Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) simplifies searching for dissertations and theses via a single access point to explore an extensive, trusted collection of 3.8 million graduate works, with 1.7 million in full text.
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,400 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online was formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). As of April 2010, Periodicals Index Online indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 600 journals, providing access to over 14 million article pages - representing over 2.8 million articles.
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.
ArchiveGrid is a database of archival finding aids from libraries, museums, and archives. It helps identify archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories and where they are.
** Currently, this database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.
Document collections supporting historical research on a broad range of topics. Strengths include American history, Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean, women’s and gender studies, popular culture, and literary studies.
This resource was purchased thanks in part to a donation from the Estate of Lee Somers. 
Digital archive of French newspapers from the collections of the Biblioteque Nationale de France. Date coverage is 1630 to 1951. You can search the entire collection (in French) or visit one of the curated collections on popular topics, for example, King Tut or the Modern Woman.
** Users must register for an individual account using their AU email address to search for and access full content. Click the link on the platform to 'Créer un compte'.
To access full content, visit the library's link, authenticate on AU's Sign In page if prompted, then sign in on the RetroNews platform with your AU email address and the password you created during registration. **
Password reset note: You must be connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN) when you click on the link in the password reset email.