This is the "Environmental Studies Journals" page of the "Scholarly Journal Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Scholarly Journal Articles  

One can find scholarly journal articles in the many subfields of Internationall Studies by using these pages.
Last Updated: Jun 16, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.library.american.edu/sisarticles Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Environmental Studies Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Have a journal citation?

1. Type in the title of the article in the SearchBox and it will link to the full-text article if AU Library has it.

SearchBox

2. If you only have the journal title, the Find Journals link will tell you which AU database has the full text of the journal.

 

Search Tips

Boolean operators:

AND - use to narrow a search and get fewer and more relevant results.
elections and voters

OR - use to broaden a search and get more results. Good for synonyms and words with variant spellings. Add parentheses when using OR.
(latin america or argentina or colombia)
(organization or organisation)

NOT - use to narrow a search to get more relevant results
mexico not new mexico


Truncation:

Use to find words with different word endings.
e.g. immigrant* yields immigrant, immigrants
e.g. immigra* yields immigrant, immigrants, immigrate, immigration, immigrating, etc.

Truncation (or wildcard) symbols:

• Most databases use an asterisk (*).
• LexisNexis uses an exclamation mark (!).
• AU Library catalog and World News Connection use a question mark (?).
• iPolls & RoperExpress use a percentage sign (%).
• Ovid databases use dollar sign ($).


    Proximity search:

    Use to find words that are close to each other on a page.
    It is one way to find more relevant results.

    Each family of databases has its own command words.

    EBSCO:
    nnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    fundamental* n3 islam*

    Factiva:
    same=words in same paragraph
    sex trafficking same ngo*

    nearnumber=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    president* near3 speech

    HeinOnline
    ~number
    =words near each other in any order, within a certain number
    "watershed planning"~10

    LexisNexis:
    w/number=words within a specified number of words, in any order
    human rights w/2 violations

    w/s=words within the same sentence
    crime w/s (dc or district of columbia)

    w/p=words within the same paragraph
    gays w/p military

    ProQuest:
    near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    renewable energy near/5 viable

    Scopus
    w/number
    =words near another word in any order, within a certain number

    Web of Science:
    Web of Knowledge:
    Social Science Citation Index:
    MEDLINE:
    near/number=words near another word in any order, within a certain number
    government near/3 fund*

     

    Introduction

    The databases in this page provide the citation, abstract, and in some cases, the full text of journal and magazine articles, books, and dissertations. They are sorted by order of prominence and then alphabetically. 

    Use only articles from scholarly journals for literature reviews, not those from newspapers or magazines or technical reports.

    Environmental Studies Bibliographic Databases

    Africa Bibliographic Databases

    Although the following databases focus on Africa, almost all the databases on this page cover Africa. Unless listed as a "free resource," all the databases are restricted to AU-only icon.

    • Africa Bibliography  Icon
      The Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African Studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.
    • African Journals Online (free resource)  Icon
      Citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals from 2003 to present. Also links to the full text articles from open-access journals.
    • Index Islamicus
      Coverage: Publications from 1906 to present. Updated: Annually.
      Citations to over 3,000 journals and magazines in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and Muslim world. Also covers conference proceedings, books, and book chapters. Produced by the Library School of Oriental and African Studies, London.
    • Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (free resource)
      Coverage: Publications from 1991 to present. Updated: Every 4 months.
      Citations of articles from some 750 scholarly journals published in 29 African countries. Most of the articles indexed are in English with some articles in French and Portuguese.

    Latin America and the Caribbean Bibliographic Databases

    Although the following databases focus on the study of Latin America and Hispanic population, almost all the databases on this page cover Latin America. Unless listed as a "free resource," all the databases are restricted to AU-only icon.

    • Fuente Académica Premier  Icon  Icon
      Fuente Acadmica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
    • PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humansticas)  Icon
      Coverage: Publications from 1986 to present. Updated: Monthly.
      Citations and full text of more than 180 Spanish, Portuguese and English language scholarly journals devoted to the study of the social sciences and humanities in Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Covers the subject areas: Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology. Complements the database, Hispanic American Periodical Index.
    • Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
      Coverage: Publications from 1966 to present. Updated: Throughout the year.
      Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials published in more than 660 Spanish, English, Portuguese, French and German language social sciences and humanities journals. Covers articles of current political, economic, or social issues, and arts and letters of Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean basin, and Hispanic/Latino United States.
    • HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies (free resource)  
        
      Coverage: Publications from 1936 to most recent. Updated: Annually.
      AU Library has print copy vol. 1-63 (1936-2008). Call number: Ref F1408.03 .H3. The print copy has advantage of easy browsing.
      Citations and annotations to books and articles on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, it alternates annually between the social sciences and humanities...
     

    How to get the full text of articles

    American University users can obtain a copy of almost every published article or book in these databases.

    For AU Library databases, if the full-text article is not available, click on the button. Or use the Interlibrary Loan form. The article can be obtained through the Consortium Loan Service (2 business days) or Interlibrary Loan (longer than 2 days).

    Multidisciplinary Bibliographic Databases

    AU-only icon
    • Scopus
      Coverage: Publications from 1823 to present.
      Especially useful for writing literature reviews because one can sort results by times cited. Largest bibliographic database of peer review literature in the world. Provides citations and abstracts over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers.
    • Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)  Icon
      Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
      Coverage: Publications from 1983 to present. Updated: Weekly.
      Especially useful for writing literature reviews because one can sort results by times cited. Provides citations and abstracts to articles from about 2,500 leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
    • Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  Icon
      Typescripts from 1637 to present.
      Especially useful for writing literature reviews because of their extensive bibliography and literature review. Citations and abstracts to Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses from around the world. Includes the full text of most dissertations and theses from the U.S. and Canada from 1997 to present. Full text of selective earlier dissertations and theses are also available.
    • Google Scholar (AU version)
      Search engine for articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Searching is free, but links to full-text articles and books from the American University Library collections is restricted to American University users.
      Tip: To link to AU Library's online collection from Google when you are off campus, click "Scholar Preferences" and register with Google.
    • JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive  Icon  Icon
      Publications from 1st issue to a moving wall of up to 10 years.
      Full text of more than 1600 core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Excellent source for older (pre-1980s) articles. Tip: Do not search JSTOR unless you need articles from the 1970s or older, because almost every database listed on this page links to articles in JSTOR.
    • Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
      Provides citations of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and most other Western languages. Over 30% of the content indexed is from non-English scholarly titles.

    SearchBox

    SearchBox is a convenient tool that searches journal and magazine articles, books, videos and music in AU Library and the Washington Research Library Consortium. Learn more.

    SearchBox
        

      More Multidisciplinary Bibliographic Databases

      Use these databases if a comprehensive search is needed. They are not a good place to start one's research. AU-only icon

      • Academic Search Premier  Icon  Icon
        This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
      • ArticleFirst
        Publications from c.1960 to present. Updated: Daily.
        Citations to over 16,000 journals and magazines in the areas of business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social sciences and technology.
      • PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers)
        Publications from 1993 to present. Updated: Twice a month.
        Citations to every paper given in a congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
      • ProceedingsFirst
        Scholarly papers from 1993 to present. Updated: Twice a week.
        Presents a list of papers presented at each conference, congress, sympsium, exposition, workshop and meeting covered by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
      • Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals  Icon
        Publications from mostly 1970s to present.
        A collection of more than 450 journals from over 100 academic publishers.
      • ProQuest Central  Icon
        Publications from mostly 1970s to present.
        Citations and abstracts to articles in more than 4,070 scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. Nearly 2,800 of the titles have full text.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip