Items in the WRLC catalog are organized by Library of Congress Subject Heading in addition to author, title, and call number. Subjects are broken down in hierarchies, from broad to specific. Some items are cataloged under more than one subject heading. Below are some general subject terms related to slavery and the domestic slave trade industry:
Antislavery movements --United States --History
Fugitive slaves --United States --History
Slave trade--United States
Slavery --United States --Condition of slaves
Slavery--United States--History--17th century
Slavery--United States--History--18th century
Slavery--United States--History--19th century
Slavery--United States--Law and legislation
Slavery--United States--Legal status of slaves in free states
From the catalog home page, select "Subject Heading" from the drop down menu. You may enter the search terms as they appear above or insert your own. Happy searching!
NOTE: To search for issues related to slavery in a particular state, use "Slavery--[state name]"
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress and includes more than 200 photographs from the Prints and Photographs Division that are now made available to the public for the first time.
The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, a part of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale, is dedicated to the investigation and dissemination of knowledge concerning all aspects of chattel slavery and its destruction.
Harriet Jacobs: Selected Writings and Correspondence consists of a collection of 15 documents and a brief resource guide to books and websites. The website was created by the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition with the assistance and cooperation of Professor Yellin and the University of North Carolina Press, who will be publishing the Harriet Jacobs Papers.
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.
Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860 contains just over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the difficult and troubling experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. The documents, most from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance.
Aboard the Underground Railroad: A National Register of Historic Places Travel Itinerary introduces travelers, researchers, historians, preservationists, and anyone interested in African American history to the fascinating people and places associated with the Underground Railroad. The itinerary currently provides descriptions and photographs on 60 historic places that are listed in the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places, America's official list of places important in our history and worthy of preservation. It also includes a map of the most common directions of escape taken on the Underground Railroad and maps of individual states that mark the location of the historic properties.