It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Atlanta Daily World is one of the ProQuest Historical Newspaper - Black Newspapers collection and offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. It examines major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explores everyday life.
Contains full-text and full-image articles as well as digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue in downloadable PDF files, including news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
A digitized version of a leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. This database contains the complete run of the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 to 2002.
Founded by Garrett Morgan, inventor of the gas mask and traffic light. Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund. Coverage from 1934 to 1991.
The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Coverage from 1922 to 1993.
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation. Coverage from 1912-2001.