Filmography - Popular Music

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.

For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections. 

See also Music Library Resources

Coal miner's daughter. Collector's edition. 2003. 1 videodisc (125 min.). Feature film.  The life of the "Queen of Country Music" from her backwoods Appalachia home to the Grand Ole Opry and super stardom. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5798

Crazy heart. 2010. 1 videodisc (111 min.). Feature film.  The powerful story of a country music star's rocky road to redemption. Bad Blake is a boozy, broken-down singer who reaches for salvation with the help of Jean, a journalist who discovers the real man behind the music. But will Bad's hard-livin' ways and crazy heart cost him his last chance at a comeback? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7727

Hank Williams: Honky tonk blues. 2004. 1 videodisc (83 min.). "Using never-before-seen footage, photos and audio of Williams and featuring interviews with many friends and family who have never spoken on-camera before, Honky tonk blues tells the story of Hank Williams' rise and fall in full, vivid detail"--Container. DVD 5516

Nashville. Widescreen DVD collection. 2000. 1 videodisc (160 min.). Feature film.  Nashville interweaves the stories of 24 characters over 5 days during a political rally in the capital of country music. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 310

Shut up & sing. 2007. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Follow the Dixie chicks, the top selling female band of all-time, through the now infamous anti-Bush comment made by the groups lead singer Natalie Maines in 2003. Follow the lives and careers of the Dixie Chicks over a period of three years during which they were under political attack and received death threats, while continuing to live their lives, have children, and make country music. At a time when the United States is fighting for democracy and freedom in another country, it raises questions about our own right to freedom of speech and the negative consequences it sometimes has. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2704

Tender mercies. 2002. 1 videodisc (92 min.). Feature film.  Mac Sledge is a down-and-out country singer battling alcohol and depression. His ex-wife, Dixie, will not allow him to see their eighteen year old daughter Sue Ann, and Dixie is now making popular the songs that Mac had written and sung. Mac's new family will not let his heartbreaks bring him down again. Together they are determined to find success and happiness. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1422

Walk the line. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 136 min.). Feature film.  Traces Johnny Cash's childhood, including his distant father to his early attempts at a music career. At this point in his life he marries his girlfriend Vivian. During a tour with singer/musicians Elvis and Jerry Lee Lewis, he encounters singer June Carter, and his love for her, and her rejection of him through the years, spurs him into drugs, drinking, and depression. June is both a sassy spitfire singer whose charm breaks hearts and eventually becomes a sympathetic friend who tries to help Johnny get over her. A true love story of two country music stars. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1899