Skip to Main Content

Filmography - War Movies: European Theater part 1

Films on DVD as of June 2011. Includes films with combat and/or wartime settings

War Movies Filmography - World War II - European Theater part 1

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011. 

Includes films with combat and/or wartime settings.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 


49th parallel. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2007. 2 videodiscs (123 min.). When a Nazi U-boat crew headed by the ruthless Lieutenant Hirth is stranded in Canada during the thick of World War II, the men evade capture by hiding out in a series of rural communities before trying to cross the border into the still-neutral United States. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4234

Amen. 2003. 1 videodisc (126 min.). When a newly commissioned SS Lieutenant witnesses the chemical disinfectant he's helped perfect being used to systematically murder interred Jews, he knows he must act. The only sympathetic ear he finds is a young priest with ties to the Vatican. As the two unlikely allies fight to reveal the truth to the Church and world, they discover that a man of conscience can commit treason and a man of God can commit heresy in order to thwart genocide. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 730

The Americanization of Emily. 2005. 1 videodisc (115 min.). A cynical American naval officer (Garner) is assigned a lovely young English widow (Andrews) as his driver in this comedy set in London during World War II. Despite their differences they fall in love, but his superiors seem to have nasty plans for him involving D-day! HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1233

Andrzej Wajda: three war films. Criterion collection: Criterion collection: Criterion collection: Criterion collection. 2005. 3 videodiscs [286 min.]. Pokolenie: Film follows the fortunes of one boy under the German Occupation who, along with an entire generation of Polish youth, took up the fight against the Germans with whatever means were at hand. A cocky Polish youth decides to fight the Nazis after he falls for a pretty resistance leader.  As he and his friends help escapees during the Warsaw ghetto uprising, the innocence of a generation is lost under the grueling conditions of war. Kanal: Set in the Warsaw uprising of 1944, a detachment of the Home Army is forced into the sewers where conflict and tension arise from the claustrophobic atmosphere below and the physical pressures of the German persecutors above. Popiól i diament: On the last day of World War Two in a small town somewhere in Poland, Polish exiles of war and the occupying Soviet forces confront the beginning of a new day and a new Poland.  In this incendiary environment we find Home Army officer Maciek Chelmicki, who has been ordered to assassinate an incoming commissar.  But a mistake stalls his progress and leads him to Krystyna, a beautiful barmaid who gives him a glimpse of what his life could be. The Criterion Collection is proud to present this director approved edition, with new transfers and extensive interviews with the director and his colleagues. Includes: Generation, Kanal, & Ashes and Diamonds. Descriptions are under each title. DVD 2581 - 2583

Anonyma - eine frau in Berlin = A woman in Berlin. 2009. 1 videodisc (126 min.). Women become the victims of the Red Army invasion in Berlin in 1945. One of them, Anonyma, an educated woman, decides to look for an officer who can protect her. A complex symbiotic relationship develops between her and Russian officer Andrej that will force them to remain enemies until the bitter end. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7290

L'armâee des ombres = Army of shadows. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2007. 2 videodiscs (145 min.). A civil engineer who is one of the French Resistance's chiefs is given away by a traitor and interned in a camp. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3744

L'armée du crime = Army of crime. 2011. 1 videodisc (138 min.). In Paris, 1941, Armenian poet Missak Manouchian leads a motley crew of foreign-born resistance fighters in clandestine battle against the Nazi occupation. An initially reluctant Manouchian and his team must resort to guerilla tactics and radical measures in the name of liberty. News of their daring attacks, including the assassination of an SS general, eventually reaches Berlin. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8291

Ashes and diamonds = Popiâo± i diament. 2003. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Rural Poland, on the last days of World War II. The Nazis have surrendered, and the Red Army has criss-crossed the country. With the battle against the Nazis over, a new struggle emerges against the communists. A group of Polish patriots boldy set out to assassinate a mid-level communist-party functionary. Macick is the trigger man, but when he spots a blonde behind the bar, his priorities change. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1855

Attack! 2003. 1 videodisc (108 min.). Captain Cooney's cowardice forces Lieutenant Costa into a fateful choice: continue to risk the lives of his men or take the life of the captain. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6627

Au revoir les enfants = Goodbye, children. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2006. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Based on the director's life, this film chronicles Malle's experiences during the German occupation of France in World War II. DVD 2021

Ballada o soldate = Ballad of a soldier. The Classic collection: The Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2002. 1 videodisc (88 min.). During World War II a young soldier refuses a medal following an heroic action and instead takes a ten day leave from the front to visit his mother.  During his travels by train, truck, and on foot, he witnesses the devastation of war and meets many people -- a crippled veteran, a comic sentry, faithful & faithless wives, and a girl with whom he falls in love. They travel together in a railway car and vow to meet when the war is over. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5828

