Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Popular Music: Rock/Pop

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of March 2011

Popular Music Filmography - Rock/Pop

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of March 2011. 

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library – including the Music Library located in the Katzen Center. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings please refer to Library Search.

 

 

 

24 hour party people. 2003. 1 videodisc (117 min.). Feature film.  Follow the rise, fall and rise again of promoter Tony Wilson and the wild rave culture he brought to England and the rest of the world. Pulsates with the rhythmic energy from the post punk movement through the evolution of rave music. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1856

Alice's restaurant. Avant-garde cinema. 2001. 1 videodisc (111 min.). Feature film.  "In the late '60s, a changing social and political climate inspired a new generation to create a lifestyle outside the mainstream. Twenty-two year-old Arlo's journey to find a place for himself and his music includes a visit to his dying father in the hospital, gigs in New York and romps with his friends Alice and Ray, who run a small restaurant in Stockbridge, Massachusetts. And when an incident at Alice's Restaurant plays a pivotal role in Arlo's avoidance of the draft, it send him down a road that he will consider a small price to pay to keep his freedom and his beliefs"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3085

Motorhead: Ace of spades. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 106 min.). In 1980, Motorhead released their fourth album, Ace Of Spades. The trio talks about writing and recording the album and the goings on inside the Motorhead camp at the time. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 172

Air guitar nation. 2007. 1 videodisc (81 min.). A battle of naked ambition played out on the national and, ultimately, world stage, this film chronicles the birth of the US Air Guitar Championships as legions of aspiring rock stars compete to become the greatest air guitarist in the world. Samurai warrior C. Diddy emerges as an early favorite, but Bjèorn Tèuroque is not far behind. Will Bjèorn's technical prowess, attitude, and "airness" be enough to take him to the top-- or will C. Diddy conquer all to become America's first supreme being of air guitar? DVD 3806

Almost famous. 2001. 1 videodisc (124 min.). Feature film. It's the opportunity of a lifetime when teenage reporter William Miller lands an assignment from Rolling Stone magazine. Despite the objections of his protective mother, William hits the road with an up-and-coming rock band and finds there's a lot more to write home about than the music. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4902

American graffiti. 1998. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Feature film.  One night in the life of a group of high school friends in the 1960s just before they go off to college, jobs, or the army. Includes rock and roll hits from that period. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 93

The Grateful Dead: Anthem to beauty. 2005. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Charts how the Grateful Dead evolved from the albums "Anthem of the sun" to "American beauty" and examines how these records were made.  Includes rare footage of the Dead from TV appearances and recording sessions to home videos and interviews with the band. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 183

Anvil!: The story of Anvil! VH1 Rockdocs. 2009. 1 videodisc (82 min.). "At 14, two Toronto schoolmates -- Steve 'Lips' Kudlow and Robb Reiner -- made a pact to rock together forever... Forming the band Anvil, the duo released one of the heaviest albums of all time -- 'Metal on Metal' -- influencing some of the biggest names in rock, including Metallica, Slayer and Anthrax. But while those bands went on to sell millions of albums and achieve international fame, Anvil's career took a different path - straight to obscurity. Until now..." -- Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3461

Frank Zappa: Apostrophe / Over-nite sensation. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 97 min.). "This Classic Albums release uses interviews, musical demostrations, rare archive and home movie footage plus live performances to tell the story behind the conception and recording of these groundbreaking albums"--Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 176

Black Sabbath: Paranoid. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 97 min.). "The second album by Black Sabbath, released in 1970, has long attained classic status. "Paranoid" not only changed the face of rock music forever, but also defined the sound and style of heavy metal more than any other record in rock history ... This program tells the story behind the writing, recording, and success of this groundbreaking album. Using exclusive interviews, musical demonstration, archive footage and returning to the multi-tracks with engineer Tom Allom, the film reveals how Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, and Bill Ward created their frighteningly dark, heavy, and ear-shatteringly loud sound."--Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 182

