This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
A digitized microfilm collection of historical documents covering a broad range of topics. Strengths include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, gender, sexuality, and women's studies, the Holocaust, and modern history of Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East.
Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science, social science, and humanities books and their scholarly impact and influence. Book Citation Index has citation data from 2005 to present.
Online version of over 300 volumes of the Cambridge Histories book series published since 1960. Covers the history of the ancient and modern world, literature, language and linguistics, philosophy and religion, political thought, music and theater, science, economic history, and law in America.
Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
English translations of news articles published in the Soviet Union and Russia from 1949 to 2010. Includes translations of Soviet government documents, laws and treaties, five-year plans and reports of their implementation, as well as speeches by leaders.
Declassified documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, confidential letters, and other secret materials.
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
Coverage: UK government documents from 1898 to 1950s. Updated: Regularly. A collection of over 50,000 U.K. government documents from 1898 to 1950s relating to Britain's international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more. They have been selected by the official historians of Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office and many were formerly classified. The British equivalent to the U.S. Foreign Relations of the United States.
Korean studies collection comprised of 8 databases in English and Korean. Offerings cover all academic disciplines, including arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-books, e-journals, dissertations, classical literature, video lectures, and newspapers are included. North Korean academic journals are also available. This resource was made possible through a grant from the Korean Foundation.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Published by Brill, this is the authoritative encyclopedia on all aspects of the Islamic world. This database includes the complete 12 volume 2nd Edition, and the ongoing, completely new 3rd Edition, which has more entries on contemporary issues and current issues.
Citations to more than 32,000 printed material about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. This database is the online version of the 6 volumes "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," edited by John Alden and Dennis Landis (New York: Readex Books, 1980-1988).
The Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church includes information on the establishment of indigenous churches, educational facilities, hospitals, orphanages, and seminaries. Includes correspondence, sermons, diary accounts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports are U.S. government transcriptions and translations of radio broadcasts from foreign countries. Annexes comprise an additional 7,000 transcripts to the Daily Reports. The modern successor to the FBIS Daily Reports is the World News Connection.
This collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
This collection documents the broad range of 19th century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the U.S. by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. Includes missionary activities among Native Americans, African Americans, Africa, Fiji and the Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii.
This collection includes Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees subject files on virtually every group of racial, religious and political refugees from 1938 to 1947. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including nearly 1.5 million articles from 1,600 scholarly journals published by prominent academic societies and research centers in South Korea. The journal titles are arranged by subject categories such as economics, engineering, education, and medicine. This resource was made possible through a grant from the Korean Foundation.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Over 50,000 biographies of people who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the year 2000. All the people included in this work died before 31 December 2000. The AU library also has a print version of this work in the Reference collection.
The PAIS International database from ProQuest contains references to more than 634,401 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 600 journals, providing access to over 14 million article pages - representing over 2.8 million articles.
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,400 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online was formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). As of April 2010, Periodicals Index Online indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries. **Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
Coverage: 1864 to present. Updated: Monthly. An Annual summary of information on the history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country of the world. Now updated more frequently. Includes brief biographies of government officials and chronology of events starting with 1999.
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times. This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
The TLS (Times Literary Supplement) Historical Archive includes over 300,000 reviews, poems, letters, and other articles - The complete run from 1902 to 2006. A major cultural resource. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. This resource was made possible through Donald D. Dennis American History Fund.
Contains documents from The National Archives, Kew on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire, and Colonial Territories, dating from 1904 to 1962. Includes a finding aid to all sources related to women housed at the archive of the government of the UK. This resource was made possible through the Roger H. and Nancy Brown Endowed Library Fund.
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a major political science index providing citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites on subjects including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Dating from 1975 and updated monthly, the WPSA is built on two indices: Political Science Abstracts and ABC POLSCI. Roughly 1,510 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.