Band of brothers. 2002. 6 videodiscs (ca. 705 min.). The story of Easy Company of the US Army Airbourne Paratrooper division and their mission in WWII France during Operation Overlord. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6061 - 6066

La bataille du rail = the battle of the rails. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 85 min.). During the occupation of France by Nazi Germany, French railway workers bravely battled the Nazis on many fronts, from transporting forbidden mail to committing acts of sabotage. They became an invaluable part of the French resistance. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1906

Battleground. 2005. 1 videodisc (118 min.). Follows a band of American soldiers as they engage the Germans in a snowy, foggy winter near Bastogne in World War II. They're low on fuel, rations, and ammunition; the Germans are constantly encouraging their surrender via radio and leaflets, and most importantly, the pervasive thick fog makes movement and identification difficult and prevents their relief by Allied air support. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1801

The big red one: the reconstruction. 2005. 2 videodisc (162 min.). Named for the insignia of the First Infantry Division, this World War II combat film follows a handful of young GIs and their sergeant as they battle their way from North Africa through Sicily, Omaha Beach and Belgium to the ultimate horror of the concentration camp at Falkenau, Czechoslovakia. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1514

Das boot = The boat. 2004. 2 videodiscs (293 min.). Superb detailing of life in a German U-boat during WWII. The original uncut version. Based on the novel by Lothar G. Buchheim. Includes a making-of featurette; restored original stereo audio; and much more. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 852

The boy in the striped pajamas. 2009. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Set in Poland during World War II. Innocent and naive 8-year-old Bruno is bored and restless in his new home. Ignoring his mother, he sets off on an adventure in the woods. He comes across a high fence which separates him from the people he can see through it. Soon he meets a young boy in striped pajamas, and a surprising friendship develops. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6278

A Canterbury tale. Criterion Collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2006. 2 videodisc (124 min.). Reworking of Chaucer's epic 14th century tale, largely set in 1940s wartime Kent, with three modern-day incarnations of Chaucer's pilgrims: a plainspoken American Army sergeant, a resourceful British sergeant, and a melancholy girl. While enroute to Canterbury they are waylaid and forced to solve a local crime, the mystery of a man who pours glue over the hair of village girls at night. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3863

Casablanca. 2006. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Set in World War II Morocco within a city filled with European refugees. A bitter nightclub owner helps his former lover and her Resistance-hero husband escape from the Nazis. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 150

Catch-22. 2001. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Cinematic adaptation of Joseph Heller's scathing black comedy, an anti-war tale of a small group of flyers in the Mediterranean in 1944. Bomber pilot Yossarian wants to be found insane so he can quit flying missions so he won't get killed. Colonel Cathcart wants to increase the missions so he can get written up in The Saturday Evening Post. Meanwhile, the Army has "Catch 22" - which says that anyone who wants out of the military on the grounds that he is insane is behaving rationally and thus couldn't be insane. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5844

Le chant des mariées = The wedding song. 2010. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Two 16-year-old girls have an intense friendship while living in Nazi-occupied Tunis in 1942. Nour is a Muslim who eagerly anticipates her wedding to a handsome cousin. Myriam is a French Jew who is furiously resisting her betrothal to a much older doctor. However, his money is needed by her family to pay fines imposed by the Nazis. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7288

La ciociara = Two women. Hollywood classics. 1998. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Realistic drama of an Italian widow who, along with her young daughter, are brutally raped by Allied soldiers in World War II. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 139

Cloak and dagger. 2003. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Alvah Jesper, an American scientist, parachutes into war-torn Nazi Germany to obtain military secrets. But the deeper he probes, the deadlier his mission becomes - especially when his involvement with a mysterious woman, Gina, catapults him into an intense maelstrom of danger, betrayal, and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 960

Contraband. 2001. 1 videodisc (88 min.). Set in England during the early days of World War II, a Danish sea captain and his passenger are kidnapped by a cell of Nazi spies operating from a basement in London's Soho. The plot progresses as a chase that puts the characters in one peculiar set of surroundings after another. Most of the story takes place under blackout conditions, in which the great city becomes a mysterious dark labyrinth. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7277

The dam busters. 2006. 1 videodisc (125 min.). Tells the true World War II story of how the Royal Air Force 617 Squadron carried out a raid on three of the most important dams in Germany. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7519

