Criminalistics
by
Criminalistics is the definitive source for forensic science because it makes the technology of the modern crime laboratory clear to the non-scientist. Written by a well-known authority, the text covers the comprehensive realm of forensics and its role in criminal investigations. Physical evidence collection and preservation techniques are examined in detail-including chapters on Computer Forensics and DNA. By referencing real cases throughout, Criminalistics, 10e captures the pulse and intensity of forensic science investigations and the attention of the busiest student. Some new, excited features for this edition include: New! Crime-Scene Reconstruction chapter New! Coverage of the latest DNA forensic technology This book aims at making the subject of forensic science comprehensible to a wide variety of readers who are planning on being aligned with the forensic science profession. If you want MYCrime Kit you need to order this valuepack ISBN 0131384651 / 9780131384651 Criminalistics:An Introduction to Forensic Science & MyCrimeKit Package Package consists of: 0135045207 / 9780135045206 Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science 0205541755 / 9780205541751 MyCrimeKit -- Valuepack Access Card
Forensic Science
by
Topics include Forensic anthropology and the role of entomology in a death investigation Death investigation, including identifying the cause, manner, mechanism, and time of death Bloodstain pattern analysis, the identification of blood and body fluids, the work of forensic toxicologists, and seized drug analysis The history and development of DNA typing and the many ways it can be used Fingerprint, firearm and ballistic, tool mark, tread impression, and trace evidence The forensic analysis of questioned documents and computers Arson, fire, explosives, and the work of forensic engineers in vehicular accidents and structural collapses Forensic psychology and psychiatry, including criminal profiling The future of forensic science Going beyond theory to application, this text incorporates the wisdom of forensic practitioners who discuss the real cases they have investigated. Appropriate for any sensibility, more than 300 photos from real cases give students a true-to-life learning experience.
Criminalistics Forensic Science, Crime, and Terrorism
by
Criminalistics continues to set the standard for modern forensic methods and investigative techniques in a new, updated fourth edition. Beginning at the crime scene and proceeding to the forensic laboratory, the text walks the reader through the entire forensic investigation. Students learn how to accurately identify, gather, and analyze multiple types of evidence by examining actual crimes that were solved using the techniques presented. The Fourth Edition features new contemporary case studies, updated statistics, and extended coverage of footwear impressions. Updated discussions on cell phone breathalyzer technology and familial DNA keep students on the cutting-edge of investigative techniques and forensic science developments. The most comprehensive and accessible text of its kind, Criminalistics: Forensic Science, Crime, and Terrorism, Fourth Edition is a practical, student-friendly introduction to this exciting science.
Handbook of Forensic Science
by
Forensic science has become increasingly important within contemporary criminal justice, from criminal investigation through to courtroom deliberations, and an increasing number of agencies and individuals are having to engage with its contribution to contemporary justice. This Handbook aims to provide an authoritative map of the landscape of forensic science within the criminal justice system of the UK. It sets out the essential features of the subject, covering the disciplinary, technological, organizational and legislative resources that are brought together to make up contemporary forensic science practice. It is the first full-length publication which reviews forensic science in a wider political, economic, social, technological and legal context, identifying emerging themes on the current status and potential future of forensic science as part of the criminal justice system. With contributions from many of the leading authorities in the field it will be essential reading for both students and practitioners.
Forensic Science
by
In the wake of the phenomenal success of such shows as CSI, forensic science has never been so popular. The obsessive attention to detail that Grissom and his crew afford seemingly insignificant details, such as particles of dirt in a bullet wound and the presence of pollen in tyre tracks, have had audiences eager to know more. Siegel's study follows the course of evidence all the way from the crime scene right through to the court judgement, investigating the many types of evidence, how they occur in crimes, how they are collected and analyzed by scientists, and how the results are presented in court. Packed with real examples, the book covers all the major areas of forensic science including drugs, trace evidence, pathology, entomology, odontology, anthropology, crime scene investigation, and law.
Forensic Science: a Very Short Introduction
by
Forensic science is a subject of wide fascination. What happens at a crime scene? How does DNA profiling work? How can it help solve crimes that happened 20 years ago? In forensic science, a criminal case can often hinge on a piece of evidence such as a hair, a blood trace, half a footprint,or a tyre mark. Complex scientific findings must be considered carefully and dispassionately, and communicated with clarity, simplicity, and precision. High profile cases such as the Stephen Lawrence enquiry and the Madeleine McCann case have attracted enormous media attention and enhanced generalinterest in this area in recent years.In this Very Short Introduction, Jim Fraser introduces the concept of forensic science and explains how it is used in the investigation of crime. He begins at the crime scene itself, explaining the principles and processes of crime scene management, and drawing on his own personal experience of highprofile cases including, the murder of Rachel Nickell and the unsolved murder of Jill Dando. Fraser explores how forensic scientists work; from the reconstruction of events to laboratory examinations. He considers the techniques they use, such as fingerprinting, and goes on to highlight the immenseimpact DNA profiling has had. Providing examples from forensic science cases in the UK, US, and other countries, he considers the techniques and challenges faced around the world. This new edition has been fully updated to take into account developments in areas such as DNA analysis and druganalysis, and the growing field of digital forensics. Topical areas explored include the growing significance of cognitive bias in forensic science, and recent research that raises doubts about the validity of some forensic techniques.ABOUT THE SERIES:The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to makeinteresting and challenging topics highly readable.