The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Alternative Press Index is an index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals from 1991 to present. Born of the New Left, it was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
The Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
To limit search to only one of the collections, once on the EBSCO search screen, click on the link above the search box to "Choose Databases", then deselect the other collection. **Access limited to 5 concurrent users.**
A collection of more than 5,700 documentaries and newsreels on American history, each accompanied by a transcript. There are film clippings from as early as 1898. Includes newsreels from United News (1942 to 1946) and Universal (1929 to 1967). Transcripts of all programs provided.
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
The Atlanta Daily World is one of the ProQuest Historical Newspaper - Black Newspapers collection and offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. It examines major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explores everyday life.
Contains full-text and full-image articles as well as digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue in downloadable PDF files, including news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Collection comprises approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history, and includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts in addition to familiar works.
110 films from the California Newsreel (CN) catalog. CN produces and distributes cutting edge, social justice films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Founded in 1968, CN is the oldest non-profit, social issue documentary film center in the country, the first to combine media production and contemporary social movements. The streaming collection contains such high use titles as Color Adjustment, Ethnic Notions, and Race: The Power of an Illusion.
A digitized version of a leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. This database contains the complete run of the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) simplifies searching for dissertations and theses via a single access point to explore an extensive, trusted collection of 3.8 million graduate works, with 1.7 million in full text. ** Access currently available only when on the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature and indexes over 700 journals in the field of education. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Note: You must allow pop-ups in order to open links to "Find It @ AU Library"
A collection of current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies, and historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided. NOTE: This collection also includes the contents of Filmakers Library Online, volume 2.
Choose from over 7500 streaming films in the humanities and social sciences, business, science and mathematics, health, and newsreels. About 50% of content has captioning available. No transcripts are provided.
Provides access to the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.
Digitized archives of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). This archive examines the realities of segregation and coverage spans from 1909 to 1972. Includes nearly 2 million pages of internal memos, legal briefings and direct action summaries from the association's offices throughout the United States.
Streaming videos in this collection are documentaries from independent filmmakers on topics including African-American studies, children & families, disabilities, immigration, human rights, criminal justice, and LGBT studies.
The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Coverage from 1922 to 1993.
The PAIS International database from ProQuest contains references to more than 634,401 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation. Coverage from 1912-2001.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 to 2002.
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles. ** Access currently available only when on the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Emphasis on 20th-century historic newspapers. Coverage includes major American newspapers and prominent publications from underrepresented voices such as African American news, Jewish news, and publications covering gender issues. ** Access currently available only when on the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics. ** Access currently available only when on the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage is from 1952 to the present.