Subject Guides: Finance and Real Estate: International Economic Databases

Currency Calculators

Currencies of the World - A web site by Pacific Exchange Rate Services that provides information on symbol, subdivision, Regime, and the ISO-4217 code for currencies from different countries in an alphabetical order.
Current Value of Old Money - Contains a list of sites to answer the question "how much would a specified amount of money at a certain period of time be worth today?"
Dollar Times - Various financial calculators
Historical Foreign Exchange Rates - This site provides historical foreign exchange rates from 1971 onwards in ASCI format.
iFigure - iFigure provides links to online calculators and worksheets.
The Inflation Calculator - Adjusts any given amount of money for inflation, according to the Consumer Price Index, from 1800 to 1998.
The Salary Calculator
Money - Past, Present & Future - Sources of Information on Monetary History, Contemporary Developments, and the Prospects for Electronic Money.
Olsen & Associates Currency Exchange Site
Rates - Daily foreign exchange rates, information about currencies and currency derivatives.
Salary.com - The site showcases its Salary Wizard, which allows users to see whether their salaries meet the average in their area, as well as what kinds of salaries they would make in other parts of the country.
Triacom - Historical Exchange Rates based on US Dollar - This site provides historical exchange rates for 19 currencies in a tabular form.

Economist Intelligence Unit
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.
OECD Publications
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Finaeon
Provides historic economic and financial data for more than 200 countries, with some data sets tracked as far back as the 13th century.
IMF eLibrary - Data
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.