The complete Monterey Pop festival. Classic collection: Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2002. 3 videodiscs (320 min.). "On a beautiful June weekend in 1967, at the height of the Summer of Love, the first and only Monterey International Pop Festival roared forward - capturing a decade's spirit and ushering in a new era of rock and roll. Monterey would launch the careers of Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, and Otis Redding, but they were just a few among a wildly diverse cast including Simon and Garfunkel, The Mamas and the Papas, The Who, Hugh Masekela, and the extraordinary Ravi Shankar." --from container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 141-143

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers: Damn the torpedoes. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 98 min.). The third album by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, released in 1979, has long been regarded as a classic. A mix of rootsy American rock 'n' roll and the best of the British invasion, of jangling Byrds guitars and Stones-like rhythms, Damn the torpedoes was the album that took Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers into the major league, and re-defined American rock. This DVD tells the story behind the creation of this great rock 'n' roll album and the dramatic transformation in the band's career that took place following its release. Through interviews, new and archive performances and analysis we discover how Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair and Stan Lynch created their songs and sounds with the help of co-producer Jimmy Iovine and engineer Shelly Yakus. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 180

Def Leppard: Hysteria. 2002. 1 videodisc (100 min.). A track-by-track review of the making of the Def Leppard’s album Hysteria. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 166

The devil and Daniel Johnston. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 110 min.). The turbulent life of a genius musician battling manic depression. A favorite with artists such as Sonic Youth, Nirvana, Beck, and many others, view the singer-songwriter-artist through his art and interviews, and in the eyes of his fans.  HOME USE COLLECTION 2272

Dig! 2005. 2 videodiscs (107 min.). Dig! plunges into the underbelly of rock 'n' roll, unearthing an amazing true tale of success, self destruction, friendship, and the ultimate rivalry between two up-and-coming bands: Brian Jonestown Massacre and The Dandy Warhols. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1862

Cream: Disraeli gears. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 82 min.). Tells the story behind the conception and recording of the 1967 album Disraeli gears. Features brand new interviews with band members, acoustic performances, original studio tracks and archival live footage. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 181

The Doors. Oliver Stone collection. 2000. 2 videodiscs (181 min.). Feature film.  Biographical film about one of the most exciting and controversial figures of the '60s, Jim Morrison. With his rock and roll band, The Doors, he influenced the rock music scene as no other group had. DVD 1681

The Doors : The Doors. 2008. 1 videodisc (88 min.). The three surviving members of the The Doors: Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger and Johns Densmore are all featured in new interviews along with original engineer Billy James plus more. Bonus features include additional & extended interview material. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 152

The Ed Sullivan show featuring the Beatles and various other artists. 2003. 2 videodiscs (240 min.). Presents the four complete one-hour Ed Sullivan Shows that launched the "British Invasion" of the music industry and introduced the Beatles to America. Includes the original commercials. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7339

Elvis Presley: Elvis Presley. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2001. 1 videodisc (ca. 100 min.). This film tells the story that lies behind the making of Elvis Presley's first album for RCA Records in 1956, and his rise to superstardom. Includes performances from '55 and '56, interviews with Elvis, and home movie footage. Featured songs include Blue suede shoes, Shake rattle and roll, Tutti frutti, Money honey, Heartbreak hotel, Mystery train, Baby let's play house, That's all right. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 168

End of the century: Story of the Ramones. 2005. 1 videodisc  (110 min.). Chronicles "one of the most influential groups in the history of rock--"Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 140

Festival express. 2004. 2 videodiscs (89 min.). In 1970, such names as Janis Joplin, The Band, and the Grateful Dead traveled by a customized train for five days to Toronto, Winnipeg, and Calgary for a mega-concert at each stop. The entire experience was filmed both on-stage and off but the footage was locked away, until now. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8114

The filth and the fury. 2000. 1 videodisc (103 min.). The musical group Sex Pistols was in existence for only 26 months and recorded only one album, yet they changed the face of music forever. This shocking portrait of arguably the most influential and certainly the most notorious rock group of all time documents their rise from the back streets of London, through their crucifixion by the British tabloids and ultimate implosion on tour in America. Culled primarily from the band's own 20-hour-plus archive it includes candid interviews, performances, rehearsals and recording sessions. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 136

