Jewish Studies

Modelled on the highly acclaimed Dictionary of Christian Biography (Continuum 2001), the Dictionary of Jewish Biography provides a rapid reference to all those Jewish men and women who have, over the last four thousand years, contributed to the life, history and study of Judaism in all its facets.

An encyclopedia of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

GW Library has the 2007 versions, which AU community members can request via CLS.

Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel examines the usual sources in the Old Testament and surveys the findings of more recent archaeological research to help us determine just what happened and when.
This resource includes not only entries on the persons, places, and events of the kingdoms of Israel and Judah, but it also defines their roles in the ancient world as closely as possible according to the latest available data and their interpretation.

Alphabetically arranged entries provide fresh articles on such topics as antisemitism, historiography, Jewish women, memorials, and resistance and more.

This is the first encyclopedic work to focus exclusively on medieval Jewish civilization, from the fall of the Roman Empire to about 1492. The more than 150 alphabetically organized entries, written by scholars from around the world, include biographies, countries, events, social history, and religious concepts. The coverage is international, presenting people, culture, and events from various countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the MedievalJewish Civilization: An Encyclopediawebsite.

is set covers over 400 archaeological sites in Israel, Jordan, and Sinai

The Oxford Handbook of the Jewish Diaspora acts as a comprehensive collection of scholarship that reflects the multifaceted nature of diaspora studies. Persecuted and exiled throughout their history, the Jewish people have also left familiar places to find better opportunities in new ones. Contributors explore subjects as diverse as biblical and medieval representations of diaspora, the various diaspora communities that emerged across the globe, the contradictory relationship the diaspora bears to Israel, and how the diaspora is celebrated and debated within modern Jewish thought.

From the origins of the Jews and the settling of the land of Israel to the current Middle East peace talks, this history of the Jews covers all the significant events in world history in which Jews have played a role. More than 8,000 entries in chronological order document the relationship of the Jews to the larger story of world civilization.