Dark blue world. 2002. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Having flown for the British R.A.F., Czech pilot Franta finds himself imprisoned in a post-World War II totalitarian Communist labor camp for "betraying" his country. Going back to the start of the war, Franta and his young protégé, Karel, escape Nazi-occupied Czechoslovakia to join the R.A.F. in fighting the Germans. This is a story about love, comradeship and sacrifice. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 415

Démanty noci = Diamonds in the night; Sousto = Der Bissen = A bite to eat. 1987. 1 videodisc (74 min.). Diamonds of the night: Set in Czechoslovakia during World War II, film is a study of two Jewish boys who escape from a train which is taking them from one concentration camp to another only to be caught by local peasants and charged with stealing bread --  A Bite to eat:  A short film with minimal dialogue that shows a feverish attempt to steal a loaf of bread from a Nazi-guarded train. DVD 7396

Der unhold = The ogre. 2007. 1 videodisc (118 min.). Abel Tiffauges, a French mechanic and recluse who feels children are his only friends, is falsely accused of molestation by a young girl and thrown into prison. He is allowed to join the army on the eve of the Second World War, and quickly becomes a POW who is first given a job on Hermann Goering's estate and then is sent to a castle to work for a German officer. Once again, he gets to be with children-- only this time, it is as a recruiter of German boys for an elite training camp. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6898

Der Untergang = Downfall. 2005. 1 videodisc (155 min.). Takes you into Hitler's bunker, in 1945, during the brutal and harrowing last days of the Third Reich. Seen through the eyes of Hitler's infamous secretary Gertraud (Traudl) Junge, optimism crumbles into grim realization and terror as it becomes clear that Germany's defeat is inevitable. As the Russian army circles the city, the dimly lit halls of the underground refuge become an execution chamber for the Fèuhrer and his closest advisors. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2727

Le dernier mâetro = The last metro. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2009. 2 videodiscs (131 min.). Paris, 1942. Lucas Steiner is a Jew who feels compelled to leave the country in order to survive the German occupation during WWII. His wife Marion is an actress and a member of the Resistance who goes on to direct the theater for him. She tries to keep the theater alive by rehearsing a new play. She hires Bernard Granger for the leading role. The troupe believes that the show must go on no matter the circumstances. But Lucas never left the country, he is actually hiding in the basement. Two members of a French theater company try to survive during the German occupation of World War II. Bonus features include audio commentaries, video interviews, deleted scene, essay, and more. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5576

Deutschland bleiche mutter = Germany, pale mother. The Helma Sanders-Brahms Collection: Helma Sanders-Brahms Collection. 2008. 1 videodisc (123 min.). "Set during World War II ... follows newlywed Lene, whose young husband, a soldier, is sent to the front lines. Lene discovers that she is pregnant and is forced to take her child on a journey across the war-ravaged countryside ... Lene ... is by turns brave and foolhardy, resourceful and resilient, facing a bleak future with fierce determination."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6380

The diary of Anne Frank. Studio classics: Studio classic. 2004. 1 videodisc (180 min.). A true story based on events recorded in the diary of a young Jewish girl during two years of hiding from the Germans in an Amsterdam attic. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5220

Diary of Anne Frank. 2008. 2 videodiscs (150 min.). The story of a young girl who had to go into hiding during World War II for being different. Anne Frank's diary manages to create a truthful and timeless picture of domestic life in all its pettiness and normalcy, while never letting us forget the extraordinary threat of death that awaits the characters if they are discovered. This is the first authorized film based on actual entries of the real diary. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7037

Die blechtrommel = The tin drum. 1998. 1 videodisc ( 142 min.). Feature chronicles Danzig in the 1920s/1930s and the life and times of Oskar Matzerath the son of a local dealer, a most unusual boy. Equipped with full intellect right from his birth he decides at his third birthday not to grow up as he sees the crazy world around him at the eve of World War II. So he refuses the society and his tin drum symbolizes his protest against the middle-class mentality of his family and neighborhood, which stand for all passive people in Nazi Germany at that time. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 40

Die Fälscher = The counterfeiters. 2008. 1 videodisc (99 min.). Germany, 1936. Salomon "Sally" Sorowitsch is the king of counterfeiters. He lives a life of cards, booze, and women. Suddenly his luck runs dry when he is arrested by Superintendent Friedrich Herzog. He is immediately thrown into the Mauthausen concentration camp. There, Salomon exhibits exceptional skills and is soon transferred to the upgraded camp of Sachsenhausen. Upon his arrival, he once again comes face to face with Herzog, who is there on a secret mission. Hand-picked for his unique skill, Salomon and a group of professionals are forced to produce fake foreign currency under the program Operation Berhard. The team, which also includes detainee Adolf Burger, is given luxury barracks for their assistance. Salomon attempts to weaken the economy of Germany's opponents. But, Adolf refuses to use his skills for Nazi profit and would like to do something to stop the operation. Now faced with a moral dilemma, Salomon must decide whether his actions are ultimately the right ones. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4699

