Subject Guides: Law and Legal Studies: Public Policy

Librarian Profile

Email Me

Subjects: Laws, Cases, and Legal Scholarship, Political Science & Government, Public Administration

Text: (571) 248-7542

This is a list of sources that summarize or comment on government policy. The list is arranged by prominence and then alphabetically.

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1990 to present. Updated: Weekly.
Abstracts and links to publications and reports from over 386 (mostly U.S.) think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of research and analysis in international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.Types of publications include working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
1945-2008. Updated: Every 4 years.
Congress and the Nation is a summary of Congressional policy and legislative action during the presidency since 1945. Organized into broad topics.

Congressional Digest via Academic Search Premier
Oct. 1921 to present.
Monthly reports on the pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration. A cumulative index (pdf) of all topics from 1921 to 2010 is available online....
more...less...
AU Library also has microform of the Congressional Digest from 1989-present on site and print volumes from 1951-2011 in storage see catalog record.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window

Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
IMF E-Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the working papers as well as books, periodicals, and reports published by the International Monetary Fund.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

RAND Reports This link opens in a new window
RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution and think tank. Founded after World War II with a focus on national security, their portfolio grew starting in the 1960s to include domestic issues such as health, education, sustainability, criminal and civil justice, and development. Full text thousands of reports, articles, and working papers. Covers 1946-present.
World Bank This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,700 World Bank books and reports (1968 to present; all titles from 2000 to present) and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers.

Air University Press Books and Papers
Publications of the U.S. Air Force's Air University Press.
Marine Corps University Press Books
Books produced by the Marine Corps University Press from 1920 to present. They tend to be more historical rather than policy focused.
National Defense University Press
Scholarship produced by the National Defense University Press on defense and national security issues and policies. Includes books, the journals Joint Force Quarterly and PRISM, and magazines.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Integrates data including demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, labor data and more with web-based GIS. This allows users to view data on maps, table, and charts.
** Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **

** There was an update made to our authentication to this resource on August 20, 2024. Existing users will be prompted to verify their accounts by inputting a code sent to their @american.edu email. **

NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
Links to think tanks around the world. Organized by countries and alphabetically by name of organization
FPRI Think Tank Directory
Lists think tanks devoted to Security and International Affairs research and education. From the Foreign Policy Research Institute.

The following think tanks are not included in NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks. This list will be expanded as I come across them.

Asia

Europe