To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
A people uncounted : the untold story of the Roma. 2011. 1 videodisc (99 min.). Story of the Roma, commonly referred to as Gypsies, a people who have been both romanticized and vilified in popular culture. The Roma have endured centuries of intolerance and persecution in Europe, most notably the Holocaust genocide where an estimated 500,000 were murdered. A People Uncounted documents their culturally rich yet often difficult lives, and demonstrates how their present state has been deeply shaped by the tragedies of the past. Filmed in 11 countries and featuring dozens of Roma, including Holocaust survivors, historians, activists and musicians, A People Uncounted brings the Romani history to life through the rich interplay of their poetry, music, and compelling first hand accounts. As ethnic intolerance flares up across Europe, A People Uncounted sheds light on this unique culture while presenting the Roma tale as emblematic of the world’s legacy of racism and genocide. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6753.
Arabian nights. 1999. 1 videodisc (179 min.). A legendary heroine, Scheherazade, saves her kingdom and her own life by seducing her husband with the fantastical tales of Aladdin, Ali Baba, and other larger-than-life heroes, warriors and djinns. DVD 11604.
Beyond conviction. 2006. 1 videodisc (97 min.). This is a documentary on the story of three crime victims on an emotional journey toward healing and recovery. Beyond conviction follows participants in Pennsylvania’s "Mediation program for crimes of severe violence", (1998). The film provides a rare glimpse into the lingering pain and trauma for both victims and offenders and examines this bold effort to bring humanity into the criminal justice. DVD 11519.
Black coffee. 2008. 3 videodiscs (ca. 174 min.). A documentary series that traces the unique and volatile history of coffee: from its discovery on an ancient Ethiopian hillside to its role as a contemporary elixir, coffee has dominated and molded the economics, politics and social structure of entire countries. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11651.
Bloody Sunday. Widescreen DVD collection. 2002. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Recreation of the events of "Bloody Sunday", Jan. 30, 1972, when British troops fired on unarmed protesters in Derry, Northern Ireland. By the end of the day, 13 civilians were dead and 14 more wounded in the tumult and tragedy of Northern Ireland’s darkest day. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 561.
Blue helmets: the story of UN peacekeeping. 1990. 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). Presents a history of the United Nations peacekeeping forces. DVD 11344.
Carmen Miranda : bananas is my business. 1994. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Using archival footage, film fragments, interviews, and dramatic re-enactments, acclaimed director Helena Solberg goes behind-the-scenes to convey the true life story of the "Brazilian Bombshell," Carmen Miranda. DVD 8923.
Die fremde = When we leave. 2010. 1 videodisc (115 min.). A German-born woman flees from her oppressive marriage in Istanbul, taking her son with her. She hopes to find a better life with her family in Berlin, but her unexpected arrival creates intense conflicts. Her family is trapped in their conventions. They are torn between their love for her and the traditional values of their community, resulting in tragic consequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3371.
Et maintenant, on va où? = W halla’ la wayn = Where do we go now? 2012. 1 videodisc (102 min.). A group of Lebanese women try to ease religious tensions between Christians and Muslims in their village. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7116.
Five minutes of heaven. 2009. 1 videodisc (89 min.). In 1975, 17-year-old Irish-Protestant Alistair Little assassinated the 19-year-old Catholic, Jim Griffin in his Ulster home. The murder was witnessed by Joe, Griffin’s 11-year-old brother. Thirty years later, Alistair has been rehabilitated and released from prison, while Joe remains traumatized and bitter. When a television talk show decides to bring them together for a live on-air reconciliation, the two must come face-to-face with their own worlds of pain, violence and vengeance. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3631.
Food chains. 2014. 2 videodiscs (83 min.). A powerful true story of one small group of workers overcoming corporate greed to end slavery and abuse in America₂s fields. DVD 11775.
Frontline. Losing Iraq. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 90 min.). With Islamic extremists gaining ground in Iraq, and the Obama administration being pulled back into the conflict, this is a timely and late-breaking report on the crisis in Iraq. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3367.
Frontline. Secret state of North Korea. 2014. 1 videodisc (60 min.). "Just two years into the job and armed with nuclear weapons, North Korea’s Kim Jong-un is the world’s youngest dictator, ruling one of the world’s most isolated countries ... Using new footage smuggled from inside and never-before-told stories from recent defectors living in South Korea, the film offers a rare glimpse at how some North Koreans are defying authority in a country where just being caught with illegal DVDs could mean immediate imprisonment"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11363.
