Subject Guides: Physics: More Resources

Background Information

Weisstein's World of Physics
A free online encyclopedia covering many fields in physics and astrophysics, maintained by Wolfram Research.

Physics and Astronomy Online
A reference site with links to basic information about physics and astronomy.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition by William M. Haynes (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781482208672
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.

Electronic Journals

AIP History Newsletter
Reports on work in the history of physics and allied fields such as astronomy and geophysics. Includes lists of recent publications in the history of modern physics,
Journal of Physical Studies
Covers different fields of physics including condensed matter physics; nuclear physics; atomic and molecular physics; field theory and physics of elementary particles; astrophysics; physics of plasma; and cross-disciplinary physics and related areas of science and technology.
Journal of High Energy Physics
Mathematical Physics Electronic Journal
Published 1995-2009.

Government Agencies

National Science Foundation
National Institute of Standards and Technology
United States Department of Energy
National Technical Information Service
NTIS maintains a comprehensive collection of U.S.-sponsored scientific research and information comprising more than 3 million publications and data covering a range of topics from the Manhattan project to the present.

Government Laboratories

Astronomy

American Astronomical Society
Professional organization is for astronomers and others with an interest in astronomy.
Encyclopedia Astronautica
Site provides information about the history of space flight.
NASA
Homepage of the National Aeronautic and Space Agency.
NASA's Astrobiology
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Goddard supports missions in support multiple scientific disciplines, including Earth science, solar science and the sun-Earth environment, planetary studies and astrophysics.
NASA Photojournal
Searchable database of images from our solar system. New images are constantly being added to the site.
SDAC
This site links to the Solar Data Analysis Center at NASA Goddard.
SOHO
US site of NASA and ESA’s Solar and Heliospheric Observatory
Solar System Simulator
From NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory.
The Astrobiology Web
From the SpaceRef Network.
The Eight Planets
William Arnett's impressive tour of our solar system was created for a general audience; no prior knowledge of astronomy is necessary to enjoy this informative site.
The Proton Monitor Homepage
The latest 48 hours of solar wind data, courtesy of the University of Maryland, College Park.