Scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays, and historical indexes. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals, the Black Literature Index, and more.
Collection comprises approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history, and includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts in addition to familiar works.
An African-American oral history collection, featuring interviews with thousands of individuals from the worlds of art, business, entertainment, politics, religion, science, and sports.
Contains files of the FBI Counterintelligence Program (CONTELPRO) from 1956 to 1971 on prominent black Americans and their organizations.
Papers from the renowned and outspoken poet, playwright, and critic, born LeRoi Jones, who was a key member of the Beat Generation and the Black Power movement.
Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.
The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Coverage from 1922 to 1993.
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S. Coverage 1934-2005.
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation. Coverage from 1912-2001.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 to 2010.