Enemy at the gates. Widescreen DVD collection. 2001. 1 videodisc (131 min.). Based on the true story of WWII Russian hero Vassili Zaitsev whose fame thrust him into a personal war with the Nazis best sharpshooter, Major Erwin Konig. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7059

The enemy below. Fox war classics. 2004. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Set during the Battle of the Atlantic during World War II, the film tells the story of the cat and mouse hunt between the USS Haynes, a destroyer escort, and a German U-Boat. Captain Murrell, a former Merchant Mariner, saw his wife killed when his freighter was torpedoed by the Germans. Von Stolberg, the veteran U-Boat commander, sees no honor in the German aims of the war. Both of these highly experienced men must now try to outthink and outmaneuver each other, knowing that any mistake can bring instant defeat and death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7038

The English patient. Miramax collector's series. 2004? 2 videodiscs (162 min.). At the end of World War II, a mysterious, horribly burned man who claims not to remember his name, known only as the "English patient," lies near death in an Italian villa.  He is cared for by a quietly desperate young nurse, Hana, herself a victim of the war.  With her at the villa are Kip, a young Sikh bomb-disposal expert, and a shadowy thief with bandaged hands named Caravaggio.  The key to the burned man's past may lie in his commonplace book, a volume of Herodotus, and its intimations of the sacred whirlwind of a great, mysterious, passionate, and tragically doomed love, which trapped two unsuspecting people, forever. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4749

Europa Europa. World films. 2003. 1 videodisc (114 min.). The true story of a Jewish teenager who survived World War II by living as a Nazi for 7 years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4959

Europa = Zentropa. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2008. 2 videodiscs (107 min.). Leo Kessler, an American of German descent, visits Germany in 1945. He works as a night conductor on the Zentropa Railway Line, owned by a Nazi sympathizer. Leo attempts to remain neutral to the ongoing purguing of loyalists by the Allied forces, but he falls in love with the railway magnate's daughter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5149

Everything is illuminated. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 106 min.). A young American man, with the help of a local who speaks weirdly broken English, journeys to find the woman who saved his grandfather during World War II in a Ukrainian village that was ultimately razed by the Nazis. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7894

Flammen & Citronen = Flame and Citron. 2010. 1 videodisc (136 min.). Copenhagen, 1944. A young idealist codenamed Flame and tense family man Citron are two Resistance fighters who become the underground's most proficient killers of collaborators and sympathizers. The Nazi SS is hunting them. They trust only each other. But in a time where fear and mercy must live in the shadows, a mysterious woman and a new assignment to assassinate the head of the Gestapo may lead them to the deadliest place of all. Based on the Holder Danske's most famous agents. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7828

Flandres = Flanders. 2007. 1 videodisc (91 min.). André is forced to leave his secret love, Barbe, to serve as a soldier. On his last night of freedom, he witnesses Barbe and another local sleeping together in a parking lot. A twist of fate forces the two men to fight side by side. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3829

Foreign correspondent. 2004. 1 videodisc (120 min.). A reporter sent to Europe to cover a peace conference falls in love with a diplomat's daughter, but discovers that her father is the head of a Nazi spy ring. HOIME USE COLLECTION DVD 3523

Germania, anno zero = Germany, year zero. 2002. 1 videodisc (71 min.). A young boy kills his sickly father and then, unable to live with his action, kills himself. Set in ruined Berlin shortly after World War II. The third part of the trilogy following, Paisa, and Roma città aperta. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1172

The good German. 2007. 1 videodisc (107 min.). Takes place in the ruins of post-WWII Berlin, where U.S. Army war correspondent Jake Geismar becomes involved with Lena Brandt, a former lover whose missing husband is the object of a manhunt led by both the American and Russian armies. Intrigue mounts as Jake tries to uncover the secrets Lena may be hiding in her desperation to get herself and her husband out of Berlin. Tully is an American soldier working in the U.S. army motor pool who is assigned to drive Jake around Berlin. Tully has black market connections that may be Lena's way out. But he could lead them all into even darker territory. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4705

The great dictator. Chaplin collection: Chaplin collection (Burbank (Los Angeles County, Calif.)). 2003. 2 videodiscs (120 min.). Chaplin plays the double role of the persecuted Jewish barber and Adenoid Hynkel, dictator of Tomania. The barber is imprisoned, escapes, and is finally mistaken for the dictator at which point he makes an impassioned, humanistic speech which amazes the dictator's followers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3796

