Subject Guides: International Studies: Magazines and Technical Reports

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Current Individual Magazines

Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new window
Magazine covering international relations and U.S. foreign policy.
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
Reporting and analysis on global affairs, foreign policy, and international relations.
Copy and paste this URL in an incognito tab and click register to be able to register for events or email alerts: https://foreignpolicy.com?AmericanU
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete run of Vogue from 1892 to the present, with high resolution page images.

Historical Magazines

The following databases of individual U.S. magazines do not have the current issue.

Bloomberg Businessweek Archive This link opens in a new window Includes 4,100 back issues of Bloomberg Businessweek, from 1929 to 2000. Entire issues, including table of contents and advertisements.
Forbes Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Includes 2,500 back issues of Forbes Magazine, from 1917 to 2000. Entire issues, including table of contents and advertisements.
Fortune Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Fortune is an American multinational business magazine. Fortune regularly publishes ranked lists, including the Fortune 500, a ranking of companies by revenue that it has published annually since 1955.The magazine is also known for its annual Fortune Investor's Guide. This archive Includes 1,200 back issues from 1930 to 2000. Provides access to entire issues, including table of contents and advertisements.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Life was one of the most popular general interest magazines in the United States from the late 1930s to the early 1970s, particularly known for its high quality photography. The Archive covers 1936 to 2000.
National Review Archive This link opens in a new window An archive of the National Review, a conservative magazine covering news, politics, current events, and culture with detailed analysis and commentary. Also includes the National Review Bulletin. Coverage: National Review November 1955-2020, National Review Bulletin April 1959-1979.
New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window Archive of an American magazine of commentary on politics and the arts, published since 1914, with influence on American political and cultural thinking. Coverage: November 1914-2020.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Major American news magazine based in New York City. The archive covers the first issue in 1923 up to 2000.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window

Technical Reports

Air Force e-Publishing
Army Publishing Directorate
Hub for unclassified U.S. Army publications and forms.
Defense Technical Information Center
Citations or full text of over 2 million technical reports resulting from government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business research covering over 250 subjects related to defense. From the U.S. Department of Defense.
DOE Green Energy
Thousands of U.S. Department of Energy technical and project reports, as well as energy patent and other information on various forms of green energy, including solar, wind and bioenergy.
Energy Citations Database
Publications and reports mostly from 1943 to present.
Citations to over 2.4 million and full text of over 267,000 reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. From the U.S. Department of Energy.
Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database
Coverage: 2004 to present.
Provides information about Environments Impact Statements prepared by federal agencies, as well as the Environment Protection Agency's comments concerning the EISs. From the U.S. Environment Protection Agency.
HUD Reports
Reports from 1970 to present.
Reports, executive summaries, case studies, and guidebooks produced by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information
Reports from mostly 1991 to present.
Over 266,000 full-text documents of U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees and are in the fields of physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Reports mostly from 1976 to present.
Thousands of free technical and project reports produced by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
U.S. government technical reports issued prior to 1975, also known as "legacy documents." These reports also appear in HathiTrust.

Trade Magazines

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
Publications from 1988 to present.
Citations to articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.