African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
This database is a global (non-U.S.) collection for international study of black history and culture. The contributions, struggles, and identities of the African Diaspora are presented through personal accounts, video, and primary sources with a focus on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of people of African descent. The collection includes digitized primary source documents, including books, government documents, personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
AU Research Archive is the repository for institutional outputs for American University’s faculty, staff, and other knowledge creators. The AU Research Archive preserves and makes a variety of research outputs openly available, including working papers, preprints, manuscripts, datasets, theses & dissertations, and more. For more information about AURA, including self-depositing scholarly materials, see https://www.american.edu/library/collections/digital_repository.cfm.
More than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions. This literary connection, combined with the tales of survival, exile, resistance, endurance, and emigration to other parts of the Americas, makes for a body of work that is essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. | Collection Manager: Gwendolyn Reece | Expires: December 13, 2023
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement is a landmark online collection that fills the gap, with a comprehensive and international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. | Collection Manager: Gwendolyn Reece | Expires: December 13, 2023
African American; Black; Black culture; Black history
Provides facsimile editions of a key 20th century publication covering African-American business, history, politics, entertainment, fashion and culture. Ebony's editorial philosophy is to “showcase the best and brightest as well as highlighting the disparities in Black life in the United States and worldwide”. Coverage: 1945-2014
FBI; Federal Bureau of Investigation; independence movement; Puerto Rico
This collection highlights the FBI's efforts to disrupt the activities of the largest of the Puerto Rican independence parties, Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño, and compromise their effectiveness. In addition, these documents provide documentary history and analysis of why independence was the second-largest political movement in the island, (after support for commonwealth status), and a real alternative.
Jet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. | Collection Manager: Gwendolyn Reece | Expires: December 13, 2023
African American; African American Culture; Black Culture
The Louisville Defender is a weekly newspaper and has been one of the main Black newspapers in the local Louisville area. It is an excellent source for coverage on issues affecting African Americans. The newspaper played an integral role in the fight for integration in the 1960s. Coverage is for 1951-2010.
This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes; included are materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike.
The archive encapsulates the history and development of natural science, technology and modern biomedical sciences, and documents anti-intellectualist sentiments towards scientists. The archive includes chronicles of efforts by governments and corporations to influence research into the exploitation of natural resources, labor conditions, and the environmental and economic impacts of mining, drilling, industrial waste and pollution. After authenticating, visit this link to the NYAS Archive in the same browser window.
New York Tribune, Historical newspapers
The Tribune, founded by Horace Greeley, contained influential editorials on abolition, and other major issues such as the settlement of the West. In addition to politics and reform, this newspaper also reported on the arts, New York society, sports, business and finance, and is useful for researching key events of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Global Think Tanks, North American City Reports, World Cities
Search 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources and media in the Global Think Tank collection; surveys, reports, and research from the governments of 600+ North American cities, plus publications from local governments around the world in World Cities.
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.