African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
This database is a global (non-U.S.) collection for international study of black history and culture. The contributions, struggles, and identities of the African Diaspora are presented through personal accounts, video, and primary sources with a focus on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of people of African descent. The collection includes digitized primary source documents, including books, government documents, personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Alternate Name(s)African American; Black; Black culture; Black history
Provides facsimile editions of a key 20th century publication covering African-American business, history, politics, entertainment, fashion and culture. Ebony's editorial philosophy is to “showcase the best and brightest as well as highlighting the disparities in Black life in the United States and worldwide”. Coverage: 1945-2014
Alternate Name(s)FBI; Federal Bureau of Investigation; independence movement; Puerto Rico
This collection highlights the FBI's efforts to disrupt the activities of the largest of the Puerto Rican independence parties, Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño, and compromise their effectiveness. In addition, these documents provide documentary history and analysis of why independence was the second-largest political movement in the island, (after support for commonwealth status), and a real alternative.
A collection of 22 journals featuring peer-reviewed case studies, vocational articles and applied research, known for continuing professional education programs for executives and alumni, and for preparing students for the world of work.
Please provide an evaluation on the Database Feedback Form. Collection Manager: Katie Hut | Expires: October 31, 2023
This database indexes 42 art journals published in the United States during the nineteenth century. It covers all subjects in the visual arts including painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture, design, decorative arts, exhibitions, and collecting.
Jet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Alternate Name(s)African American; African American Culture; Black Culture
The Louisville Defender is a weekly newspaper and has been one of the main Black newspapers in the local Louisville area. It is an excellent source for coverage on issues affecting African Americans. The newspaper played an integral role in the fight for integration in the 1960s. Coverage is for 1951-2010.
Alternate Name(s)labor; unions; strikes; farm workers; National Farm Worker Ministry
This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes; included are materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike.
The New Play Exchange ® (NPX) is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of professional theaters that collaborate in innovative ways to develop, produce, and extend the life of new plays. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. Collection Manager: Nobue Matsuoka | Expires September 30, 2023
The archive encapsulates the history and development of natural science, technology and modern biomedical sciences, and documents anti-intellectualist sentiments towards scientists. The archive includes chronicles of efforts by governments and corporations to influence research into the exploitation of natural resources, labor conditions, and the environmental and economic impacts of mining, drilling, industrial waste and pollution. After authenticating, visit this link to the NYAS Archive in the same browser window.
Alternate Name(s)New York Tribune, Historical newspapers
The Tribune, founded by Horace Greeley, contained influential editorials on abolition, and other major issues such as the settlement of the West. In addition to politics and reform, this newspaper also reported on the arts, New York society, sports, business and finance, and is useful for researching key events of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Nikkei Asia brings the voices and heartbeats of Asia’s vibrant economies together with quality journalism and sound opinion. Providing news and insights on the region's most influential companies, and comprehensive coverage of politics, economy, markets, and trends - all from a uniquely Asian perspective. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. | Collection managers: Katie Hut and Sarah Gilchrist | Expires October 31, 2023
Alternate Name(s)Global Think Tanks, North American City Reports, World Cities
Search 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources and media in the Global Think Tank collection; surveys, reports, and research from the governments of 600+ North American cities, plus publications from local governments around the world in World Cities.
Quincy Jones' video streaming network celebrating Black & global music through documentaries, concerts, archival footage and interviews. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. | Collection Manager: Nobue Matsuoka | Expires: October 27, 2023 ** This database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Provides access to 1,200+ active full text journals from all regions of the world, 250+ of them without an embargo, plus index and abstracts of hundreds more. Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form. | Collection Managers: Mary Mintz & Gwendolyn Reece | Expires: October 19, 2023
Based in Lagos, Nigeria, The Republic is a new publication centering Nigeria and Africa in the world’s most critical social, economic, and political issues covering a diverse range of themes including climate change, gender and sexuality, politics and security. ** This database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). ** Please provide an evaluation on the Database Trial Feedback Form.
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.