Girl rising. 2013. 1 videodisc (101 min.). "Nine unforgettable girls - striving beyond circumstance, pushing past limits - spotlighted in a film about the strength of the human spirit and the power of education to change the world. With stories by nine celebrated writers, voiced by nine renowned actresses ..., Girl Rising introduces Sokha, an orphan who rises from a Cambodian dump to become a star pupil; Suma, who writes music to endure forced servitude in Nepal; Ruksana, an Indian ’pavement-dweller’ whose father sacrifices his own needs for her dreams; and six other heroines. The girls are unique, but the obstacles they face are ubiquitous. Like the 66 million girls in the world who dream of going to school, what they want most is to be students. Now, by sharing their personal journeys, they have become teachers."-- HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11327.
God loves Uganda. 2013. 1 videodisc (83 min.). Examines the role played by the American evangelical movement and the International House of Prayer megachurch in the state-sanctioned persecution of homosexuals in Uganda. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5063.
Grigris. Film Movement series ; year 12, film 4. 2013. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Despite a paralyzed leg, Grigris, 25 year old, dreams of being a dancer. A challenge. But his dreams are dashed when his uncle falls critically ill. To save him, Grigris resolves to work for petrol traffickers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6746.
Hunger. The Criterion collection ; 504. 2008. 1 videodisc (96 min.). In Northern Ireland’s Maze prison in 1981, 27-year-old Irish Republican Army member Bobby Sands went on a hunger strike to protest the British government’s refusal to recognize him and his fellow IRA inmates as political prisoners. A transcendent depiction of what a human being is willing to endure in order to be heard. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7087.
Illégal. Film Movement series ; year 9, film 1. 2011. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Tania is a former teacher from Russia, living illegally in Belgium with her 14-year-old son, Ivan. One day, they are stopped on the street for a routine check by the police; Tania is arrested and placed in an immigration detention center for women, while Ivan manages to escape. Threatened with imminent deportation and fearful for Ivan’s fate, Tania embarks on a harrowing journey, determined to preserve her dignity and find her son. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3361.
Life and debt. 2001. 1 streaming video file (approximately 86 min.). This documentary examines the effects of World Bank and the International Monetary Fund loans on the infrastructure Jamaica established in the wake of independence from the UK in 1962. Seven billion in debt (circa 2000), Jamaica has seen its agricultural industries laid to waste by the impossibility of competing with subsidized, multi-national American based companies. The poverty of an "average" Jamaican in a shantytown near Kingston is in stark contrast to the luxurious tropical fantasy paradise experienced by tourists in posh Montego Bay. In a dog-eat-dog global economy, the US and its multinational corporate clients have all the advantages, while Jamaica has no agriculture, no industry, and no tax base--only ever-growing debt. Streaming video.
Love crimes of Kabul. 2011. 1 videodisc (ca. 71 min.). Love crimes of Kabul is an intimate portrait of three young Afghan women accused of committing "moral crimes" such as permarital sex and running away from home. Director Tanaz Eshaghian was granted rare access inside Badam Bagh Prison in Kabul, Afghanistan where we meet several of the women awaiting trial. Among these women are a 20-year-old who is pregnant after having premarital sex; a 23-year-old who ran away from a violent home; and an 18-year-old who fell in love with her neighbor and stands accused of sleeping with him. As we follow them from prison to trial, we discover the pressures and paradoxes that women in Afghanistan face today -- and the dangerous consequences when they refuse to fit in. -- container insert. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3360.
Manhunt. 2013. 1 videodisc (ca. 103 min.). "The May 1, 2011 raid on Abbottabad, Pakistan that culminated in the killing of Osama bin Laden took 40 minutes. The CIA’s hunt for binLaden took two decades. An official selection of the 2013 Sundance Festival, Manhunt tells the remarkable true story of the nearly 20-year pursuit of the world’s most notorious terrorist. Directed by Emmy-nominee Greg Barker, the film features testimony and recollections - some shared for the first time - from top CIA officers, many of them women, who labored to eliminate bin Laden’s terrorist organization and eventually the man himself. Based on the book ’Manhunt: The Ten-Year Search for Bin Laden - from 9/11 to Abbottabad’ by Peter Bergen, this documentary feature is a real-life spy thriller that reveals behind-the-scenes accounts from CIA analysts, targeters and operatives, who testify to the disagreements, frustrations, tragedies and triumphs that make up this fascinating yet painful chapter in American military and political history." -- from container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11599.