Garage days. 2004. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Feature film.  This garage band has everything that it takes to make it to the big time - everything that is except talent. Waiting for their big break, a group of young rockers and their clueless manager can't keep their heads on straight - or their hands off each other. Just goes to show you that you don't have to be a rock star to party like one. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2034

Gimme shelter. 1991. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A documentary on the Rolling Stones' 1969 tour of the United States, focusing on a free concert at the Altamont Speedway in California where violence broke out between fans and Hell's Angels who had been hired to keep order. Includes performances by Ike and Tina Turner and the Jefferson Airplane. DVD 973

The girl can't help it.  Cinema classics collection. 2006. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Feature film.  Jayne Mansfield plays a blonde who is being coached to become a nightclub singer by her racketeer boyfriend. To help her along, he hires a hungry talent agent to boost her career into the big time. Features music by Fats Domino, Little Richard, The Platters, Ray Anthony, Julie London, The Treniers, Abbey Lincoln and other rock 'n' roll stars. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6771

The great rock 'n' roll swindle. 1992. 1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.). Feature film.  A pseudodocumentary, with animation, featuring Sex Pistols manager's Malcolm McLaren's recollections on creating and selling a punk rock band. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1297

Groove. 2000. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Feature film.  "As the sun goes down on Saturday night, rave kids Colin and Harmony take their relationship to the next level, veteran clubgoer Leyla surfs the internet, and workaholic David wants to make it home in one piece"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 940

Gus Van Sant's last days. 2005. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Feature film.  This film is inspired by the final hours of Kurt Cobain. Blake is a brilliant but troubled musician whose success has left him in a lonely place. The film follows Blake through a handful of hours spent in his wooded home ... a fugitive from his own life. HOME USE COLLECTION 3821

Hard core logo. 2001. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A Vancouver-based punk rock band gets back together to do a benefit concert for a friend. After the benefit, the band decides to go out on the road for a reunion tour. Lies, deceit and cheating are all just part of the lifestyle. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7660

A hard day's night. Miramax collector's series. 2002. 2 videodiscs (ca. 92 min.). A rock musical which recreates the excitement of the Beatles' early days with a fictional account of an average day in the life of the Beatles. Richard Lester meets John, Paul, George, and Ringo in this exuberant film as they take Paul's grandfather under their wing while preparing for a television special in London. Along the way there are 15 now classic songs and a barrage of verbal and visual gags. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5740

Heavy metal parking lot. 2005. 1 videodisc. A short film that shows kids at a Judas Priest concert running amok. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3407

Hedwig and the angry inch. New Line platinum series. 2001. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Feature film.  Based on the smash hit New York show, this is a high-energy rock musical in the tradition of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. This is the story of Hedwig, an ambitious glam-rocker who comes to America determined to find fame, fortune, and his "other half.". HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 301

The hours and times. 2002. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Feature film.  Film is based on a vacation in Barcelona taken by John Lennon of the Beatles and their manager, Brian Epstein in 1963. They were there to relax after a series of concerts, the complex friendship between the two men was tested by an unspoken tension, and never again returned to its unique intimacy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4360

I'm not there. 2008. 2 videodiscs (135 min.). Feature film.  Six characters recreate different stages in Bob Dylan's career, from Greenwich Village folk singer to electric guitar trailblazer to born-again preacher. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4217

Jesus Christ superstar. 2004. 1 videodisc (107 min.). Depicts in song, images, and music, the story of the last week of Christ's life, his betrayal and crucifixion as seen from the point of view of Judas. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5769

The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Electric ladyland. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). A critical examination of the Jimi Hendrix Experience's album Electric ladyland. Features excerpts of performances and interviews with rock music critics. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 167

Jimi plays Monterey / Shake! Otis at Monterey. Complete Monterey Pop Festival: Criterion collection. 2002. 1 videodisc (114 min.). Jimi plays Monterey is one of Jimi Hendrix's earliest American performances. Otis Redding's performance at Monterey Pop Festival is one of his last performances. Both of these performances were taped live. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 142. Jimi Plays Monterey available on streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?AHIV;732812]

