follow me quietly. 1949  1 videodisc (59 min.). The story of a cop on the trail of an elusive serial killer who strikes when darkness and rain fall. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6564.
 

Dao huo xian = Flashpoint. 2007  1 videodisc (88 min.). A detective is about to close in on a gang of three brothers that are wreaking havoc in the streets. Time is of the essence as the witnesses start dying off one by one, and his partner is next on the list! Special features include: deleted scenes, featurettes, and trailers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6588.
 

Darling. 1965. 1 videodisc (127 min.). A London photographer’s model proceeds from an immature marriage into a series of shady affairs--first with a television talker, then with a slick promotion man, and ultimately in a palazzo as the loveless wife of an Italian prince. After becoming a prisoner of her own success through these disastrous affairs, she realizes the awful price she has paid for happiness. This is a slashing social satire and a devastating spoof of the television-advertising age. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11702.
 

Das cabinet des Dr. Caligari = The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari. (4K restoration scanned from the (mostly) preserved camera negative at the German Federal Film Archive.). 1920. 1 videodisc (77 min.). Two men on a park bench discuss the story of Cesare, a sleep-walking circus performer under the control of the murderous Dr. Caligari. But all, of course, is not quite as it seems. DVD 3942
 

Donovan’s reef. Widescreen DVD collection. 1963  1 videodisc (108 min.). A straight-laced Bostonian comes searching for her father, a brawling ex-Navy man living on a South Pacific island. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4012.
 

Douglas Sirk: filmmaker collection. Originally released as motion pictures from 1951-1958. 4 videodiscs (92 min.). Thunder on the hill: Convicted murderess Valerie Carns (Ann Blyth) is being transported to Norwich to be executed when a flood strands her and her guards at a convent hospital. Nurse Sister Mary (Claudette Colbert) becomes convinced of her innocence and sets out to find the real killer. Taza, son of Cochise: The two sons of Apache leader Cochise (Jeff Chandler) have conflicting views of the white men who trepass on their land; Taza (Rock Hudson) argues for peaceful co-existence but his younger brother Naiche (Bart Roberts) joins Geronimo on the warpath Captain Lightfoot: A pair of Irish rebels have swashbuckling adventures in 1815. The tarnished angels: Story of a friendship between an eccentric journalist and a daredevil barnstorming pilot. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6436 – 6439
 

Downton Abbey. Season 5. 2015. 3 videodiscs (approximately 8.75 hours). As Season Five begins in 1924, the radio is the latest miracle, a new Labour government heralds changes through the land, and Downton’s traditional ways are besieged on all fronts. Robert, Mary, and Branson must navigate these shifting sands together to ensure the future of the estate for generations to come. As Branson finds himself playing a more crucial role at Downton than ever before, he can’t help but question his place in the world. Mary is finally coming to accept that she would like to marry again, but will she ever be able to find the same happiness that she had with Matthew? And with no news of her beloved Gregson, Edith suffers under the burden of her terrible secret. Downstairs, all of the servants must consider what effect social changes may have on their working lives. No one, Mr. Carson to Daisy, will be left unaffected. The Crawley family and the servants who work for them remain inseparably intertwined as they rise to meet the new challenges of the day. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8395.
 

Dragnet 1967. Universal classic television. 2010. 2 videodiscs (ca. 432 min.). Jack Webb stars as tough-as-nails Sergeant Joe Friday who, along with his partner, Officer Bill Gannon, are on the beat tracking down clues, criminals, and corporate corruption in Los Angeles. Includes 17 episodes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11716.
 

El Dorado. 1967. 1 videodisc (126 min.). A sheriff fights cattlemen and empire builders as he tries to tame the West. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11701.
 

El Santos vs la Tetona Mendoza. Cinema grande. 2012. 1 videodisc. This animated comedy follows the story of a wrestler who calls himself El Santos, whose recent divorce from a fierce lady wrestler named La Tetona Mendoza is still bothering him. He begins a plan to help support a zombie invasion, but when Tetona joins the resistance to stop the zombies, El Santos finds himself in a bigger struggle than divorce court. - Cammila Collar. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12257.
 

Entertaining Mr. Sloane. 1970. 1 videodisc (90 min.). "Kath, a well matured blond vaguely mourning her long-dead lover stumbles across a handsome stranger, Mr Sloane in a graveyard. Eying him lustfully, she offers to rent him a room in the mini Gothic house which she shares with her father "the Dadda" Kemp. The only cloud in Kath’s potential idyll is her brother Ed, who also falls under the spell of Mr Sloane. Soon both Kath and Ed are competing for his favor but when he starts playing them off each other, things soon turn nasty and Mr Sloane finds himself in a very compromising position"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12074.
 