Manuscripts don’t burn. 2013. 1 videodisc (126 min.). Drawing from the true story of the Iranian government’s attempted murder of several prominent writers and intellectuals. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11746.
Maria’s story. PM video series ; 21. 1990. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). It is El Salvador, 1989, three years before the end of a brutal civil war that took 75,000 lives. Maria Serrano, wife, mother, and guerrilla leader is on the frontlines of the battle for her people and her country. With unprecedented access to FMLN guerrilla camps, the filmmakers dramatically chronicle Maria’s daily life in the war as she travels from village to village organizing the peasant population, and helps plan a major nationwide offensive that led the FMLN into the historic peace pact. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12079.
My brother the devil. 2012. 1 videodisc (111 min.). Rashid is a young man from a traditional Arab family who runs with a gang that rules the streets of Hackney. Rashid’s younger brother, Mo, idolizes his handsome, charismatic older brother and dreams of following in his footsteps. However, Rashid envisions a different life for Mo and insists that he stay away from gang life and stick to his studies. Headed on a collision course of conflicting desires, each young man is forced to face himself and confront the brother he thought he knew. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7981.
No fire zone.2013. 1 videodisc (93 min.). No Fire Zone is the definitive story of the final awful months of the 26-year long Sri Lankan civil war told by the people who lived through it. A chilling expose of some of the worst war crimes and crimes against humanity of recent time. DVD 12075.
Nombre secreto: Mariposas = Codename: Butterflies.2008. 1 videodisc (ca. 131 min.). Tells the story of the Mirabal sisters of the Dominican Republic. Under the secret name "Butterflies", they created a resistance movement against Rafael leonidas Trujillo. The documentary interweaves interviews with witnesses to their story, with dramatic recreations and archival footage. DVD 12051.
Nuclear nation.2012. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Examines the tragedy of the huge tsunami that crippled the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant in 2011. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3400.
Orangerevolution. 2007. 1 videodisc (106 min.). "Assembled from over 300 hours of original footage and archival material (some never before seen, even in Ukraine), and featuring penetrating interviews with key players, including Victor Yushchenko, this documentary chronicles the events of the Orange Revolution, the most successful non-violent political protest of the decade."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11433.
Parada = The parade. Global lens collection. 2011. 1 videodisc (116 min.). "A group of gay activists in Belgrade strikes a tense alliance with Limun, a Serbian crime boss, whose fiancée demands an extravagant wedding that only struggling gay theater director Mirko and his friends can provide. In exchange, macho Limun reluctantly agrees to provide security for the group’s Pride parade. It’s a tall order: previous attempts to march met with mass violence from right-wing skinheads. When Limun’s gang balks at the assignment, he recruits a band of former Balkan war combatants, now dear friends, who will stand up to the aggressors Seven Samurai style ..." -- HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3399.
Reagan. 2011. 1 videodisc (103 min.). "Follows the 40th president’s rise from small-town lifeguard to revered architect of the modern world. This definitive look at man and myth investigates how Reagan’s homespun political vision fueled a seismic career, one whose reverberations still shape American life"--Container. DVD 11436.
Rebelle = War witch. 2013. 1 DVD, NTSC (approximately 90 min.). A brutal yet poetic snapshot of life as one of Africa’s child soldiers, following a young girl who is kidnapped from her village by a group of rebel fighters. Forced to gun down members of her family and enemy soldiers, she takes solace in fellow soldier Magician, a young albino with whom she escapes and starts a new life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3370.
Rosewater. 2014. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 44 min.). Journalist Maziar Bahari is detained by Iranian forces who relentlessly interrogate him under suspicion that he is a spy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11829.
Saving face. 2012. 1 videodisc (40 min.). "Every year, hundreds of people are attacked with acid in Pakistan. The majority of these are women, who are left physically and emotionally scarred. Saving Face tells the stories of two acid-attack survivors: Zakia, a 39-year old whose husband threw acid on her after she filed for divorce, and Rukhsana, a 25-year-old whose husband and inlaws threw acid and gasoline on her, then set her on fire. Charting the arduous attempts to bring their assailants to justice, the film also follows plastic surgeon Dr. Mohammad Jawad, who put his London practice on hold to return to his home country to help Zakia, Rukhsana and other victims. Saving Face is a powerful look inside Pakistani society, illuminating each woman’s personal journey while showing how reformers are tackling this vexing problem though the passage of a new law that punishes convicted acid attackers with life imprisonment"--Publisher description. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6743.
