- American History in Video (North America)
A collection of more than 5,700 documentaries and newsreels on American history, each accompanied by a transcript. There are film clippings from as early as 1898. Includes newsreels from United News (1942 to 1946) and Universal (1929 to 1967). This database will be completed in December 2011. Transcripts of all programs provided.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays
Twenty Shakespeare plays available for instant streaming.
- California Newsreel
110 films from the California Newsreel (CN) catalog. CN produces and distributes cutting edge, social justice films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Founded in 1968, CN is the oldest non-profit, social issue documentary film center in the country, the first to combine media production and contemporary social movements. The streaming collection contains such high use titles as Color Adjustment, Ethnic Notions, and Race: The Power of an Illusion.
- Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video (North America)
A collection of over 500 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.
A collection of 400 streaming documentaries distributed by Icarus Films and Bullfrog Films. Topic areas include environment, social justice, anthropology, sociology, and cultural studies.
- Education in Video (United States)
Over 3,300 streaming videos for training and developing teachers. Footage of teachers and students in actual classrooms.
- Ethnographic Video Online (North America)
More than 1,000 ethnographic films with transcripts. The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides. Transcripts of all programs provided.
- Filmakers Library Online
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided.
- Films Media Group - Films on Demand
Choose from over 7500 streaming films in the humanities and social sciences, business, science and mathematics, health, and newsreels. About 50% of content has captioning available. No transcripts are provided.
- Great Speeches Video Series
Streaming video collection of over 120 famous speeches given by key contemporary and historical figures. Includes many speeches by U.S. politicians and former presidents.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (General)
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.
- LGBT Studies in Video (North America)
Collection features documentaries, interviews, and feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, and other topics.
- Lynda.com - Software Training Library
The lynda.com Online Training Library courses include such subjects as Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, Office, digital photography, Web design, digital video, and many others. Note: All users will be prompted to log in to this resource. Please use your AU network username and password, not your usual ALADIN credentials.
- March of Time
A collection of streaming video from the historic March of Time newsreel series, in production from 1935-1967. Videos are fully transcribed and cross-searchable by subject, historical event, people, and more.
- Media Education Foundation
50 titles from the Media Education Foundation (MEF). MEF produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical reflection on the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. The streaming collection contains such high use titles as Edward Said on Orientalism, Killing Us Softly 4 and Toxic Sludge is Good for You.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990?Present
An online streaming video collection, delivers approximately 200 full-length feature films from independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and MK2, along with some fifty award-winning shorts.
A streaming video database of dance and theater performances.
- Opera in Video
Contains more than 500 hours of streaming video of performances from top opera companies. Transcripts of all programs provided.
PsycTHERAPY features over 300 videos of actual psychology therapy sessions with full-text transcriptions for easy searching. Clips can be easily made from the video sessions for individual or class viewing.
- SAGE Research Methods Online
A collection of books, journal articles and reference materials published by SAGE Publications on research methods and design.
Media monitoring service that offers real-time and archival broadcast searches of all 210 U.S. television DMAs and national cable channels, including select Spanish stations and some radio. Use "clip retrieval" tool to browse by market, channel, date, and time. Note: Use is limited to 5 concurrent users.
- Silent Film Online
A collection of 300+ streaming online silent films including features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
- Television News Archive
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
- TV News Search
A free Internet Archive service, launched in 2012, designed to "help engaged citizens better understand the issues and candidates in the 2012 U.S. elections by allowing them to search closed captioning transcripts to borrow relevant television news programs." Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. Updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
- Women Make Movies
Established in 1972, Women Make Movies is a multicultural, multiracial, non-profit media arts organization which facilitates the production, promotion, distribution and exhibition of independent films and videotapes by and about women. The organization provides services to both users and makers of film and video programs.
- World Newsreels Online (1929?1966)
Captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. These films, produced from 1929 right through to the early post-war period, provide a unique ? and until now largely neglected, resource that will give scholars a real insight into how people learned about, and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.