Eraserhead. 1977.  2 videodiscs (89 min.). An obscure man with a vertical head of hair is living with his spaced-out girlfriend and their fetus-like child. By the end of the film, Henry is decapitated and processed into erasers in this bizarre horror film which closely approaches a nightmare. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1491.
 

Evergreen : the road to legalization. 2014. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Many advocates of marijuana legalization actually oppose Initiative 502, the law that will permit growing, sale, and use of cannabis, because it may impose harsh DUI laws and new taxes that could hurt medicinal marijuana patients and providers. This unexpected political clash exposes the economic and human impact of an already controversial subject. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6752.
 

Fanfan La Tulipe. 1952. 1 videodisc (99 min.). Charming rogue Fanfan flits from one adventure to the other after evading marriage by joining the army in the midst of the Seven Years’ War. He’s motivated less by patriotism than by a consultation with Adeline, a voluptuous phony fortuneteller who promises that he will find glory in the army, even win the hand of King Louis XV’s daughter. Herself the daughter of a recruiting sergeant, Adeline is a charlatan, but the irrepressible Fanfan sets about fulfilling his "destiny," even as his would-be soothsayer finds herself falling in love with him. Flirting and fighting, trouble reliably finds Fanfan, who just as reliably evades it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11970
 

Fargo. The complete first season.  2014. 4 videodiscs (541 min.). The Coen Brothers Best Picture Oscar Nominee transforms into the season’s most talked about TV debut. It features a new "true crime" story and new characters, all chilled in the trademark dry wit, murderous mayhem and "Minnesota nice" of the original classic film. Lorne Malvo, is a manipulative master criminal who changes the life of insurance salesmen Lester Nygaard. Gus Grimly and Molly Solverson are the small-town police officers who join forces to uncover Lester’s secrets. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11556.
 

Faust. 2011. 1 videodisc (132 min.). Heinrich Faust desires enlightenment. He seeks to understand the very nature of life and how the world goes round. Driven by his thirst for knowledge, he unearths corpses and rummages in their guts in search of the soul. He soon meets the racketeer Mauricius, who takes him to the twilight zones of their small town. In a bath house, his attention is caught by the young Margarete, also known as "Gretchen". Later, the two new friends are entangled in a pub brawl, during which Faust accidentally kills Gretchen’s brother. Faust becomes obsessed with Gretchen, who seems to embody the beauty of blooming life. He indulges himself in thinking that studying her would be reasonable as a part of his research about what makes all the difference between life and death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11605.
 

Fear in the night. 1947  1 videodisc (70 min.). A man suffering from a strange nightmare discovers he has been hypnotized into commiting a murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7613.
 

Fellini Satyricon 1969. 1 videodisc (129 min.). Fellini recreates the bawdy and lecherous days of Nero’s reign in ancient Rome and its lack of concern with human dignity and obsession with perverse sex. The film is also an allegorical satire of the self-indulgence of modern society. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2584
 

Fido. 2006. 1 videodisc (92 min.). Timmy’s best friend in the whole world is a six-foot tall rotting zombie named Fido. When Fido eats the next-door neighbor, Mom and Dad hit the roof, and Timmy has to go to the ends of the Earth to keep Fido a part of the family. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12202.
 

Fifi howls from happiness. 2013. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Mitra Farahani’s lyrical documentary explores the enigma of provocative artist Bahman Mohassess, the so-called "Persian Picasso," whose acclaimed paintings and sculptures dominated pre-revolutionary Iran. Irreverent and uncompromising, a gay man in a hostile world, Mohassess had a conflicted relationship with his homeland -revered by elites in the art scene and praised as a national icon, only to be censored later by an oppressive regime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11833.
 

Firaaq = Firaq. 2008. 1 videodisc (101 min.). In the midst of the 2002 riots between the Hindus and the Muslims in Gujarat, the lives of people from different walks of life are all tested, from a couple desperately trying to decide whether or not to stay in their home, to a woman who must deal with the guilt of sending someone away, to a group of men bent on revenge. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7864
 

Fish tank. 2010. 1 videodisc (122 min.). 15-year old Mia is a foul-mouthed, belligerent teen living on an Essex estate [public housing] with her mother Joanne and precocious little sister Tyler. She has been excluded from school and is awaiting admission to a referrals unit, spending her days aimlessly. Her only escape--besides smoking, drinking an occasional swiped bottle of booze, and fist fighting with the neighbor girls--is hip-hop dancing, which she practices in an abandoned apartment and hopes to someday turn into a living. Then Joanne brings home handsome, extroverted new boyfriend Connor, and he and Mia strike up a tentative friendship. He even encourages her one interest, dancing. What could go wrong? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11570.
 

For whom the bell tolls. 1943. 1 videodisc (2 hrs., 46 min.). "The story of Robert Jordan (Cooper), an American demolition expert who lends his abilities to the anti-fascist freedom fighters of Spain. Assisting him is a band of warriors that includes the strong-willed Pilar (Katina Paxinou), the dangerously undependable Pablo (Akim Tamiroff), and the lovely, innocent Maria (Bergman). As danger mounts, Robert and Maria develop a closeness that blossoms into one of the screen’s greatest love stories."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11845.
 

Force majeure. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 119 minutes). An idyllic family skiing vacation takes a stunning turn when an avalanche threatens the ski lodge restaurant, sending people fleeing and demanding quick decisions that change the course of the family dynamics and trust. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11805.
 

Foreign correspondent. The Criterion collection  1940  2 videodiscs (120 min.). A full-throttle espionage thriller, starring Joel McCrea as a green Yank reporter sent to Europe to get the scoop on the imminent war. It’s wall-to-wall witty repartee, head-spinning plot twists, and brilliantly mounted suspense set pieces, including an ocean plane crash climax with astonishing special effects. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 3523.

Fox western classics. Cinema classics collection. 2008. 3 videodiscs (272 min.). The gunfighter: In this noir-influenced Western, Gregory Peck stars as an aging gunslinger, sick of killing but haunted by punks wanting to make a name for themselves by slaying a legend. After being warned by his old friend the Sheriff, Peck decides to return East to see his estranged wife and the child he left behind. Knowing his death is an inevitability if he stays, Peck leaves but before he can reach his destination his past catches up with him in the form of a young outlaw. Rawhide: Tyrone Power stars as Tom Owens, the assistant manager of a remote stagecoach way station. A coach arrives, bearing Vinnie Holt (Susan Hayward), who carries her baby niece in her arms. Having learned that an outlaw gang is in the vicinity, Owens advises Vinnie to hold up at the station until the next day. Shortly thereafter, the gang arrives and kills stationmaster Sam Todd (Edgar Buchanan). Outlaw leader Zimmerman (Hugh Marlowe), assuming that Owens and Vinnie are the baby’s parents, decides not to kill them as well but to hold them prisoner while he and his men await the arrival of a gold shipment. Tension mounts as the relatively civilized Zimmerman argues with his psychotic henchman Tevis (Jack Elam) over the fate of the "married couple." Meanwhile, Owens tries to think up an escape plan for himself, Vinnie and the child. Garden of Evil: Gary Cooper, Richard Widmark and Cameron Mitchell portray three somewhat disreputable 19th-century soldiers of fortune, en route to California to prospect for gold. Stopping over in a tiny Mexican village, the three men are hired by Susan Hayward to rescue her husband, who is trapped in a gold mine in hostile Indian territory. The threesome agree to the expedition, their interest piqued by the possibility of picking up some gold themselves. During the harrowing journey, the party’s already frayed nerves are aggravated when the men become attracted to Hayward. The group arrives at the mine’s location--the Garden of Evil, so named because the Indians regard it as the domain of evil spirits. During the escape, Hayward’s husband (Hugh Marlowe) is killed by the Indians, as is Mitchell. Cooper and Widmark play cards to decide who will take Hayward to safety and who will cover them while they flee. Cooper wins--but later discovers that Widmark had cheated in order to sacrifice himself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11953-11955.
 

Game of thrones. The complete fourth season. 2015. 5 videodiscs (approximately 545 min.). As the season begins, encouraged by the Red Wedding slaughter in the Riverlands that wiped out many of their Stark nemeses, the Lannisters’ hold on the Iron Throne remains intact. But can they survive their own egos as well as new and ongoing threats from the south, north and east? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10024.
 

Game of thrones. The complete second season. 2013. 5 videodiscs (550 min.). This new HBO Drama is set in a world where summers span decades and winters can last a lifetime. From the scheming south and the savage eastern lands, to the frozen north and the ancient wall that protects the realm from the mysterious darkness beyond, the powerful families of the Seven Kingdoms are locked in a battle for the Iron Throne. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10022.
 