John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. Classic albums: Classic albums (Eagle Vision (Firm)). 2008. 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). A look at the creation of this groundbreaking album, the first after the break-up of The Beatles, through interviews, archive footage, and detailed analysis of the original multi-track masters. Includes material not seen in the original broadcast. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 163

Kurt & Courtney. 1999. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A documentary on the life of Kurt Cobain and his relationship with his wife Courtney Love, featuring interviews with Kurt's aunt, Courtney's father, the couple's nanny, and a private investigator that worked with Courtney. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1009

The last waltz. 2002. 1 videodisc (117 min.). The Band, one of rock's superstar groups, decided to call it quits after sixteen years on the road. The group held this farewell concert on Thanksgiving Day, 1976, at San Francisco's Winterland, the site of their first performance.  HOME USE COLLECTION VHS 5741 and HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 146

Lou Reed: rock and roll heart. American masters. 1998. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Chronicles the life of rock musician Lou Reed, incorporating clips from concerts and interviews. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 875

Lou Reed: Transformer. Classic albums. 2001. 1videodisc (80 min.). Lou Reed: Transformer is a documentary from the Classic Album series that offers an in-depth look at the making of this record. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 164 

Money for nothing: Behind the bu$ine$$ of pop mu$ic. 2002. 1 videodisc (78 min.). Interviews with Chuck D, Ani DiFranco, Michael Franti, Kathleen Hanna, Reebee Garofalo, Dave Marsh, Robert W. McChesney. Explains how popular music is produced and marketed and offers an accessible critique of the current state of popular music. Examines the shrinking number of record companies, the centralization of radio station ownership, and the increasing integration of popular music into the advertising and commercial aspects of the consumer market. Also discusses independent bands and record labels. DVD 2309

Monterey pop. Complete Monterey Pop Festival: Criterion collection. 2002. 1 videodisc (79 min.). Monterey Pop is the first filmed document of a rock festival. The Monterey Pop Festival, held on California's Monterey Peninsula in 1968, inspired Jann Wenner to launch his enormously successful "Rolling Stone Magazine." It also did much to boost the careers of many of the pop and rock stars who performed in it. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 141 and streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?AHIV;732950

Nirvana:  Nevermind. Classic albums. 2004. 1 videodisc (74 min.). Nirvana: Nevermind is a documentary from the Classic Albums series that offers an in-depth look at the making of this highly influential record. Featuring exclusive interviews with surviving bandmembers Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic, the film also includes contributions from album producers, biographers and friends who discuss the creation of the album, and the life and career of frontman Kurt Cobain.  MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 155

Iron Maiden: The number of the beast. Classic albums: Classic albums (Eagle Eye Media (Firm)). 2001. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Tells the full story behind the making of the Number of the Beast album, includes interviews with the entire band. An insight into how this album propelled Iron Maiden into international superstar status and how it came to be a classic album. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 165

Oddsac: a visual album. 2010. 1 videodisc (53 min.). An experimental film described by the publisher as a visual album, which was developed through collaboration between the musical group and the director. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7896

Off the charts: The song-poem story. 2003. 1 videodisc (132 min.). Explores the lives and dreams of the songwriters and musicians who operate within the strange world of song-poems and the song-poem industry. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 747

The outtake performances. Complete Monterey Pop Festival: Criterion collection. 2002. 1 videodisc (123 min.). Outtakes from the Monterey Pop Festival in June 1967, including some well known groups and some that are less well known. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 143

Les Paul: Chasing sound! 2007. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Guitar wizard, inventor, Les Paul tell his own rags-to-riches story. Includes interviews with B.B. King, Bonnie Raitt, Tony Bennett, Jeff Beck, Merle Haggard, Steve Miller and many more.  MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 178

Once. 2007. 1 videodisc (86 min.). A Guy lives in Dublin. He is a guitarist/singer-songwriter who makes a living by fixing vacuum cleaners in his Dad's Hoover repair shop by day. By night, he sings and plays for money on the Dublin streets. A Girl from Czechoslovakia loves to play the piano when she gets a chance. During the day she does odd jobs. At night she takes care of her mom and her daughter. Guy meets Girl, and they get to know each other. Girl helps Guy put together a demo disc so he can take it to London in hope of landing a music contract. At the same time, the Guy and the Girl work through their past loves, and reveal their budding love for one another, through their songs. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3745

