Skip to main content

Company Research

Business Librarian

American University  Librarians's picture
American University Librarians
Contact:
Reference Desk: (202) 885-3238
Website

Print Sources

Company and Industry Print Resources

Indexes

  • Wall Street Journal Index - REF/Index A 121 .W3

Bibliographies

  • Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It - READY REF HF 5356 .L36 1992
  • Business Information Sources - READY REF HF 5351 .D36 B87
  • Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources - REF HF 5353 .E52

General Directories / Encyclopedias / Handbooks

  • Business Organizations, Agencies, and Publications Directory - REF HF 3010 .B87
  • Business Plans Handbook - LIB Stacks HD 62.7 .B865 (also available electronically)
  • Business Ranking Annual - REF HG 4050 .B88
  • Encyclopedia of Business - REF HF 1001 .E466
  • International Directory of Company Histories - REF HD 2721 .I63

Company Directories

  • America's Corporate Families and International Affiliates - REF HG 4057 .A146
  • Dun and Bradstreet Directory of Service Companies - REF HD 9981.3 .D88
  • Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires - REF HG 4538 .A1 D5
  • Hoover's Handbook of American Business - REF HF 5030 .H668
  • Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies - REF HG 4057 .A28616
  • National Directory of Corporate Public Affairs - READY REF HD 59 .N24
  • Thomas Register of American Manufacturers - REF T12 .T6 (also available electronically)
  • Try Us 2000, National Minority Business Directory - REF HF 5036 .M5 T6
  • Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies - REF HD 9723 .W374

Industry-Specific Directories

  • Thomson / Polk Bank Directory - REF HG 2441 .B36
  • The Beverage Marketing Directory - REF HD 9348 .U5 N35
  • Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory - READY REF HD 69 .C6 C65
  • O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms - READY REF HM 263 .J11
  • Moody's Bank and Finance Manual - LIB Stacks HG 4961 .M65
  • Moody's Industrial Manual - LIB Stacks HG 4961 .M67
  • Moody's Public Utility Manual - LIB Stacks HG 4961 .M7245
  • Moody's Transportation Manual - LIB Stacks HG 4971 .M74
  • Fairchild's Retail Stores Financial Directory - LIB Stacks HG 4961 .F3

Financial Industry Analysis

  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios - READY REF 5681 .R25 A4
  • Analyst's Handbook - READY REF HG 4519 .A7
  • Annual Statement Studies - LIB Stacks HF 5681 .B2 R6
  • The Irwin Investor's Handbook - LIB Stacks HG 4921 .D6
  • Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios - READY REF HF 5681 .R25 I525
  • Industry Surveys - LIB Stacks HG 4961 .S74
  • Mergent's Industry Review - REF HG 4907 .M64
  • North American Industry Classification System - READY REF HF 1042.N6 2007
  • Standard Industrial Classification Manual - LIB Stacks HF1041 .U613
  • U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook - LIB Stacks HC 101 .U54