Seeds of plenty, seeds of sorrow. Developing stories I, Environment and development. 1992. 1 videodisc (50 min.). Shows the effects of the once-vaunted Green Revolution in India. Instead of massive harvests of wheat, pesticide poisoning and fertilizer shortages have turned the revolution’s workers into a new serf class and created a bureaucratic nightmare. DVD 11637.
Sons of the clouds: the last colony = Los hijos de las nubes : la última colonia. 2012. 1 videodisc (82 min.). "This documentary brings to light the political and human rights issues facing the people of the Western Sahara and the responsibility of Western powers in the effort to restore peace to the region. The film examines the current political turmoil and the failed policies, namely realpolitik, which have generated tremendous instabilities. A personal journey for producer Javier Bardem, the film focuses on the bleak reality of the Western Sahara, a former Spanish colony that is now occupied, in part, by Morocco and has resulted in almost 200,000 refugees living in camps in the desert."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3355.
Syngué Sabour, pierre de patience = The patience stone. Sony Pictures Classics. 2012. 1 videodisc (approximately 102 minutes). Adapted from the best-selling novel by Atiq Rahimi. It tells a story of a young woman watching over her older husband, in a country torn apart by war. A bullet in the neck has reduced him to a comatose state. One day, the woman’s vigil changes. She begins to speak truth to her silent husband, telling him about her suffering, her dreams and her secrets. After years of living under his control, with no voice of her own, she says things she could never have spoken before. Her husband has unconsciously become syngué sabour (The Patience Stone)- a magical black stone that, according to Persian mythology, absorbs the plight of those who confide in it. The woman’s confessions are extraordinary and without restraint. But after weeks of looking after her husband, she begins to act, discovering herself in a relationship she starts with a young soldier. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3356.
Syria behind the lines. 2013. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). In the rural heartland of Syria’s countryside, the bloody uprising against President Bashar Al Assad has taken a terrifying turn. In this highly charged documentary, award-winning filmmaker Olly Lambert lives on both sides of Syria’s sectarian frontline, witnessing the devastating effect of a religious feud that, regardless of the outcome of the war, is shaping Syria’s future. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4022.
The Arabs now. The Arabs, a living history ; pt. 10. 1987. 1 videodisc (videodisc) (50 min.). Part 10 of a ten-part series of documentaries which explore Arab history, culture and society from within and through the lives and opinions of Arabs today. In this summarizing film Basim Musallam returns to the Arab world to ask questions that Arabs ask themselves, in order to allow the Western viewer to share those concerns. What effect will the educational explosion, huge labor migration and the revolution in communications have on one another within the Arab world and on the Western world? DVD 3364.
The dictator hunter. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 54 min.). Follow Reed Brody of Human Rights Watch over the course of two suspenseful years starting in 2004 as he travels through Africa, Europe, and the United States, trying to bring the former dictator of Chad, Hissène Habré, to justice for the charge of killing thousands of his own countrymen in the 1980s. The documentary also focuses on Chad’s victims, particularly Souleymane Guengueng, a political prisoner under Habré who is working both to rebuild his own life and to help bring Habré to justice. DVD 6434.
The Fidel Castro tapes : the story of the Cuban dictator’s turbulent leadership. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 60 min.). In 1959, Fidel Castro rose to power in Cuba. He has been one of the most controversial figures in the world ever since. This chronicles the Cuban leader’s ability to maintain control through ongoing tumult in his country, and in his dealings with the United States and the rest of the world. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3366.
The first grader.2011. 1 videodisc (103 min.). In Kenya in 1953 there was a violent uprising against British colonial rule led by the Mau Mau, who were mainly from the Kikuyu tribe. Thousands were killed, and thousands imprisoned, although the conflict did eventually lead to independence for Kenya. Based on a true story, this tells the tale of how 84-year-old Kenyan villager and ex-Mau Mau freedom fighter Kimani N’gan’ga Maruge fights for his right to go to school for the first time to get the education he could never afford. It is a triumphant testimony to the transforming force of education. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7115.
The football factor. 2005. 1 videodisc (88 min.). This film is an accurate, if brutal, look at the lives of a group of middle class thugs trying to fill a void in their otherwise dull and meaningless lives. Tommy is a thoughtful, introspective type, approaching 30. Although not averse to kicking a few heads in, he’s haunted by an ominous dream of karma catching up with him. The excitement and adrenalin of a Saturday afternoon punch up, however is hard to ignore, much less give up. When swaggering towards The Den, these men feel important and part of something, but as bad apples that refuse to grow up and get a life, they aren’t exactly examples to emulate. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8453.
