Primary source material from 18th and 19th Century publications, including The Liberator 1831-1865, Godey`s Lady`s Book 1830-1889, The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, and The South Carolina Gazette, and more.
This database is a global (non-U.S.) collection for international study of black history and culture. The contributions, struggles, and identities of the African Diaspora are presented through personal accounts, video, and primary sources with a focus on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of people of African descent. The collection includes digitized primary source documents, including books, government documents, personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Database’s scope focuses on LGBTQ history, culture, and the study of sex and sexuality from the 1600 to present. A primary source database, Archives of Sexuality and Gender supports research in queer history and activism, human rights, gender studies, and erotic literature as well as related fields including psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, medicine, biology, anthropology, law, the classics, and art. These fully searchable collections include rare and unique content from newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources. Additionally includes primary source materials of underrepresented and often excluded groups even within the LGBTQ communities. Includes LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Parts I & II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture.
Twenty Shakespeare plays available for instant streaming.
1,700+ full text plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
English-language drama from the late thirteenth century through to the early twenty-first century. Includes a selection of related ephemera, including posters, playbills, and photos.
This primary source collection contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Series I is based on a definitive work called the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and covers 1639-1800. Series II, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, covers 1801-1819.
A collection of over 125,000 titles, from the first book published in English, through 1700. Disciplines covered include literature, history, philosophy, theology, music, and the sciences.
Includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio of 1623, and a range of theater adaptations, including one by Dryden.
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Samuel & Lucy Keker Endowed Library Fund. 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Full text access to 1,000+ film scripts from 1903 to 2006, with PDF versions as available. Includes the ability to search by writer, director, scene, race, nationality, age, subject, year of writing, and other elements.
An interactive database of Harper's Weekly magazine from the Civil War Era through the Gilded Age.
Coverage: 1857-1912
A digital collection of Greek and Latin works of history, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, religion, the sciences, and theater, translated into English.
The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. It offers an inclusive platform for writers worldwide to share their work and for others to discover it.
More than 380 classic and contemporary feature films, spanning the silent era through contemporary international cinema. This collection of films covers classic and contemporary cinema from Africa, Asia (primarily China, Japan, and India), Europe (including Soviet films), Latin America, and the Middle East.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more. Many entries include easily accessible raw text.
Digital library created from the collections of major research libraries in the United States and around the world. Items range from medieval Arabic manuscripts to early modern European incunabula, from colonial American pamphlets to 19th-century treatises on natural history. Although a part of the collection is only accessible to members of participating/contributing institutions, many materials (particularly those no longer in copyright) are freely accessible.