Performance. 2007. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Feature film.  Follow a gangster with a talent for violence and intimidation, on the run and looking for a place to hide. He ends up hiding out with a reclusive rock superstar. It all leads up to a shocking final performance for the rock star. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3000

Phil Collins: Face value. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2006? 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). "Phil Collins first enjoyed international success as the drummer with Genesis, and then subsequently as lead singer when Peter Gabriel left the band. In 1981 however, Face value launched him as a solo artist and remains in many ways his most exciting and unusual music offering. This documentary includes several previously unseen performances, as well as rare home movies, archive of the studio sessions where Phil Collins worked closely with engineer Hugh Padgham and the Earth Wind & Fire horn section; unique photographs and documents from Phil's own private archive, and insights into the music from an eclectic range of musicians on the album."--Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 173

Pink Floyd: The making of The dark side of the moon. Classic albums. p2003. 1 videodisc (84 min.). A track-by-track look at the making of the 1973 album; includes rehearsal and demo versions of some selections, interviews with band mambers, and commentary by album engineer Alan Parsons. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 150

Pink Floyd: The wall. 1999. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Feature film. A burned out rock performer sits in his motel room watching war movies, and slowly losing touch with reality. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6553

Pretty Colors: Inside America's Rave Culture. 2000. 1 streaming video file (77 min.). As a way of escaping their dysfunctional families and their boredom in suburbia, Sarah and Stacey have embraced the L.A. underground rave scene. This gritty program, filmed in a cinema verite style, presents an insider's look at a world of teenagers fueled by techno music and synthetic drugs such as Ecstasy and methamphetamines. As enlightening as it is disturbing, the film eerily crosscuts the girls' roller-coaster ride of depression and euphoria with an ongoing stakeout by narcotics officers of a clandestine drug factory. Some language may be objectionable. (77 minutes). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=29443

Privilege. The cinema of Peter Watkins. 2008. 1 videodisc (103 min.). Feature film.  Steven Shorter is a rock music phenomenon. His popularity, carefully engineered by his corporate handlers, has reached dizzying proportions. When artist Vanessa Ritchie is hired to paint his portrait, she discovers that he is unhappy and unstable. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4566

Quadrophenia. 2001. 1 videodisc (115 min.). Feature film.  Songs by The Who set the background for this story of the passions of British street kids. Young Jimmy Cooper rebels against his English working class surroundings while he and his Mod clique face their enemies the Rockers in seaside clashes, circa 1964.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 377

Queen: The making of A night at the opera. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 100 min.). Documentary focusing on Queen’s album "A Night at the Opera". MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 171

Rock 'n' roll high school. Roger Corman classics. 2001. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Feature film.  In the tradition of Sixties beach party and teen-movie nonsense, Rock 'n' Roll High School is the story of Vince Lombardi High, whose fun-loving students at are sorely oppressed by their new authoritarian principal.  There is also making out, hall monitors, exploding white mice, a shy, bookish lovesick girl who only wants to be noticed by the studly BMOC, and a spirited bad girl carrying a torch for the pizza-gobbling singer of a rock band.  In the end, the school goes up in innocent, pre-Columbine flames, while goofy, good-natured, infectious silliness is accompanied by the revved-up Ramones at their red-hot, rubber-burning foot-to-the-floor best.  Too bad that there isn't drive-in nearby to screen it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6546

Rock 'n Roll Murder: When Lyrics Lead to Violence. 2001. 1 streaming video file (23 min.). In 1996, diehard fans of the extreme thrash metal band Slayer murdered a 15-year-old girl because she fit a description of a person in the song Altar of Sacrifice.Having seen the perpetrators imprisoned for 25-to-life, the victim's parents then lodged a civil suit against the musicians. In this program, ABC News correspondent Judy Muller explores the limits of free speech and art with Senator Joseph Lieberman, recording industry representative Hilary Rosen, and Bret Easton Ellis, author of the controversial American Psycho-three individuals with very strong opinions on First Amendment guarantees and the market-driven entertainment industry. (23 minutes). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=12037