Game of thrones. The complete third season. 2014. 5 videodiscs (approximately 555 minutes). In the third season of the HBO hit drama series Game of Thrones, the Lannisters barely hold on to the throne after a savage naval onslaught from Stannis Baratheon, while stirrings in the north threaten to alter the overall balance of power. Robb Stark, King in the North, faces major calamity in his efforts to build on his victories over the Lannisters while beyond the Wall, Mance Rayder and his huge army of wildlings continue their inexorable march south. Across the Narrow Sea, Daenerys Targaryen- reunited with her three fast-maturing dragons- attempts to raise an army to sail with her from Essos, in hopes of eventually claiming the Iron Throne. In Season 3 of this original series based on George R. R. Martin’s bestselling books, the battling families of Westeros continue to clash as bonds are strained, loyalties are tested, and cruel fates are met. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11023.
 

Gervaise. Essential art house. 1956  1 videodisc (117 min.). A story of mid-19th-century Parisian slums in which a young girl’s dreams of a happy home and a successful laundry are cruelly destroyed by a drunken husband. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4019.
 

Girls. The complete third season.2014. 2 videodiscs (360 min.). Hannah and Adam are now in a committed relationship and the two are settling into a newfound domesticity in Hannah’s apartment. Hannah is also working on her writing career and concentrating on delivering her eBook to her eccentric publisher. Marnie is adjusting to life after a sudden and traumatic breakup with Charlie. Nearing graduation, newly single Shoshanna masterminds a plan to create a healthy (at least on paper) balance between partying and her studies. And, continuing her streak of disrupting the lives of those around her, Jessa resurfaces and strikes up an ambiguous friendship with a flamboyant father figure. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10832.
 

Gloria. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 109 minutes). A story about a middle aged woman who gets caught up in a passionate whirlwind romance with a retired naval officer, whom she meets at a dance club for singles. But when she discovers the truth of their relationship, she takes matters into her own hands and sets forth to change her life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12258.
 

Gone girl. 2014. 1 videodisc (149 minutes). On the occasion of his fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne reports that his wife, Amy, has gone missing. Under pressure from the police and a growing media frenzy, Nick’s portrait of a blissful union begins to crumble. Soon his lies, deceits and strange behavior have everyone asking the same dark question. Did Nick Dunne kill his wife? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11712.
 

Grammar revolution. 2014. 1 videodisc (ca.80 min.). "Grammar Revolution will change the way you think about grammar. Join two former instructors as they explore grammar and grammar instruciton. Why is grammar a controversial subject? Why has it faded out of many schools? Hear from teachers, students, grammarians, CEOs, and linguists, and discover why grammar is an important subject that needs to be reconsidered, reconceived, and revived." -- Back of container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6617.
 

Heaven can wait. 1943. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Newly deceased playboy Henry Van Cleve arrives at the outer offices of Hades where he asks a bemused Satan for permission to enter the gates of Hell. Though the Devil doubts he will qualify, Henry proceeds to recount a lifetime wooing and pursuing women. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11740.
 

Her. 2014. 1 videodisc (126 min.). "Set in Los Angeles in the slight future, ... Theodore, a complex, soulful man ... makes his living writing touching personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive and unique entity in its own right. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha", a bright, female voice ... who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11340.
 

High School Confidential. 1958. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Fanning the flames of America’s growing paranoia, Jack Arnold directs the quintessential juvenile delinquency film, celebrating the very sex-drugs-and rock-n-roll culture it pretends to condemn. Tony Baker is the new kid at Santa Bellow High, whose cocky attitude and ambitious weed-dealing enable him to infiltrate the gang of local narcotics boss. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3365
 

High wall. 1947 1 videodisc (99 min.). "Steven Kenet (Robert Taylor) says he killed his wife, but even he doesn’t really know. ... So Kenet enters a psych ward where, the DA asserts, he’ll hide behind the wall of an insanity plea. But truth cannot hide. And Kenet - assisted by a ward doctor (Audrey Totter) - is driven to find the truth."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5225.
 

Hullabaloo over Georgie and Bonnie’s pictures.1978. 1 videodisc (83 min.). In India, a young Maharaja, Georgie, and his sister, Bonnie, possess a collection of Indian miniature paintings. Two art collectors try to scam the artwork out of the Maharaja’s hands while the collection’s curator works both sides against each other. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11808.
 

Huo long = Fire of conscience. 2011. 1 videodisc (107 min.). The investigation of a prostitute’s homicide brings headstrong, heavy-handed Detective Manfred into an unlikely collaboration with sly man-of-the-world Inspector Kee from the Narcotics Bureau. In the line of fire between high levels of corruption and possible malice, Manfred must solve all the twists and turns of a mystery of trying to figure out who his enemy is and how to save his innocent partner from unfathomable disgrace. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11967.