Filmography - Sports

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.

For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections. 

100%  woman. 2005. 1 videodisc (60 min.). A post-operative transsexual, Michelle Dumaresq, has provoked outrage by entering the sport of women's mountain bike racing. The program explores complex issues of gender identity surrounding the controversy and manifested in Dumaresq's personal and professional relationships. Includes commentary from her parents and interviews with Michelle, friends, and rival cyclists. DVD4774

Bicycleran = Cyclist. 2004. 1 videodisc (75 min.). A poor man tries to earn money for his wife's medical bills by participating in a bicycle marathon. Feature film. DVD 4717

Breaking away. 2001. 1 videodisc (100 min). Four friends come to terms with life after high school. When top-notch cyclist Dave learns that the world's bicycling champions are always Italian, he attempts to turn himself into an Italian, driving his parents crazy. But everything changes after he meets the Italian racing team--an encounter that ultimately leads him and his friends to challenge the local college boys in the town's annual bike race. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5172

Half the road: the passion, pitfalls & power of women's professional cycling. 2014. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Modern society has long believed that women hold up half the sky in terms of equality and progression. So when it comes to the sport of professional cycling, why aren't women receiving half the road? Directed by pro-cyclist Kathryn Bertine, it explores the world of women's professional cycling, focusing on both the love of sport and the pressing issues of inequality that modern-day female athletes face in male dominated sports. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8455 and Streaming video

Jo jeeta wohi sikandar. 2000? 1 videodisc (159 min.). Sanjal Lal and Ratan Lal are poor local kids in the beautiful scenic college town of Dehradun. Before a crucial cycle race between rival colleges, Shekhar and his friends almost kill Ratan who is now unable to compete in the race. Sanjay takes over and with the moral support of his father and his brother he tries to win the race. Shows the comedic conflict between the "rich kids" and the "poor kids" and is all about young minds and egos. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3743

The documentaries of Louis Malle. Eclipse: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 6 videodiscs (818 min.). Louis Malle, known as one of the world's most versatile storytellers, gives us 6 discs of documentaries. Set includes: Vive le Tour; Humain, Trop Humain; Place de la Republique; Phantom India; Calcutta; ...And the Pursuit of Happiness; and God's Country. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2884-2888