The Rolling Stones: Gimme shelter. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2000. 1 videodisc (91 min.). A documentary on the Rolling Stones' 1969 tour of the United States, including a performance at Madison Square Garden and a free concert at the Altamont Speedway in California where violence broke out between fans and Hell's Angels who were providing security. Includes performances by Ike and Tina Turner, the Jefferson Airplane and the Flying Burrito Brothers. This special version also contains never-before-seen performances from the Madison Square Garden show, audio commentary by directors Albert Maysles and Charlotte Zwerin, excerpts from KSAN Radio's Altamont wrap-up, an Altamont stills gallery featuring the work of photographers Bill Owens and Beth Sunflower, original and re-release theatrical trailers, plus trailers for Maysles films Grey gardens and Salesman, filmographies for Maysles Films and Charlotte Zwerin, and a restoration demonstration. DVD 973

Rude boy. 2006. 1 videodisc (133 min.). "Set in the U.K. of 1978 and filmed as a fictional documentary, Rude Boy follows Ray as he quits his job in a London sex shop to become a roadie for the most exciting live band in the country, The Clash. Part character study, part "rockumentary," Rude Boy portrays the disillusionment of youth at a time of economic decline in late '70s Britain"--Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 147

Fleetwood Mac: Rumours. Classic albums: Classic albums. pc2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 75 min.). Those who believe great art comes out of conflict can point to an unlikely example in Fleetwood Mac's album Rumours, widely considered their best album and certainly their most popular. While the album was recorded at a time when the band was poised on the verge of their greatest success, the group was in frequent conflict while it was recorded, and two marriages among band members broke up in the wake of its success. This edition of Classic Albums examines how Fleetwood Mac created a musical masterpiece in the midst of personal turmoil. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 177

Rush: 2112 / Moving pictures. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 112 min.). The story behind the making of the Rush albums 2112 (1976) and Moving pictures (1981). Band members Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, and Neil Peart talk viewers through the making of the albums, together with original producer Terry Brown, via interviews, demonstrations, archive videos, and examination of the original multi-track tapes. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 175

School of rock. Widescreen DVD collection. 2004. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Feature film. When his band votes him out due to his embarrassing musical antics, Dewey has to make the rent somehow. After intercepting a call for his substitute-teacher roomie Ned, Dewey finds himself in front of a class of elite elementary school students. Dewey decides to take on the music program and makes it his goal to teach them the gospel of rock and roll. His ulterior motive is to get them to compete against his former band for a cash prize. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 838

Scott Walker: 30 century man. 2009. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A rare glimpse into the creative world of the most enigmatic figure in rock history, and the undeniable impact he has had on popular music, shown through casual interviews with David Bowie, Sting, Radiohead, Brian Eno, and many more. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 170

Shine a light. 2008. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Recorded at New York's Beacon Theatre during the fall of 2006, and features performances by The Rolling Stones with special guests Christina Aguilera, Jack White, and Buddy Guy. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 145

Sid & Nancy. 2007. 1 videodisc (113 min.). Feature film.  Sex Pistols bassist Sid Vicious falls hard for groupie Nancy Spungen. She seduces him with her affection and addiction to heroin. Their inseparable bond to each other and their continued drug abuse eventually destroys the band, sending Sid and Nancy down the dark road of despair. Out of money and options, the two hit bottom while living in squalor at New York's Chelsea Hotel. The two decide to fulfill their destiny by going out in a blaze of glory. VHS 3040 and DVD 6554

Stop making sense. 1999. 1 videodisc (129 min.). A film of the Talking Heads in concert. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4779

Sweet Toronto. Pioneer Artists concert film series. 1998. 1 videodisc (ca. 56 min.). Opens with scenes of Yoko at the opening of the John Lennon Art Exhibit in London, Sept. 1988. Then shows never before seen film footage of the 1969 Rock & Roll Revival in Toronto, John Lennon's first performance before a live audience in over three years, and his first time with the Plastic Ono Band. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 5