The great escape. 2004. 2 videodiscs (172 min.). Based on a true story of a group of Allied airmen who struggle against overwhelming odds to escape from Stalag 3, a notorious maximum security German prison. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7009

Hollywood canteen. 2008. 1 videodisc (124 min.). A corporal wins a date with Joan Leslie in this salute to the World War II landmark, the Hollywood canteen. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5183

The house on 92nd Street. Fox film noir. 2005. 1 videodisc (89 min.). When a young German American is solicited as a Nazi spy during WWII, he accepts the job after agreeing to go undercover for the FBI. Once he learns that his mission is to send atomic bomb secrets to the German government, the FBI chief works relentlessly to prevent this while not giving his agent's identity away. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7895

I know where I'm going!  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2001. 1 videodisc (91 min.). A headstrong young woman travels to the Scottish Hebrides to marry a rich industrialist. On the way, she meets a young naval officer and realizes that some things are more important than money. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3864

Idi i smotri = Come and see. 2001. 1 videodisc (142 min.). An innocent young farm lad goes off to join the partisans fighting the Nazis and comes to experience if not understand the horrors of war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6649

Indigènes = Days of glory. 2007. 1 videodisc (120 min.). The tale of a 1943 WWII French Algerian Unit facing discrimination by its European counterparts due to prejudice and ignorance. The French armed forces are preparing to land troops in Europe to win back their homeland from the Axis Powers, but they cannot accomplish their task without recruiting men from their African colonies. The Africans themselves start their long journey full of hope and anticipation, but as they get closer to their goal they realize that their enemy is not necessarily the Germans. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2907

Inglourious Basterds. 2009. 2 videodiscs (153 min.). During World War II, a group of Jewish-American guerilla soldiers, led by  Lt. Aldo Raine, become known as "The Basterds." They are chosen specifically to spread fear throughout the Third Reich by scalping and brutally killing Nazis. The Basterds soon cross paths with a French-Jewish woman who runs a movie theater in Paris which is targeted by the soldiers. A plot is set in motion to kill the Nazi leadership, including Adolph Hitler, at a movie premiere. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7555

Irving Berlin's this is the army. 2008. 1 videodisc (125 min.). Screen adaptation of the stage play that raised nearly $2 million for Army Emergency Relief. Features real-life GIs in a tale of a father and son who put on a show before the son marches off to war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5181

Irving Berlin's White Christmas. 2009. 2 videodiscs (120 min.). The classic musical about two guys that become a popular song and dance team and play at a resort for charity. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7870

Iskanderija... lih? Alexandria...why? Alexandria trilogy. 2000. 1 videodisc (133 min.). 18-year-old Yehia retreats from the poverty, death and suffering all around him in World War II Egypt and dreams of one day becoming a Hollywood filmmaker. But after he falls in love and discovers the harsh truths behind the European occupation of his country, Yehia reassesses his identity and allegiances. DVD 462

Ivanovo detstvo = Ivan's childhood. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2007. 1 videodisc (95 min.). An evocative, poetic journey through the shadows and shards of a boy's war-torn youth. 12-year old Ivan works as a spy at the World War II eastern front. The small Ivan can cross the German lines unnoticed to collect information. Three Soviet officers try to take care of this boy-child. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5373

Jacob the liar. Icestorm International classics. 1999. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Trapped in a Polish ghetto with thousands of other Jews facing starvation or deportation to the death camps, Jacob is detained one evening at the local Gestapo headquarters. Eavesdropping, he overhears a radio report about a nearby Russian victory. At first he is silent, but circumstances compel him to pass on the good news of hope. In order to be believed, he feigns access to a hidden, strictly forbidden radio. Quickly he becomes a one-man bulwark against despair, a reluctant hero, but a tragic figure still-- a man ultimately powerless to see or change the fate of his people. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 349

Jeux interdits = Forbidden games. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2005. 1 videodisc (85 min.). A timeless evocation of the loss of innocence, Rene Clement's devastating Forbidden games tells the story of a young orphan and her friend forced to fend for themselves in World War II France. DVD 1649

Judgment at Nuremberg. 2004. 1 videodisc (186 min.). American judge Daniel Haywood presides over the trial of four German jurists accused of "legalizing" Nazi atrocities. But as graphic accounts of sterilization and murder unfold in the courtroom, mounting political pressure for leniency forces Haywood into making the most harrowing and difficult decision of his career. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1887