for just about everything. The trick is to discover what existing data are the best match to the ideal data you need to test the prediction of your model. This guide provides just a sampling of links to data warehouses.
United States and international polling data from 1935 to present. U.S. and international public opinion polls (iPOLL) and datasets (RoperExpress) Includes the major academic, commercial and media survey organizations.
Polling data from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys. Note: 4 simultaneous users only
U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents.
As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas.
Four decades of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Online editions of the major CQ Press books. Click the "I" for a listing of titles covered. Politics in America (2000 to present); Washington Information Directory; Congress and the Nation (1945 to present); Political Handbook of the World (2005 to present); Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 to present); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Historic Documents (1972 to present).
External debt and financial flow data for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. From the World Bank.
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade. To download bulk data you must register for a new account. Click more for instructions.
** The legacy platform at https://comtrade.un.org/data will be discontinued at the end of Q1 2023. **
To create a new account:
1. Click the login link in the top right corner of the main page.
2. Select "Sign up now" to create an account.
3. Enter a valid AU email address and click on "Send Verification
Code".
4. Check your email inbox & Spam folder for the verification code
(account verification can take up to one business day) then
copy/paste the code into the verification code box.
5. Click on "Verify Code" to complete the email verification.
6. Once verified, you can continue with registration.
7. When you have successfully created your account, you will be
logged in and directed to the main landing page. You should
now see the link on the top right "My Comtrade Premium".
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions. **Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data. The database also provides state-level (and Canadian Province) economic snapshots.
Industry, consumer and country statistics and reports for countries around the world, including emerging markets. Access limited to AU Authorized Users with a valid AU ID.
eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world. ** Users may sign up to receive report notifications and custom alerts and may need to check their ProofPoint Digest emails or visit spam.american.edu to release messages.
See OIT's video for step-by-step instructions. **
Country political and economic analysis and forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit. ** Access this database using Chrome, Safari, or Edge browsers. Website is not loading in Firefox browser. **
