Text: (571) 248-7542
Legal research tool for United State law at the federal and state level. Search by jurisdiction or practice area. Focus is on primary legal sources, with treatise and news content for additional context.
** Access limited to current main campus faculty, staff and students, as well as guests of Bender Library.
Not available to the law school or office of the general counsel. **
A comprehensive collection of full-text PDF (or text) images of major law journal articles, including back issues.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
A digital collection of more than 10,000 titles and around two million pages of printed material on U.S. trials from 1600 to 1925. Includes unofficially published accounts of trials, official trial documents, briefs and arguments, and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitration. It is comprised primarily of holdings of the Harvard and Yale law libraries, as well as the Library of the Bar of the City of New York.
A digital collection of more than 240,000 documents on more than 100,000 U.S. Supreme Court cases. It is a valuable database of primary source documents, as well as material presenting the background and context of the cases. This collection covers the Supreme Court from the final years of the fourth chief justice, John Marshall, through the first ten years of the court's 15th chief justice, Warren Earl Burger.
See Law Journals tab for extensive critiques of legal cases.
This box is under construction.
WorldLII: International Courts & Tribunals Collection
Decisions or transcripts of all international courts and tribunals.
https://subjectguides.library.american.edu/moml-trialsThis box is under construction.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) Databases
Links to databases and websites of legislation and court decisions arranged by region and country.
Germany
Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection
Consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). Selected documents are available online. From the Cornell Law Library.
Great Britain
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
A digital collection of more than 10,000 titles and around two million pages of printed material on U.S., British and her colonies' trials from 1600 to 1925. Includes unofficially published accounts of trials, official trial documents, briefs and arguments, and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitration. It is comprised primarily of holdings of the Harvard and Yale law libraries, as well as the Library of the Bar of the City of New York.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
Contains 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
India
Judgment Information System (JUDIS)
Judgments of the Supreme court of India (1950 to present) and several High Courts.
