Items in the WRLC catalog are organized by Library of Congress Subject Heading in addition to author, title, and call number. Subjects are broken down in hierarchies, from broad to specific. Some items are cataloged under more than one subject heading. Below are some general subject terms related to African American involvement in the military during World Wars I and II:
African American soldiers --History --20th century
United States --Armed Forces --African Americans --History --20th century
United States. Army --African American troops --History --20th century
World War, 1914-1918 --Participation, African American
World War, 1939-1945--Participation, African American
From the catalog home page, select "Subject Heading" from the drop down menu. You may enter the search terms as they appear above or insert your own. Happy searching!
This site, part of the Library of Congress Veterans History Project, features an online collection of personal stories of African Americans who have served in the U.S. Military. The site includes audio interviews, photographs, personal letters, and memoirs of soldiers, along with a searchable database.
This site, published by the U.S. Army Center of Military History, documents the legacy of African Americans in the United States Army. Included are essays, artwork, photographs, and documents relating to the integration of the Army. Also included are links to resources on the role of black women in the military.
During the early 1970s, the Navy Recruiting Command issued several posters that featured African-American themes and individuals, as well as others that showed racially integrated Navy activities. This page presents relevant posters that are in the Naval History and Heritage Command's collections.
The invention of the airplane sparked a revolution in modern technology. In the popular mind, the new air age became associated with adventure and heroism. African Americans shared the widespread enthusiasm for flying, but they found themselves routinely denied access to training as pilots and mechanics. Beginning in the 1920s, a small number of determined black air enthusiasts challenged racial descrimination. With great effort — and against formidable odds — they realized their dream to fly.
This collection focuses on President Truman's decision to desegregate the U.S. Armed Forces. It includes 247 documents totaling 1,187 pages, covering the years 1938-1953. Supporting material includes an Archival Materials Guide and finding aid, Records of the President's Committee on Equality of Treatment and Opportunity in the Armed Services (Record Group 220), which contains the final report of the Fahy Committee, entitled Freedom to Serve.
The images described in this leaflet illustrate African-American participation in World War II. The pictures were selected from the holdings of the Still Picture Branch (NNSP) of the National Archives and Records Administration. The majority of the pictures were chosen from the records of the Army Signal Corps in Record Group (RG) 111, the Department of the Navy in RG 80, the Coast Guard in RG 26, the Marine Corps in RG 127, and the Office of War Information in RG 208.