Subject Guides: MGMT 201: Global Corporate Citizenship: Industry Information

Industry Classification Directories

Business / Industry Identification

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System - From the Census Dept.
Standard Industrial Classification Codes - User can search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 4-digit SIC, or examine the manual structure.

Industry Research Databases

IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Includes company and industry profiles and country PESTLE reports, as well as alternative data, such as tenders, social media, and job analytics.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new window
MSCI ESG Direct is an integrated online environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, analytics and ratings platform designed to provide asset managers and owners with an integrated suite of tools to efficiently manage ESG analysis and compliance tasks across the spectrum of ESG factors. The subscription is comprised of the Intangible Value Assessment (IVA) and the Impact Monitor.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**
eMarketer Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
** Users may sign up to receive report notifications and custom alerts and may need to check their ProofPoint Digest emails or visit spam.american.edu to release messages.
See OIT's video for step-by-step instructions. **
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Industry Reports for U.S., Europe, Latin America and Asia. Under the Reports Tab.
IDC This link opens in a new window
IDC publishes market forecasts, industry analyses, case studies, vendor decision toolkits, and blog posts on the tech sector, including big data/analytics, cloud computing, consumer tech, infrastructure software, Internet of Things (IoT), mobility, networking, security, semiconductors, social business, storage, telecommunications and more.
Once on the platform, use the search at the top of the page to search our subscribed content and visit the MyIDC link to access your dashboard.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook tracks the private and public equity markets. It provides data on the venture capital, private equity and M&A landscape, including information about funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers.
* Problem logging in to PitchBook? Select Log in with SSO. *

How to Find Industry White Papers

Within the context of business research, industry white paper are well-researched reports about an issue within given industry. They are often written by a company within that industry in an effort to showcase knowledge and expertise or promote the use of a product or in an effort to address the issue. Marketers within the tech industry frequently create white papers to taut certain solutions and/or products. Alternatively, they could be produced by a trade/professional association in order to advocate for a specific position regarding an industry issue. Note that white papers outside of business research tend to recommend certain policy positions, but this isn't always, or even often, the case for industry white papers.

There isn't one, go-to database for finding white papers but there are a few different ways you can find them:

Look for trade association publications within your industry
- Find the main trade association website and look for the "Publications" or "Research" tab. Some associations will require a paid membership to access these but not all do. For example, the National Restaurant Association has a white paper on local bans of natural gas
Search a scholarly database, such as ABI/Inform, for the term "white paper" AND "[your industry]"; eg "white paper" AND (automotive OR "auto industry")
- You can find links to scholarly databases in the next tab in this class research guide
- ABI/Informs includes publications from the OECD--the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, which publishes policy white papers. You can also access these directly by searching for OECD in the AU Library's list of databases
Search BizReport for "white papers". BizReport is an online business newswire
Do a Google search for something like "generative AI" [or whatever your industry is] "white paper" site.edu. Including "site.edu" will limit your results to only those from .edu websites

**Thanks to the Business Research Guide from San Jose State University for help with formatting the white papers Google search!