Founded in 1897 as a Yiddish-language daily, the English Forward was launched as a weekly in 1990. The Forward has always been a not-for-profit association and is supported by the contributions of its readers.
Read more: https://forward.com/about-us/
Israel's oldest daily newspaper. It was founded in 1918 and is now published in both Hebrew and English. The English edition is published and sold together with the International Herald Tribune. Both Hebrew and English editions can be read on the Internet. In North America, it comes out as a weekly newspaper, combining articles from the Friday edition with a roundup from the rest of the week.
This is an English-language daily, but is an integral part of the Israeli press scene. For years the paper loyally supported the Mapai/Labour ruling party, but a few years ago it was acquired by the Canadian Hollinger Group, whose owners hold right-wing nationalist views. The circulation of the Jerusalem Post is small, only about 15,000 daily and 40,000 on the weekend, but its influence exceeds its numbers since it is read by the diplomatic community in Israel and all foreign journalists posted here. The paper also publishes a weekly international edition, read mainly by Jewish subscribers overseas, with a circulation exceeding 40,000.
Founded in 1841, the Jewish Chronicle is the world's oldest Jewish newspaper. With no proprietor nor commercial shareholders, its editorial independence is guaranteed by the Jewish Chronicle Trust. It is based in London, with reporters around the world.
Founded as the Jewish Correspondence Bureau in 1917, the JTA is a not-for-profit corporation governed by an independent board of directors. It claims no allegiance to any specific branch of Judaism or political viewpoint. "
Full text access to the historical American newspapers The American Hebrew (1879-1902 and 1922), The Jewish Messenger (1857 to 1902) and the combined The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1903 to 1922).
English translations of news articles published in the Soviet Union and Russia from 1949 to 2010. Includes translations of Soviet government documents, laws and treaties, five-year plans and reports of their implementation, as well as speeches by leaders.
American Memory project at the Library of Congress summarizes the history of the Jewish press in the United States (which published primarily in English and Yiddish but has also sustained publications in Hebrew, German, Ladino, and Russian).
This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Displays digital versions of each newspaper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.
The initial iteration of the Jerusalem Post. The Palestine Post provides a glimpse into some of the central events of the 20th century, including World War II, the Holocaust, and the development of the post-war world order. The newspaper is a rich source of information on Palestine during the British Mandate, the Zionist-Palestinian conflict, the history of the Yishuv (Jewish settlement in Palestine), the creation of the State of Israel, and the 1948 War of Independence. At the same time, the newspaper includes a wealth of information on Jewish communities throughout the world.
Provides full-text, searchable access to 60 historical newspaper archives, including: The American Hebrew; The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times; The New York Times; The Wall Street Journal; and The Washington Post.
Contains more than 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. **If you receive an error page when attempting to access Factiva, please clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies?**
Searches several Newsstream databases containing US, Canadian, and international newspapers from the 1980s to present. Full-text articles from over 1,200 newspapers worldwide, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Also includes 85 newspapers from the company Gannett.