Subject Guides: LIT-121 (Jocelyn McCarthy)--Finding Sources for your Researched Literary Analysis: Primary Sources

AU Library Search

Finding Primary Sources in the WRLC Libraries Catalog

1. Click on Advanced Search

2. In one of the search boxes, change the drop down menu at the end of the search box to "any of these" and the Search In: box to "Subject." Put one or more of the following in the search box: personal narratives, sources, letters, diaries, memoirs, records, correspondence

3. Put your other term or terms in the other boxes.

Historical Magazine Databases

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
An index to 369 U.S. popular magazines and journals published from 1890 to 1982. This is the online version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
American Periodical Series Online (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
Includes two collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL), that contain digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the middle of the 20th century.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,400 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online was formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). As of April 2010, Periodicals Index Online indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 600 journals, providing access to over 14 million article pages - representing over 2.8 million articles.
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Media History Digital Library contains digital scans of hundreds of thousands of magazine pages from thousands of issues from 1904 to 1963. This open-access collection is a rich resource for the study of the early years of film and radio, including practitioner and fan-oriented publications.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Collection comprises approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history, and includes letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts in addition to familiar works.

Historical News: Single Paper Databases

Atlanta Constitution - Historical This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting in 1868 and running to 1945. Every year three additional years of content will be added.

AU Catalog: Newspapers
400+ separate newspaper titles available through the AU catalog. Includes records for print, microfilm, and microfiche newspapers.

Baltimore Sun - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Baltimore Sun from 1837-1994. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
Chicago Defender (1910-2010) This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of a leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. This database contains the complete run of the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 2010.
Chicago Tribune - Historical This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849 to 1990.
Eagle, The (American University) This link opens in a new window
A complete digitized copy of American University's undergraduate student newspaper, The Eagle, from 1925 to 2004.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times provides international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis. This archive is a complete, fully searchable facsimile edition of the FT. It offers the complete run of the London edition of the newspaper, from its first issue to the end of 2016.
Los Angeles Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming video from the March of Time newsreel series, produced by Time, Inc. from 1935-1967. The newsreels include reporting, location shots, and dramatic reenactment of events, and have a subjective point of view. Videos are fully transcribed and cross-searchable by subject, historical event, people, and more.
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1815 This link opens in a new window
Transcribed text of the Pennsylvania Gazette, a prominent early American newspaper.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete run of Vogue from 1892 to the present, with high resolution page images.
Wall Street Journal - Historical This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Washington Post - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2004.