Subject Guides: IBUS 301: International Marketing: Country Data

BOOKS

Country Forecasts (PRS Group)
Call no. HC10 .C66
1991 - present

COUNTRY PROFILE DATABASES

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Provides PDF country profiles

STATISTICS AND DATA

World Bank Topics
Thematic representations of World Bank data, such as environment, debt, infrastructure, etc.
World Bank Open Data Catalog
All World Bank data sets.

OECD Publications This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN comtrade) This link opens in a new window
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.
To download bulk data you must register for an account.
1. Click the login link in the top right corner of the main page.
2. Select "Sign up now" to create an account.
3. Enter a valid AU email address and click on "Send Verification
Code".
4. Check your email inbox & Spam folder for the verification code
(account verification can take up to one business day) then
copy/paste the code into the verification code box.
5. Click on "Verify Code" to complete the email verification.
6. Once verified, you can continue with registration.
7. When you have successfully created your account, you will be
logged in and directed to the main landing page. You should
now see the link on the top right "My Comtrade Premium".
IMF eLibrary - Data This link opens in a new window
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.

WEBSITES

BBC Country Profiles
CIA Factbook
Includes information about foreign countries with reference maps. Also includes information about the United Nations and other Intergovernmental Organizations.
Country Commerical Guides
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
Country Data Links Page (Univ. of Auckland)
Country Information (IMF)
Country Insights (GlobalEDGE)
From University of Michigan
Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Describes and analyzes the political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, of individual countries, and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
Country Tax Guides and Highlights (Deloitte)
Financial Stability Report (IMF)
Global Competitive Report
World Economic Forum Latest report is free of charge. Earlier reports going back to 2001 only has the executive summary or portions of the report.
International Data (US Census)
International Economic Reports (Wells Fargo Bank)
National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (NTE)
Surveys significant foreign barriers to U.S. exports by country. Includes import tariffs and taxes, export subsidies, intellectual property rights protection, service and investment barriers, and other policies.
Nation Master
Country statistical data, including purchasing power, lifestyle, language, food and other cultural measures.
NATLEX Country Profiles (ILO)
from the International Labour Organization National labor laws, and countries' ratification and application of international law standards.
Penn World Tables
Financial and economic data covering 152 countries.
UN Pulse
Newswire for United Nations
US State Department-- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
World Economic Outlook (IMF)