Subject Guides: Music: Databases / Indexes

Music

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
American Music This link opens in a new window
Spanning many genres and historical periods, this collection contains over 69,000 tracks from over 4,000 albums.
Billboard This link opens in a new window
Billboard has been the premier publication for music industry. It features an extensive array of searchable, playable charts, breaking music news, artist interviews and exclusives, news, video and more.
Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Contains the contents of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 book series, and other reference titles.
Contemporary Musicians This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical information on more than 3,600 important figures in all genres of modern music, including rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information such as duration, instrumentation, chorus type and soloists on more than 7,000 works by nearly 1,000 composers
Dissertations and Theses (American University-authored) This link opens in a new window
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio access to more than 3,700 albums' worth of recordings, spanning all genres. Includes liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of facsimile editions of major trade and consumer magazines related to film, theater, music, television, and general entertainment industry.
Includes 15 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK covering the period 1880-2000; 10 long-running and highly influential magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture between 1905 and 2000; and 12 further major consumer and trade publications from the US and the UK on film and television, from 1907 to 2015.
Provides complete runs of magazines from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and Broadcasting & Cable, and the Hollywood Reporter to 2015.
Ethnographic Video Online (North America) This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 ethnographic films with transcripts. The collection covers every region of the world and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides. Transcripts of all programs provided.
Filmaker's Library This link opens in a new window
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided. NOTE: This collection also includes the contents of Filmakers Library Online, volume 2.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Choose from over 7500 streaming films in the humanities and social sciences, business, science and mathematics, health, and newsreels. About 50% of content has captioning available. No transcripts are provided.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,200 essays on the indigenous, popular, and classical music of every region in the world.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access to Oxford Music Online 3 concurrent users. Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes), The Oxford Dictionary of Music (second edition), and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Index to Printed Music This link opens in a new window
IPM is the only online resource for finding individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions, with over 307,000 index records of individual music works.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Books, journal articles, and dissertations on all aspects of theatre and dance are indexed and annotated. Over 500 titles are available in full-text.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Jazz Discography This link opens in a new window
Detailed catalog of over 100 years of recorded jazz.
**Access limited to 2 concurrent users. Please click on 'Logout' button when exiting to quit your session.**
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTOR’s interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Medici.tv - Virtual Classical Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos of classical concerts, operas, and ballets with over 700 programs available.
Register for an individual, sponsored account to access and cast content via iOS and Android apps.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and audio collection of the Metropolitan Opera performances.
Musical America This link opens in a new window
A source for breaking music industry news, including people, competitions, awards, reviews, and more. Also included is the Musical American International Directory of the Performing Arts, a directory of more than 14,000 worldwide arts organizations.
**Access limited to 1 concurrent user.**
Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Music and Dance Online delivers the multimedia sources from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Music Index surveys 775 music periodicals from more than 40 countries in 22 languages. The index covers articles, books, and news about all aspects of music.
Music Online - Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Traditional and modern music representing every genre from every region in the world are contained in nearly 200,000 tracks.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
IIMP Full Text provides indexing and abstracts for more than 440 international music periodicals, plus full text for 130 journals. The index also contains retrospective articles dating from as far back as 1874. The emphasis of the database ranges from scholarly music research to popular articles on recent trends.
Naxos Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Jazz offers close to 23,600 tracks of jazz from over 3,000 albums by more than 500 jazz artists; it is comprised of Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz.
** Access limited to 5 concurrent users. Please log out when exiting to release the session for another user. **
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos provides access to a large collection of audio streaming files in the genres of Classical, Jazz/Blues, Film, World and Folk Music. The database includes the content from more than 41,380 CDs released by the Naxos label as well as other labels. More than 1,000 new CDs are added every month.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 500 hours of streaming video of performances from top opera companies. Transcripts of all programs provided.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This index of about 210 periodicals covers the variety of performing arts including dance, film, television, theater, and related subjects. As of Summer 2003, 36 of the periodicals contain full text articles back to 1998.
Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by university presses.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
Recent Researches in Music Online This link opens in a new window
Offers critical performing editions of music in seven series consisting in editions that either span the history of Western music, or are tied to specific cultural milieus. Most editions in Recent Researches in Music are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre. The complete content of scores and parts are available online.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international scholarly literature of music, including journal articles, conference proceedings, essays, books, dissertations, critical editions of music, digital media, and online resources. Date coverage is from the 1800s, in some cases the late 1700s, to the present.
RISM: Online Catalogue of Musical Scores This link opens in a new window
Provides the locations of music manuscripts and printed music between 1600 and 1800.
Sheet Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized images and catalog descriptions of public domain sheet music selected from AU's 2,500 piece collection of historical sheet music. The digitized collection has a focus on late 19th-century and early 20th-century art songs.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music includes the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, which is considered an encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.