Sympathy for the devil. 2003. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Scenes from a Rolling Stones rehearsal/recording session alternating with "sequences of pop political cartoons".  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7082

This is Spinal Tap. 2000. 1 videodisc (83 min.). Feature film.  Once upon a time, Spinal Tap had a big hit song. Now, nearly two decades later, Spinal Tap still clings to some glint of their lost glory as they embark on an accident-plagued tour across America. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 538

Tom Dowd & the language of music. 2004. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Profiles the life and work of music producer/recording engineer Tom Dowd. Featuring music and appearances by Les Paul, Eric Clapton, John Coltrane, Ray Charles, Otis Redding, Ornette Coleman and other musical luminaries. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 133

The tomorrow show with Tom Snyder. 2006. 2 videodiscs (320 min.). As the popularity of punk and new wave in the '70s and '80s took flight, the groundbreaking late night talk program The Tomorrow Show welcomed many of the key figures of the genre.  Includes explosive live performances and revealing interviews. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 139

Tributary: a study of an American pop culture subculture. 2002. 1 videodisc (70 min.). A glimpse inside the world of "tribute bands": rock bands which imitate other, more popular rock bands. Groups such as AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Rush, and others all have tribute bands, whose members dress, sing, play, and act like their music idols. Includes interviews with tribute band members, and footage from various tribute concerts. DVD 879

The U.S. vs John Lennon. 2007. 1 videodisc (96 min.). The story of John Lennon's evolution from beloved Beatle to an outspoken artist and activist to iconic inspiration for peace, and how, in the midst of one of the most tumultuous times in American history, Lennon stood his ground, refused to be silenced and courageously won his battle with the U.S. Government. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3078

U2: The Joshua tree. Classic albums. 2006. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Follows the creation of the 1987 album "The Joshua tree" by the rock group U2. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 157

Velvet goldmine. 1998. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Feature film. It's been 10 years since glam-rock superstar Brian Slade faked his own death and vanished from the spotlight. Now, it's the job of an investigative reporter to locate this living legend and uncover the truth behind his disappearance! HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 687

The way the music died. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). The modern music scene was created in 1969, at Woodstock. Half a million fans, dozens of artists, and the politics of the times came together as a big bang moment that eventually would generate billions of dollars. But over the last twenty years, MTV, compact discs, corporate consolidation, Internet piracy, and greed have contributed to a perfect storm for the recording industry. Frontline examines how the business that has provided the soundtrack of the lives of a generation is on the verge of collapse. DVD 1047

Who is Harry Nilsson (and why is everybody talkin' about him)? 2010. 1 videodisc (116 min.). A brand new portrait of the late Grammy Award-winning musician, Harry Nilsson, who the Beatles once proclaimed as their favorite artist. This gripping retrospective traces Nilsson's rise and his turbulent life as seen by many friends, including Ringo Starr, John Lennon, Dustin Hoffman, Jon Voight, Brian Wilson, Randy Newman, Richard Perry, Robin Williams, and more. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 159

The Who: The kids are alright. 2003. 2 videodiscs (109 min.). Experience the most explosive rock band ever to take the stage. If you've never experienced them live, get ready because you're going to feel like your on stage with Pete, Roger, John and Keith during their rise through the rock n' roll hierarchy. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 144

The Who: Who's next. Classic albums: Classic albums. 2006? 1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). "Who's next is viewed by many as the greatest testament to the songwriting talent of Pete Townshend and the musical power of The Who. When the album was released in 1971 it climbed to the number 1 spot on the British Album chart and remained in the top 50 for over three months. In the United States, the album went top 5 on the Billboard chart and remained in the top 40 for five months. The story of how The Who came to record the album is told by group members Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey, and John Entwistle, together with contributions by those who were close to the group during the making of this classic album."--Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 179

Woodstock: 3 days of peace and music. 1997, 2009. 1 videodisc (225 min.). This documentary film captures the unique communal experience and many of the performances of the most famous of outdoor rock concerts. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1

Ziggy Stardust and the spiders from Mars. pc2003. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A concert film of David Bowie as Ziggy Stardust, his androgynous alter ego ; shot in 1973. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 137