In bed with the Arab Spring. 2012. 1 videodisc (approximately 54 minutes). Documentary film examining the role of women and sexuality in the revolutions of the Arab Spring, and in the clash between secularism and traditionalism in Arab countries. DVD 12060.
The Galapagos affair : Satan came to Eden. 2013. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Darwin meets Hitchcock in this true-crime tale of paradise found and lost. A extraordinary documentary portrait of a 1930s murder mystery as strange and alluring as the famous archipelago itself. Fleeing conventional society, a Berlin doctor and his mistress start a new life on uninhabited Floreana Island. But after the international press sensationalizes the exploits of the island’s ’Adam and Eve,’ others flock there, including a self-styled Swiss Family Robinson. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11611.
The green prince.2014. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Based upon the true story of the son of a Hamas leader who emerged as one of Israel’s prized informants, and the Shin Bet agent who risked his career to protect him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11763.
The Iran job. Film Movement series ; year 11, film 6. 2012. 1 videodisc (95 min.). At the height of international tension between America and Iran, Kevin Sheppard, an African-American basketball player accepts an offer to play professional basketball in Iran. What begins as a desire to "explore the unknown" ends in an emotional roller-coaster as he forms an unlikely alliance with three young Iranian women against the backdrop of revolutionary social upheaval in Iran. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4038.
The missing picture. 2013. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Explores filmmaker Rithy Panh’s quest to create the missing images during the period when the Khmer Rouge ruled over Cambodia between 1975 and 1979. The film uses wood figures, archival footage, and narration to recreate recount his firsthand experiences of his family and friends’ suffering during the communist regime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7602.
The supreme price. 2013. 1 videodisc (75 min.). " ... the remarkable story of Hafsat Abiola, daughter of human rights heroine Kudirat Abiola, and Nigeria’s President-elect M.K.O. Abiola, who won a historic vote in 1993 that promised to end years of military dictatorship. Shortly after the election, M.K.O. Abiola’s victory was annulled and he was arrested. While he was imprisoned, his wife Kudirat took over leadership of the pro-democracy movement, organizing strikes and rallies, winning international attention for the Nigerian struggle against human rights violations perpetrated by the military dictatorship. Because of this work, she too became a target and was assassinated in 1996. In this riveting political thriller, the Abiola family’s intimate story unfolds against the epic backdrop of Nigeria’s evolution from independence in 1960 ... through present day as Hafsat continues to face the challenge of transforming a corrupt culture of governance into a democracy capable of serving Nigeria’s most marginalized population: women"--Container. DVD 7604.
This is England.2006. 1 videodisc (98 min.). School is out for the summer and twelve-year-old Shaun is about to find a dangerous new group of friends. Having lost his father in the Fakland War, life has been lonely in this grim coastal town in northern England. But when Shaun meets the local skinheads, their companionship, and even their violence, appeal to Shaun’s hurt and rage. Combo is an older volatile skinhead whom Shaun finds to be like a big brother and under his leadership, the gang and young Shawn will arrive at an irreversible act of violence. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4409.
Triage. 2010. 1 videodisc (99 min.). After a traumatic near-death experience in Kurdistan, Mark, a battle-scarred war photographer, returns home without his friend and colleague David. As Mark struggles to recover, he reveals the shocking truth behind David’s disappearance. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7105.
Under African skies. 2012. 1 videodisc (approximately 120 min.). Paul Simon returns to South Africa to explore the journey of his seminal and beloved Graceland album, including the political backlash he received for allegedly breaking the UN cultural boycott of South Africa designed to end the Apartheid regime. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 6755.
Welcome. Film Movement series ; year 8, film 2. 2010. 1 videodisc (109 min.). A 17-year-old Kurdish refugee, Bilal, has struggled his way through Europe in an attempt to reunite with his girlfriend, who has emigrated to England. When he is stopped in France, he decides to swim the English Channel to complete his journey. While training at a local swimming pool he meets Simon, a middle-aged swim instructor, who agrees to help Bilal, in order to regain the affection of his wife. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6757.
Who is Dayani Cristal? 2013. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Tells the story of a migrant who found himself in the deadly stretch of desert known as "the corridor of death" and shows how one life becomes testimony to the tragic results of the U.S. war on immigration. As the real-life drama unfolds we see this John Doe, denied an identity at his point of death, become a living and breathing human being with an important life story. DVD 2804.