Subject Guides: Music: Stream Audio/Video

Streaming Audio

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Audio streaming files in the genres of Classical, World and Folk Music, Jazz/Blues and Film
Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Music and Dance Online delivers the multimedia sources from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Naxos Jazz This link opens in a new window
Mix selection of Jazz legends and contemporary jazz
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio access to more than 3,700 albums' worth of recordings, spanning all genres. Includes liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Music Online - Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Traditional and modern music representing every genre from every region in the world are contained in nearly 200,000 tracks.
American Music This link opens in a new window
Music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music includes the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, which is considered an encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Performing Arts Streaming Video

Met Opera on Demand: Student Access This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio collection of the Metropolitan Opera performances.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 500 hours of streaming video of performances from top opera companies. Transcripts of all programs provided.
Medici.tv - Virtual Classical Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos of classical concerts, operas, and ballets with over 700 programs available.
Register for an individual, sponsored account to access and cast content via iOS and Android apps.

Opera Platform
The contents are provided by the partnership between Opera Europa, representing 155 opera companies and festivals; the cultural broadcasting channel ARTE; and 15 theatres from across Europe.

BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Twenty Shakespeare plays available for instant streaming.
Ethnographic Video Online (North America) This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 ethnographic films with transcripts. The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides. Transcripts of all programs provided.
Filmaker's Library This link opens in a new window
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided. NOTE: This collection also includes the contents of Filmakers Library Online, volume 2.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Choose from over 7500 streaming films in the humanities and social sciences, business, science and mathematics, health, and newsreels. About 50% of content has captioning available. No transcripts are provided.
Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Music and Dance Online delivers the multimedia sources from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
OnTheBoards.TV This link opens in a new window
A streaming video database of dance and theater performances.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1000 full-length productions, interviews, written content, and educational resources that reflect contemporary theatre and performance around the world.