Subject Guides: DC History & Local Area Studies: Newspapers Published in DC

List of Current DC Newspapers

Hudson's Washington News Media Contacts Directory Online (subscription available to AU Community)

Click here for current DC newspaper websites

Online Historical Newspaper Databases

Washington Post - Historical This link opens in a new window
(available to AU Community)

Washington Afro American
Free historical archives of various editions of the Afro American.
more...less...
FREE

Washington Evening Star This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of The Washington Evening Star from 1852 - 1981.
This resource was made possible through the Brown Fund.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Covers 270 newspapers from every region of the United States, including 7 from Washington DC.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Full text access to seven 19th century African American newspapers.
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Some Georgetown, D.C. and Washington, D.C. newspapers are included. Available to AU Community only.

AU Microfilm Collections

The Washington Star was the premier afternoon paper, published under various titles from 1852 until is ceased publication in 1981. The AU has microfilm from 1970 - 1981 shelved on the lower level under the title Washington Star. Known originally as the Evening Star and Sunday Star, it became The Evening Star and Washington Daily News and Washington Star-News after the purchase of the Daily News. The last title was The Washington Star. Clippings from the Star are available at the DC Public Library (details below.)

Microfilm of the Washington Post from 1930 to present is held at the WRLC Center and is available for delivery (Library use only.) If exact citation is known, the WRLC staff will scan the article and post it to My Library Account.

A computer with a scanner is available to create pdfs from the microfilm.

Paper copies of the newspaper are discarded after the microfilm arrives.

D.C. Public Library Print & Microfilm

NOTE: THE MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. MEMORIAL LIBRARY IS CLOSED FOR RENOVATION.

The Washingtoniana Collection is the local history section of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Library (MLK) which is the main branch of the D.C. Public Library. Washingtoniana is part of MLK's Special Collections.

Washingtoniana has:

25 million newspaper clippings filed by subject from the Washington Star and other major DC newspapers
Microfilm of all major daily local newspapers, 1800-present
Microfilm of major African-American newspapers published in D.C.
Selected microfilm of early Georgetown papers
Bound indices for selected years of the Star, Post and Washington Times
Extensive vertical file collection

Click here for newspaper holdings of Washingtoniana (as reported to the Library of Congress)

The Washingtoniana is located in room 307. The MLK Library is located at 901 G Street, N.W. at the Gallery Place Metro 9th St. exit. Call to confirm hours. (202) 727-1213. http://dclibrary.org/research/collections

Library of Congress Newspaper Collection: Print, Digital and Microfilm

Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room is located in Library of Congress Madison Building, Room LM133, 101 Independence Ave. SE, Washington DC (202) 707-5690. The Library of Congress has the most comprehensive collection of newspapers in the United States.

Some newpapers have been digitized and may be accessed through through the Library of Congress website.

The Madison Building is located across the street from the Capitol South Metro stop on the Blue or Orange Line.

To use the Library of Congress collections, first obtain a Reader Identification Card.