Subject Guides: Journalism: Finding Contacts

Finding Contacts: Reference Books

Bacon's Newspaper Directory by Cision
Call Number: HD59 .B32
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers, news services, and news syndicates.
Encyclopedia of Associations by Gale Research Co.
Call Number: HS17 .G3
A comprehensive list of national organizations described briefly, with names, addresses, and telephone numbers.
Washington Information Directory by Congressional Quarterly, Inc.
Call Number: F192.5 .W34
One-stop source for information on U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations. Also available online.
Foundation Directory by Foundation Center
Call Number: AS911.A2 F65
Key facts on major funders include their fields of interest, contact information, financials, names of decision-makers, and nearly 60,000 sample grants.
Washington Representatives
Call Number: JK1118 .D58
In-depth information on 18000 lobbyists, 12000 clients, and 1700 lobbying firms, including direct contact information.

Finding Contacts

Finding Contacts is a specialized research skill -- one which is particularly important to journalists as investigators, networkers, and interviewers.

While some contact data is easily found on the Internet at large, other data is better discovered through to use of print or online directories, which aggregate contacts according to their profession or community.

Use the links below to find additional resources related to finding contact information.

Finding Contacts: Key Websites & Databases

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.
Hoover's This link opens in a new window
Propriety information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions. Contact information for many executives and companies.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.
Hudson's Washington News Media Contacts Directory This link opens in a new window
The most important directory for media contacts in the Washington area. Includes: news services and newspapers; news service syndicates; DC newspapers, foreign newspapers; radio and TV; magazines and newsletters; freelance writers and photographers.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of directories, including the Encyclopedia of Associations, the Encyclopedia of Government Advisory Organizations, the Directory of Early Stage Investment, the Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Market Share Reporter, the Medical and Health Information Directory, and the National Faculty Directory.

Finding Contacts: Key Media Directories

Bacon's Newspaper Directory
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers, news services, and news syndicates. Latest edition available through AU Library Reserves.
Bacon's Magazine Directory
Directory of magazines and newsletters. Companion resource to Bacon's Newspaper Directory. Latest edition available through AU Library Reserves.
Bacon's TV/Cable Directory
Directory of TV/cable stations programming contacts. Library keeps latest edition only, which is available through AU Library Reserves.
Bacon's Medical & Health Media Directory
Directory of print and broadcast medical and health media. Available in the AU Library stacks.
Bacon's Radio Directory
Directory of radio stations programming contacts. Latest edition available through AU Library Reserves.