This is the "Cited Reference" page of the "Who Cited Whom?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Who Cited Whom?  

This guide is designed to help faculty in preparing their tenure files.
Last Updated: Jul 14, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.library.american.edu/whocitedwhom Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Cited Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cited Reference sources

Use the following list of resources to find where an author, article or book has been cited. Recently published works may not yet have been cited by others.
Tip: To increase the chance of your work being cited, publish in journals that are covered in the following databases.

Web of Science (1983 to present) AU-only icon from Thomson Reuters
The Web of Science remains the standard source for finding cited references in high-impact journals. Covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including open access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Includes 3 citation indices:
1. Arts and Humanities Citation Index;
2. Science Citation Index;
3. Social Sciences Citation Index.

Directions:
1. Click on "Web of Science".
2. Click on "Cited Reference Search."
3. Select the appropriate "Citation Database/s."
4. Perform search and follow the directions on the screen.

Scopus (1960 to present) AU-only icon from Elsevier
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database with 46 million records covering more than 19,500 titles (18,500 peer-reviewed journals including open access journals, 425 trade publications, 325 book series, and 250 conference proceedings) from over 5,000 publishers.

Tip: It is easiest to do an "Author search."

Google Scholar
Provides cited references to books and articles. Main source for finding cited references to books.

Academic Source Premier AU-only icon from EBSCO
Large multidisciplinary bibliographic database. Shows how often an article has been cited by other articles in Academic Source Premier.

HeinOnline AU-only icon
Major law journals database. Shows how often a law journal article has been cited by other articles in HeinOnline. Cited references available for articles from the 1950s onward.

Directions:
1. Click on "Law Journal Library."
2. Find the article using either
i. the Search feature, and then click on "Cited by number."
ii. the Citation Navigator feature, and then click on "Articles that cite this document."

PsycINFO AU-only iconfrom the American Psychological Association
Main psychology index. Cited references are mostly of articles and book chapters from 2001 to present but can be as far back as 1926. Some books are also covered.

Directions:
1. Perform a search for the article.
2. Click on "Find Citing Articles" from the search results.

PubMed (Medline)from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
Main biomedical index. Will provide the cited reference for articles that have been cited by journals in PubMed Central, a free archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journals. Cited reference for only a small percentage of the articles indexed in PubMed will be available.

Directions:
1. Perform a search.
2. Click on "Links" on the right of the page. If the article has been cited by an article.

Social Services Abstracts AU-only icon social work and human services index. Cited references are from all journal articles covered in index from 2004 forward.

Directions:
Do an author or title search. If the work has been cited by another work covered in this database, the resulting records of the search will indicate "Cited by [number]".

Sociological Abstracts AU-only icon

Main sociology index. Cited references from core journals from 2002 forward; cited references from all other journals from 2004 forward.

Directions:
Do an author or title search. If the work has been cited by another work covered in this database, the resulting records of the search will indicate "Cited by [number]".

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts AU-only icon
Main political science index. Cited references are from core political science journals from 2001 forward, and from all journals covered in this database from 2004 forward.

Directions:
Do an author or title search. If the work has been cited by another work covered in this database, the resulting records of the search will indicate "Cited by [number]".

 

Click to Chat with a Librarian

IM Reference Summer hours:  M-Th 11am to 9pm, F 11am to 6pm.  We can take text messages during open hours at 571-766-6349.

 

Page Creator Profile

Profile Image
Clement Ho
Contact Info
202-885-3843
Bender Library
Send Email
 

Suggestions and comments to this page

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip